English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 May 2018, 12:57   #281
roc
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 39
Apologies for posting this here. I am not sure whether the problem is, so I leave the admins to move wherever they feel appropriate.

I set-up a new HDF image, based on the excellent 16 GB V1.2 beta3 HstWB of Cyberstorm. The filesystem is the good PFS3 All-in-One v3 final.

http://hstwb.firstrealize.com/

The HDF works just fine within WinUAE, both by using the HDF and by launching the SD with WinUAE with Amiga 600/1200/4000 IDE.

PFS3AIO is the release v3 with identifier PFS/03 50465303 and transfer 0x1fe00.

Neverthelss, the SD card looks to be write-protected when launched on A1200, which has a SD/IDE adapter, ACA1230, Indivision MKIIa and kick 3.1 40.068

I managed to manually loadmodule the scsi.device 43.45 and loadwb from CLI and get a broken read-only workbench. Managed to launch HDToolBox and got the attached images.

I am clerly doing something wrong, however I don't know where the problem is..

Any advice would be appreciated to troubleshoot


To be tested:
- On Diskpart I can see a partition 1 of 15 Gigs on the SD card. I understand this shoulnd't be the case.

Tests already done:
- The same A1200 works with a 4 and 8 GB SD card with a ClassicWB image.
- Tested with both PFS/03 and PDS/03. The latter with 50445303
- The hardware SD "lock" is not locked. That was easy to check.
- From diskpart, checked the attribute write whether it was not on. Pushed the "attributes disk clear readonly" just to be on the safe-side.
- Cleaned the SD from diskpart several times, before proceeding. Formatted as Windows as a test and cleaned it back.
- Tested two different apps to flash the SD: WinImg 9 x64 and Win32DiskImager
- Tested two different SD adapters on two different PCs with Windows 10
- Tested three SD cards. Two new Kingstones (16 and 32 GB) and, importantly, one old SD card with a fully functioning ClassicWB on it. Once flushed it doesn't work, however I managed to flash back an old image and boot. It was SFS though.
- I have a SD cable extender. Removed it just as a test.
- I have a ACA 1230 accelerator. Removed it as a test.
- Created a -log file from WinUAE to facilitate the trobleshooting.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image1.jpeg
Views:	87
Size:	28.4 KB
ID:	58123   Click image for larger version

Name:	image2.jpeg
Views:	71
Size:	17.5 KB
ID:	58124   Click image for larger version

Name:	image3.jpeg
Views:	67
Size:	16.5 KB
ID:	58125   Click image for larger version

Name:	image4.jpeg
Views:	62
Size:	20.6 KB
ID:	58126   Click image for larger version

Name:	image5.jpeg
Views:	62
Size:	26.9 KB
ID:	58127  

Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (34.6 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by roc; 09 May 2018 at 13:28.
roc is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 May 2018, 13:52   #282
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,202
Error message means write attempt returned error code 3 from device driver (I am not sure what 3 means).

Any unexpected error causes PFS3 to enter read-only safe mode to prevent possible data corruption. It can be disabled with lock shell command.

If you run hdtoolbox, then change something, for example partition's number of buffers. Then save changes. Power cycle. Run hdtoolbox again. Did value change back to original?

It sounds like hardware problem. Do you have another power supply? (Solid state devices usually have protection that disables writes if they detect power problems) It is also possible adapter simply isn't compatible.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 May 2018, 14:51   #283
roc
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Error message means write attempt returned error code 3 from device driver (I am not sure what 3 means).

Any unexpected error causes PFS3 to enter read-only safe mode to prevent possible data corruption. It can be disabled with lock shell command.

If you run hdtoolbox, then change something, for example partition's number of buffers. Then save changes. Power cycle. Run hdtoolbox again. Did value change back to original?

It sounds like hardware problem. Do you have another power supply? (Solid state devices usually have protection that disables writes if they detect power problems) It is also possible adapter simply isn't compatible.
Appreciated the clarifications Toni

Having tried another PSU, it didn't solve it.

Moreover, I can change the buffer from 30 to, say, 80 however when saving changes to disk within HDToolBox it returns the usual "Error 3 on write". I can change it by mounting on the WinUAE, however I don't believe it is going to help much.

I tried to use the lock command - good to learn about it - however lock dh0: off dind't do the magic.

