English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 February 2021, 02:28   #121
yelworC
Registered User

yelworC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
Does not work for me. Downloaded the 0.2 beta, extracted exe from adf to harddisk and started. There was some text in the console output followed by a Guru. This was the first try from my RTG Workbench.

Second try was a restart with minimal direct to Shell startup-sequence (setpatch, env: and some assigns) without RTG and stuff and the same Guru was the result.

It's an Amiga 4000 with 3.1 Roms (patched with 3.9 updates). Cyberstorm MK1 040/40 with 80 megs fast ram.

Last edited by yelworC; 22 February 2021 at 02:41.
yelworC is offline  
Old 22 February 2021, 09:09   #122
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,098
try whdload version then
jotd is offline  
Old 22 February 2021, 11:00   #123
yelworC
Registered User

yelworC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
try whdload version then
I would love to try but I can't find a slave for this. Searched this thread and WHDLoad page. Is there kind of a generic default slave to try?
yelworC is offline  
Old 22 February 2021, 12:07   #124
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,098
beta version is in the zone (http://eab.abime.net/zone/Tinyus_v1.0.lha). Waiting for final release to make it official
jotd is offline  
Old 22 February 2021, 12:08   #125
yelworC
Registered User

yelworC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
beta version is in the zone. Waiting for final release to make it official
Thank you! will try this :-)

Edit: Works like a charm. Great game and great work with the WHDLoad slave. :-)

Last edited by yelworC; 22 February 2021 at 12:27.
yelworC is offline  
Old 22 February 2021, 20:39   #126
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by yelworC View Post
Second try was a restart with minimal direct to Shell startup-sequence (setpatch, env: and some assigns) without RTG and stuff and the same Guru was the result.

It's an Amiga 4000 with 3.1 Roms (patched with 3.9 updates). Cyberstorm MK1 040/40 with 80 megs fast ram.
Glad you got it working with the WHDLoad slave.

For 040, turn off Copyback Cache. It improved performance for 040, but is a cache that is incompatible with the majority of software without giving 040 special treatment. So most software lacks it and the slave likely just turns off that cache.
Photon is offline  
Old 23 February 2021, 01:08   #127
no9
Registered User

no9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Posts: 165
Not sure if this was already discussed. Is there reasoning behind implementation of DOUBLE shoots upgrade? It is different from arcade, where both projectiles are triggered independently from each other.
no9 is offline  
Old 23 February 2021, 22:11   #128
mrupp
Registered User

mrupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: St.Gallen, Switzerland
Posts: 74
A tiny suggestion:
How about when pressing ESC during the game, you get back to the title screen instead of quitting the program? If I loose a life during the first level, I'd rather quit and start from scratch than go on without any upgrades... Alright, ANY level, to be honest...
mrupp is offline  
Old 23 February 2021, 22:25   #129
mrupp
Registered User

mrupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: St.Gallen, Switzerland
Posts: 74
Possible bugs with Beta 0.2:
  • There still seems to be an issue with collision detection: Boss level 1: as long as I keep moving, his shots pass straight through my ship.
  • Checkpoints (level 1): I lost a life just when the landscape on top and bottom appears, but restarted further into the level, where the landscape on top and bottom horizontally fill the screen fully.
mrupp is offline  
Old 23 February 2021, 22:45   #130
no9
Registered User

no9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Posts: 165
Likewise. Died in space on level 1 and was respawned in cave.
no9 is offline  
Old 24 February 2021, 00:19   #131
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 590
The technical prowess on display here is impressive.
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 24 February 2021, 02:25   #132
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,127
Brilliant work by the Team, have loved testing it out so far.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrupp View Post
A tiny suggestion:
How about when pressing ESC during the game, you get back to the title screen instead of quitting the program? If I loose a life during the first level, I'd rather quit and start from scratch than go on without any upgrades... Alright, ANY level, to be honest...
I agree with this comment.

Could you make the options collectable when you die? Gives you a better chance of progressing further.
mihcael is offline  
Old 24 February 2021, 03:06   #133
skyzoo73
Registered User

skyzoo73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Italy
Age: 47
Posts: 105
Today I had time to lie in Tynius I noticed that:

- I have never had a blue bonus, of those that destroy all enemies.

- level with easter island heads, it's really hard. I happened to die many times from hitting parts of invisible scenery, even the number of bullets from the heads seems a bit excessive (in this case the slowing down of this part helps).
- I had 1 option, the missile and I took the bonus [?], after consuming it I was no longer able to take an OPTION, even having lit it, it did not give it to me. The problem resolved after he died.

- I have an idea - suggestion (I don't know if it can be implemented in the final version) you could add an option (in the title screen), to have the corners of the screen highlighted in order to allow the adjustment of the crt monitors to expand to full screen the game. (to recreate the arcade experience even more)

Hello and great work, as always

tested on Amiga 600 (2chip + 4fast)

Last edited by skyzoo73; 24 February 2021 at 03:07. Reason: (typing error)
skyzoo73 is offline  
Old Yesterday, 12:56   #134
Yesideez
(2b)||!(2b)
Yesideez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cranbrook, Devon, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 220
I got back from work yesterday and spent ALL DAY playing it (about 6 hours) and got absolutely nothing done!

BUG#1: When you go to the next level, if you've collected any "power up tokens" from the previous level, when you start collecting more the counter starts at the beginning yet the highlighted one stays highlighted. This means you get two highlighted power-ups until you collect past that power up.

BUG#2: I've got 3 lives selected in the options yet I start with 4 lives.

BUG#3: Collision detection on the end of level boss seems a bit off - I should have died a few times and lived to defeat the enemy.

I understand from reading the first couple of pages that the speed doesn't get reset to 0 when you die but to be honest - I prefer it like it is. I can barely bring myself back if I die past level 1 and if my ship was slower, I'd not make it at all. Even now as soon as I die, many times I crash my ship and start a new game.

Do we have a key to quit the game so we can start from scratch? I did try ESC but it quit the game completely :/

Love this game, was one of my absolute all-time favourites (Nemesis) from years back when I was little and when Project-X came out and I saw it ran on a similar system, I bought it but was let down because it was too bloody hard.

Well done on a top notch conversion - can't thank you enough on this!

Can I recommend Xevious next please? :P
Yesideez is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tinyus - An arcade quality Amiga OCS port of Gradius/Nemesis pink^abyss News 88 15 February 2021 13:52
Tiny Bobble Beta Released - A new Bubble Bobble arcade port pink^abyss News 808 08 February 2021 17:20
Port Wolfenstein on Amiga 500 / 1000 OCS Miggy4eva Retrogaming General Discussion 191 03 April 2019 19:51
CD32: how to open expansion port? Akira support.Hardware 4 04 October 2015 20:45
Open Amiga Game Database - Open Beta FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 3 01 May 2013 23:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10866 seconds with 16 queries