English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

Old 24 November 2004, 15:55   #1
Photon

Scanning my demo collection & put on the web

Hello!

I'm new here on the forum, so please tell me if I've posted in the wrong forum (or move the thread if you're an admin ).

I was a prominent demo coder in the golden (imo) era of Amiga demos, 1987 to 1991-92. As a result I have an extensive collection of demo compilation disks from that time. I have only found a very few sites hosting demos from this era, and many of them have the same "famous" demos that everyone already has, or lacks many milestone demos.

The nostalgia bug has bitten me and I thought I'd spend part of my xmas holidays scanning Amiga demos from my old 880k disks and uploading them somewhere to share with Amiga fans.

I have two questions:
1. Which is the best solution for scanning 80-100 disks efficiently? (That costs less than $100, preferably.) If it requires that a transfer program is run on the Amiga 500, how do I get the transfer program to the A500? I have Diskmaster 2.3 on Amiga disk but not Directory Opus.

2. Where can I upload the disk files?

Thanks for any help,
Henrik.
Old 24 November 2004, 21:46   #2
Photon

1. Won't work on either my W2k PC or my XP PC.

2. What is tosec?
Old 24 November 2004, 22:37   #3
bobbybearing
Zone Friend

disk2fdi work only under real ms-Dos (not win2000/xp)

tosec=The oldskool emulation center www.tosec.org

if your demos are not in tosec, perhaps new, original prods to add !

you can find adf/dms disks by themes (demos, games...)
from sites like http://www.planetemu.net (amiga -> Roms) or back2roots, pouet...
Old 25 November 2004, 00:52   #4
DPainter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon
1. Won't work on either my W2k PC or my XP PC.
You could use DISK2FDI under the following conditions: two floppy drives, a bootable DOS diskette, and a FAT16 or FAT32 formatted partition on which to copy the DISK2FDI dumps.