What puzzle me it is that the ClassicWB works just fine on that A1200, though they are two SD cards flashed back in 2010 and smaller SDs (one 4 and one 8 Gigs)

Another point is the diskpart. I believe there shoulnd't be partitions visibles in the PFS3AIO's SD cards, however I can see one of 15 gigs. Is this an issue?
roc is offline  
Old 09 May 2018, 19:28   #284
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by roc View Post
Moreover, I can change the buffer from 30 to, say, 80 however when saving changes to disk within HDToolBox it returns the usual "Error 3 on write". I can change it by mounting on the WinUAE, however I don't believe it is going to help much.
This confirms it is hardware problem. Either card or adapter. Or Amiga, some HDs simply won't work with Amiga IDE.

Quote:
I tried to use the lock command - good to learn about it - however lock dh0: off dind't do the magic.
It is possible early error is considered too fatal.

Quote:
What puzzle me it is that the ClassicWB works just fine on that A1200, though they are two SD cards flashed back in 2010 and smaller SDs (one 4 and one 8 Gigs)
Fake card? There are PC tests programs that fill the card completely and then validate data to detect fakes.

Quote:
Another point is the diskpart. I believe there shoulnd't be partitions visibles in the PFS3AIO's SD cards, however I can see one of 15 gigs. Is this an issue?
Does other cards show same mysterious partition? If not, it sounds like card is doing something suspicious..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 May 2018, 23:19   #285
roc
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
This confirms it is hardware problem. Either card or adapter. Or Amiga, some HDs simply won't work with Amiga IDE. ..


Thanks for the help Toni.

I agree, It must be some kind of hw failure.

I have ordered a new adapter with a 2.5 cable, hoping that is the issue, but the A1200 could be problematic as well (hope not..but maybe it is time to recap).
roc is offline  
Old 14 May 2018, 19:00   #286
Prosonic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Morwell Victoria Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 86
this last release doesn't flush the buffers fast enough im having a lot of issues of files / edits not saved
Prosonic is offline  
Old 14 May 2018, 20:11   #287
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prosonic View Post
this last release doesn't flush the buffers fast enough im having a lot of issues of files / edits not saved
Flush timing has not been changed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 21 May 2018, 11:10   #288
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 593
Is there any way to recover files not in the deldir? Some nasty makefile error deleted not only #?.o but also #?.c files and the deldir does only contain a selection of the deleted files. :-(
Hedeon is offline  
Old 21 May 2018, 12:09   #289
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,947
With PFSsalv you can recover files and copy them to another disk. If not already done increase the deldir size for the next time.
daxb is offline  
Old 22 May 2018, 21:22   #290
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 593
Thank for the tip, but PFSSalv2 from Aminet is crashing hard on my MorphOS machine. There is no tool within PFS3AIO that can do this? Or be made part of PFSDoctor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
With PFSsalv you can recover files and copy them to another disk. If not already done increase the deldir size for the next time.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 26 May 2018, 08:39   #291
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,202
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/pfs3aio_v3.1_test2.zip

WARNING: If you use OS 3.1.4 beta and selected new SCSI Direct option in HDToolBox when partitioning with v3.0 pfsaio: partition only mounts with v3.0 and v3.1 test #1. No other pfs3aio version can mount it. Partition should be reformatted with this version or without SCSI Direct option in HDToolBox. (If you don't, no support here)

PFS3AIO 3.1 Test #2

- OS 3.1.4 SCSIDIRECT option used SUPERFLOPPY drive total block count calculation/geometry mode even when SUPERFLOPPY was not set.
- Set default stack back to original 4000 (from old AROS too large value of 6000). Because system default stack is 4000, previously new stack was always allocated, wasting 6k of RAM.

(All previously discussed "small ram mode" changes temporarily removed, they may be back after 3.1 is out)
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFS3aio vs SFS/02 White support.WinUAE 10 13 April 2018 21:44
PFS3AIO Probs ? Foul support.FS-UAE 0 21 February 2018 22:49
PFS3AIO Questions manic23 support.Hardware 26 22 April 2014 13:49
Pfs3aio ???? stingray76 support.Hardware 2 19 February 2014 09:15
FinalWriter 97; FinalCalc 1.04; Final Data 2.00 & Final Copy aebrown-u request.Apps 20 12 July 2009 11:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07719 seconds with 14 queries