English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 May 2013, 00:18   #1
Pioneer500
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 30
Best WinUAE video settings for CRT ...

Was playing with WinUAE today, full screen on a CRT monitor.
Trying to get it to look as real as possible.

Have a 1200 / 1084 next to the WinUAE/PC CRT to compare.

Anyone ever try that, wondering what settings you found...
Pioneer500 is offline  
Old 11 May 2013, 00:26   #2
direktorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 21
What settings do you think you could tweak on the PC side?
direktorn is offline  
Old 11 May 2013, 00:30   #3
Pioneer500
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 30
Ideally I was trying to get WinUAE not to scale at all, and use a PC resolution similar to the 1200 video mode.

Not an expert on the 1200, with it set for 640x200 it outputs a higher resolution with the border ?

If I could get the PC monitor to match that resolution and WinUAE not to scale guess that would do it?
Pioneer500 is offline  
Old 11 May 2013, 03:32   #4
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pioneer500 View Post
Was playing with WinUAE today, full screen on a CRT monitor.
Trying to get it to look as real as possible.

Have a 1200 / 1084 next to the WinUAE/PC CRT to compare.

Anyone ever try that, wondering what settings you found...
the best settings for a CRT is the highest resolution possible that you monitor supports at 100hz in a 4/3 aspect ratio screen
in my case I have a sun 21 with sony flat tube I use it at 1280x960 100hz
of course set vsync on...then you can choose the filter you prefer..in my case generally I use scale2x
Sandro is offline  
Old 11 May 2013, 04:14   #5
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
I used for a while a second monitor (CRT) for WinUAE at 800x600@100Hz with no filtering at all.

I think that using a crt with filtering in winuae is a bit against the purpose of using a crt in the first place. CRTs have native resolutions, contrary to a LCD that has single resolution and has to scale when not in the ideal res.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 18 May 2013, 14:47   #6
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,408
I think a good resolution would be 720 x 576 50 Hz (PAL) with the overscan settings to maximum (if your card has it). Enable V-Sync and set the filter to "Fullscreen (Max)". With this configuration WinUAE will not only display the screen but the graphics around it in the overscan area (sprites, rainbows...) which of course you will not be able to see it, exactly like an true Amiga does, but you can yet scroll the screen with the filter panel.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 24 May 2013 at 23:11. Reason: Dubious meaning.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winuae Settings sandruzzo Coders. General 2 24 January 2012 22:45
Video settings backup, how? Quagliarulo support.Hardware 6 15 May 2011 01:03
Systemclock settings in winUAE onkelarie support.WinUAE 5 29 November 2008 12:24
WinUAE 1.4.0 RAM settings xalakibaniou support.WinUAE 4 01 April 2007 23:31
config settings in WinUAE... overburn support.WinUAE 9 19 January 2005 11:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11112 seconds with 15 queries