English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 12 January 2009, 21:47   #1
AmigaFan

Installing a Blizzard 1230 IV

Hey there fellow Amiga fans!

I recently started to rediscover the awesomeness that is Amiga. I used to have an Amiga 500 in my childhood, but decided to go for a 1200 now (because of whdload, pcmcia, etc). I got an IDE-CF adapter, sucessfully installed Workbench on CF and bought a copy of whdload and a PCMCIA-CF adapter. All went well, but soon I noticed that 2MB is not enough for many of the games. So after doing some research I decided to buy a Blizzard 1230 IV by Phase 5, as that seems to be the best way to go (more RAM, more speed for Workbench).

Since I'm completely new to Amiga accelerator cards, I'd like to ask if there is anything I need to know before installing the 1230 IV? For instance, do I need to install a specific patch on my HDD?

Thanks!

PS.
Sorry if this is the wrong forum.
Old 12 January 2009, 22:00   #2
meega

Just plug it onto the expansion slot, job done.
Old 12 January 2009, 22:16   #3
thgill

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaFan View Post
Since I'm completely new to Amiga accelerator cards, I'd like to ask if there is anything I need to know before installing the 1230 IV? For instance, do I need to install a specific patch on my HDD?
No real need to install any other software for it to work. Plug it in and thats that.

But, you might find it easier to install it in the machine with the top off the Amiga and the keyboard out of the way. Simply trying to install it only through the trap door on the bottom of the machine can sometimes be frustrating as you can't fully see the connector and how its positioned.
Old 12 January 2009, 22:32   #4
JACK98

thinking of getting one of them myself.whats an average price for blizzard?.sounds great that i can plug it in.thought i would had to leave the trapdoor off the A1200 or tower it up cause of heat problems.