English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 April 2013, 01:26   #1
Edwooger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Darwen / England
Posts: 24
Running 3D games?

Hi, it's me again

I've been trying to run some 3D games on the emulator and I just can't get them to run smoothly no matter what.

I tried overclocking the CPU frequency, which helps smooth out previous games and it works to a degree but with games like Breathless and Alien Breed 3D I get a mega sound glitch.

I've been trying to run them under A1200 specs, which isn't far enough to make them run smoothly.

Kickstart 3.1
RAM 2MB
Fast RAM 8 MB
Slow RAM 512KB
CPU Frequency 28 (double A1200 [this is why I have the sound glitch])

Should I play around with Expansions and/or Adv. Chipset settings?

Thanks for reading, and looking forward to hearing some words of wisdom
Edwooger is offline  
Old 25 April 2013, 02:03   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Get rid of 'slow mem', instead of that 28 Mhz 'hack' use 'fastest possible but maintain chipset timing'... report back
TCD is offline  
Old 03 May 2013, 19:30   #3
direktorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 21
What hardware are you running UAE under?

I also agree that slowmen is not really useful at all.
direktorn is offline  
Old 05 May 2013, 20:30   #4
Edwooger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Darwen / England
Posts: 24
Thanks for the tip Druid It has helped but still running it x2 CPU but the more I boot the CPU the more likely sound crackles, like when certain menus are up or curtain actions are made. There is no tick box for 'maintain chip timing' and the CPU Emulation Speed menu is shaded out... But thank you for your help so far, I learned something new today

My Computer is using a Core 2 Duo Intel CPU, Windows 7, just over 3GB of RAM and not sure about the graphics card but it's enough to run Sims 3 just about. It's an old machine mean't for XP but don't think it should give UAE much trouble. Only problems so far is some times have crackling in the sound and needs sound buffing, sometimes putting Host, Display, Resolution on Lores helps a lot but 3D games, Breathless and Alien Breed 3D in this case, are just mind boggling. Still looking on how to run them smoothly because I see them run okay on youtube and I'm pretty sure they should run on an Amiga 1200. Maybe I should look up the Amiga 4000(T?) cos I hear it uses the same AGA chip.

Would RTG Graphics Card help? I need to install something for that and get a harddrive up and running but I can learn to do that, I'm sure.

Thank you for your responses. I'm still looking into it when I can but if anyone can help me here, that be fantastic
Edwooger is offline  
Old 05 May 2013, 20:44   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,522
Something bad in your config most likely.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 May 2013, 07:27   #6
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
There's a million and one things that can go "wrong", but general rule of thumb if youre after a fast emulated amiga:

Dont use the 28mhz option. Use "fastest possible, but maintain chipset timing" option. Make sure no mmu is emulated, and also make sure you're not using cycle exact.
fishyfish is offline  
Old 06 May 2013, 09:22   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,522
Attach your config file and winuaelog.txt. (Log checkbox in paths or misc panel). The usual
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 May 2013, 10:55   #8
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Here's how to set fastest possible (but by all means let Toni have a look at your config and logs):

Uncheck 'Cycle-exact' on the chipset panel



Now you can set 'Fastest possible' for the CPU

TCD is offline  
Old 06 May 2013, 21:24   #9
Edwooger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Darwen / England
Posts: 24
Actually, that helped a lot. Thank you Druid.
I never thought to reverse those options as I thought it would bugger things up.
Alien Breed 3D runs smoothly and Breathless I think is as good as I can be.
never could play 3D games smoothly on the Amiga when I was little, so it will be nice to be able to complete them running smoothly I also ticked 'Immediate Blitter' and it runs almost perfectly. Will still tinker around.

games like Hunter for A500 were a little harder to get working but after playing with the settings you showed me, turning up the CPU speed after ticking the Cycle-exact option off under Hardware, Chipset it's pretty smooth now :yay:

Many thanks to everyone here. Hope this thread helps others with the same issues in the future.
Edwooger is offline  
Old 06 May 2013, 21:34   #10
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Glad to hear it worked
TCD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems running some WHDLoad games Basquemactee1 support.Other 27 21 May 2010 14:06
Running WHDLOAD games with an Indivision Peter support.Games 5 22 February 2009 00:55
Running floppy games on a CD32 Shatterhand Amiga scene 11 24 October 2007 07:33
Running games in a windo wakeupbomb support.WinUAE 4 18 January 2003 22:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07192 seconds with 13 queries