English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 January 2012, 16:52   #1
Vollldo
 
Posts: n/a
Barbarian (palace) with music

Just a question i have in mind since a few years, without the time and knowledge in ASM to make this possible.

The amiga version of Barbarian (from Palace, not from Psygnosis) doesn't have an ingame music like on C64 or CPC (both cult tunes). Unfortunatly...

I was curious how difficult it would be to implement a music routine to make this possible.

Question only for specialists of course .
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 January 2012, 21:28   #2
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 4,603
It has no music, although Richard Joseph is credited there as a musician. What a shame that it has not any music!
Predseda is offline  
Old 13 January 2012, 21:47   #3
Vollldo
 
Posts: n/a
Yes it is totally understandable... Tha's why i asked my question .
 
Old 14 January 2012, 02:49   #4
dex
Eat Electric Death

dex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 320
Oh you're especially fond of games with ingame music, too - right Volldo? About Richard Joseph, does it have an intro with music? So maybe that was his job. Otherwise I am sure there is some music in there, maybe hidden as in Populous II which has musicians credited but no single tune until you activate it
dex is offline  
Old 14 January 2012, 04:33   #5
musojon74
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dereham, United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 470
The st version definitely had music. You could press one of the f keys to toggle sfx or music. Don't know why it's not in the Amiga version.
musojon74 is offline  
Old 14 January 2012, 11:09   #6
Vollldo
 
Posts: n/a
Strange indeed, but if a music was hidden, i think that everyone would know this already . Would it be easily possible to add one ? Technically i mean.0
 
Old 14 January 2012, 20:50   #7
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 4,603
Lets begin the hunt for Barbarian music!!!
Predseda is offline  
Old 14 January 2012, 21:28   #8
Vollldo
 
Posts: n/a
If only it could be true . But i doubt this. My question is always opened : how difficult it would be for a specialist of amiga asm to implement a music in this one ? Utopic or not ?
 
Old 06 February 2014, 14:31   #9
Vollldo
 
Posts: n/a
Lol a thread with a lot of dust .
Hum what about adding a music to this cult one ?
Maybe a musician and a programmer would be interested to do this ?
 
Old 06 February 2014, 14:43   #10
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,790
I will try at home if there is DOS version - I need to put on disk external player.
s2325 is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 15:17   #11
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 10,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
It has no music, although Richard Joseph is credited there as a musician. What a shame that it has not any music!
Probably credited for the sfx/sampled speech and the drums at the end of a fight.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 20:54   #12
Vollldo
 
Posts: n/a
I see a zoned file called " Barbarian plus", mentionned with in-game music !!!!!!!!!!

Pinch me s2325, is it what i think it is ???!!!
 
Old 06 February 2014, 20:56   #13
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,790
Barbarian with in-game music in the Zone. Some fighting sounds are randomly skipped or glitchy because of that. Printer device file was removed from disk to make space. You can watch here [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 22:24   #14
Vollldo
 
Posts: n/a
Just transfered and tested it, i'm impressed how fast you did this lol.

Several remarks to improve/change stuffs :

- Sound effects volume is too low, they almost can't be heard.
If they are randomly skipped as you mentionned then would it be possible to disable them ? For example the CPC version can't be played with sfx+music and everyone feels ok with this . I presume that to play them at a zero volume would affect the music as it busies 1 channel ?

- Then concerning the music itself, the file you choose is a really nice one but it isn't the wonderfull theme of the Atari ST/C64/CPC versions. Honestly in my mind this theme defines Barbarian, and i can't imagine playing without it lol.

So you guess my wish of course, an adaptation of the original tune would be the thing to do to make your version absolutly perfect !

So questions :
- Did someone ever make or ever see an adaptation of the original ST/8 bits theme for the Amiga ?

- If not, is someone would be happy to compose the tune to replace the one implemented in the version of s2325 ?

- s2325 can you write us the technical informations to eventually replace the music file by another ? File format, tracker to use to compose it, size,...

You did a wonderfull job, thanks to you we are at 2 fingers to have a version with the original theme now .

Last edited by Vollldo; 06 February 2014 at 22:43.
 
Old 06 February 2014, 22:48   #15
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,790
It's music from Amiga game Ishar, I can not find antyhing similar. File should not be bigger than 120KB as there is no space on disk. To replace just copy .mod file with same filename using ADF View.
s2325 is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 23:39   #16
Vollldo
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks a lot for your help, does any tracker can be used ? I don't remember if noisettacker and protracker MOD file are 100% compatible, if you can fresh my memory on this point it would be great .
 
Old 06 February 2014, 23:52   #17
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,790
You need to try as some files are playable but with errors.
s2325 is offline  
Old 07 February 2014, 10:54   #18
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,790
If music module was made only on two or one track there are no problem with sounds but that kind of module is rare.
s2325 is offline  
Old 09 February 2014, 21:02   #19
Vollldo
 
Posts: n/a
Yes you're right .

For now i didn't find any MOD done from the original theme.

Do we have a musician here maybe ?
 
Old 09 February 2014, 21:13   #20
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,790
It's possible to convert .mid to .mod file with Mod Plug Tracker but I found only from Psygnosis game.
s2325 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Found: Barbarian 2 - Palace] laughing skeleton came on the side of the blank screen PiAnt Looking for a game name ? 2 30 October 2007 22:07
Palace Software Barbarian I and II on eBay starting at EUR 4.99 mark_k MarketPlace 2 01 December 2004 15:28
mod that used Barbarian (Palace) sounds DPainter request.Modules 4 25 November 2004 03:44
Does anyone own the original PALACE release of BARBARIAN? Mache Retrogaming General Discussion 17 04 April 2003 02:39
Running Barbarian II (Palace) Tim Janssen support.Games 2 27 October 2002 19:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26925 seconds with 12 queries