English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 October 2018, 00:05   #1
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 1,199
A2000/Blizzard060 NMI exception

Today I got a strange bug report regarding my game Trap Runner. At completely random, non-reproducible points, the system invokes exception vector 31, which is a level 7 interrupt (NMI)!

The attached screen shot shows the game's internal debugger, which catches the exception.

I am pretty sure that nothing on a standard Amiga board could cause an NMI. Maybe the Blizzard 060 does? Has anybody experienced that before? What can be the reason for it? And why does it cause such an exception randomly?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	trcrash1f.jpeg
Views:	59
Size:	125.1 KB
ID:	60187  
phx is offline  
Old 10 October 2018, 00:42   #2
DanScott
Lemon. / Core Design

DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 319
I seem to remember we were getting Level 7's or some other unwanted interrupt, randomly triggered on A2000 on our "The Fall" demo

Just found the thread about it:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=91713
DanScott is online now  
Old 10 October 2018, 12:32   #3
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 1,199
Thanks for the confirmation. So I will just do an "rte" an ignore it.

But it's interresting that the problem was observed on a 030 board as well. So it is more related to the A2000 itself than to the expansion boards in use?
phx is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 15:13   #4
Yulquen74
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kleppe / Norway
Posts: 200
May be noise on the interrupt lines. Does demos like state of the art (trackload version, not whdload) also crash at random?

I had this problem with my home brew accelerator for the A500, and the solution was to add 510R pullup resistors on the 3 IPL lines (the ones on the mainboard are 4,7K) to reduce the noise sensitivity.

Everything was fine when in workbench, but when running demos like sota without proper handling of this interrupt, I got random crashes before applying the fix.
Yulquen74 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WinUAE Request] Level 7 NMI Interrupt Boltar request.UAE Wishlist 2 26 December 2014 20:32
68060 on A2000 NMI Autovec crashes blakespot project.WHDLoad 10 05 February 2013 20:14
A600 NMI on 68k.. xc8 support.Hardware 11 08 November 2008 18:07
NMI Key? WintermuteX support.WinUAE 14 15 December 2003 21:39
NMI-Switch on A1200 rgen support.Hardware 5 16 March 2002 19:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06325 seconds with 16 queries