English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 April 2008, 00:22   #1
Lips2k8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 51
zorro II busboard with 1200

Hi there, I have just purchaed a Zorro II bus board on ebay and was wondering if it is compatible with zorro II accelorators? I already know it dosnt like some SCSI stuff... something about DMA.
Lips2k8 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 April 2008, 03:39   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 39
Posts: 9,265
@Lips2k8

DMA is not directly supported on Zorro2, so SOME SCSI adapters are not available, some are, some will work and be slow... kinda trial and error for the most part i am afraid to say...

just ask whom is running what on what and if any issues.

Graphics cards, sounds cards, Zorro Network cards, SBC's a whole slew of other cards work on busboards

so what busboard did you get in the end?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 23 April 2008, 12:22   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,518
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
There are no Zorro II accelerators. The Amiga2000 CPU slot is more similar to an A500/A1000 edge connector than a Zorro slot, even though they have a very similar pinout and signals.
Jope is offline  
Old 23 April 2008, 12:57   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 39
Posts: 9,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
There are no Zorro II accelerators. The Amiga2000 CPU slot is more similar to an A500/A1000 edge connector than a Zorro slot, even though they have a very similar pinout and signals.

now thats got me thinking..... damn it...... there goes my lunch hour,....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 23 April 2008, 13:52   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,518
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
It's been done before.. B2060 in A500 that is.
Jope is offline  
Old 23 April 2008, 18:55   #6
Lips2k8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 51
how about ram expansions and video cards? sorry if I sound a little out of my depth lol... also for the sake of curiosity... can zorro II be made zorro III compatible? surely the conections dont differ too much?
Lips2k8 is offline  
Old 23 April 2008, 20:22   #7
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 39
Posts: 9,265
@Lips2k8

hello there, fear not, theres loads to learn everyday.... make it worth getting up if you ask me...

okay pin compatability Z2 cards will work in Z3 ports, BUT very unlikely Z3 cards will work in Z2 ports. its all to do with buss speeds and DMA

heres an overview of Z2 cards available

http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/search....&base=dec&pid=

they range from memory to SCSI to video to Sound loads....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 23 April 2008, 21:38   #8
Lips2k8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 51
hmmm ok so how much is it worth? it looks like i might be better selling it or trading it for a mediator or something simular? any opinons?
Lips2k8 is offline  
Old 23 April 2008, 21:55   #9
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 41
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lips2k8 View Post
hmmm ok so how much is it worth? it looks like i might be better selling it or trading it for a mediator or something simular? any opinons?
it depends
you can insert a picasso 4 there and will work great
and the picasso 4 is the best gfx card for the amiga..better than anyone supported by the mediator or the grexx
also you can insert other zorro cards like sound cards,cards for video edition,ethernet cards,usb cards like the thylacine (extinct like the animal) but maybe you can found one used
if you want a turboboard..get a blizzard or an apollo 12x
laser is offline  
Old 23 April 2008, 23:29   #10
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 39
Posts: 9,265
@Laser

however for the price of a Picasso IV, one could by a PCI mediator setup with a Voodoo 3,4 or 5.

IMHO any of those chipsets will spank the PIV into the previous century!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 24 April 2008, 01:09   #11
Lips2k8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 51
hmmm so plenty of options then? just a case of balancing the pro's and cons such as cost, availability and compatability? Thank you all for your input your really clever folks here lol... I have only recently got back into the amiga scene.... believe it or not after veiwing this forum !!! so off I went and got myself a 1200 - I had one years back when I was a teenager and I was shocked how things have progressed.
Lips2k8 is offline  
Old 24 April 2008, 01:21   #12
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 39
Posts: 9,265
@Lips

theres plenty of infectious mischief around here, infact i was quite a sane Zetty before i found this forum... its turning me into a monster of hackery!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 24 April 2008, 01:55   #13
Lips2k8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 51
yea it has that effect lol I haveso far replaced the two micro switches in the original A1200 mouse and the same with my quick joy 2 - soldering iron has never had so much use !!!!
Lips2k8 is offline  
Old 24 April 2008, 06:27   #14
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 41
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@Laser

however for the price of a Picasso IV, one could by a PCI mediator setup with a Voodoo 3,4 or 5.

IMHO any of those chipsets will spank the PIV into the previous century!
you are right the picasso 4 is expensive ....it can reach the price of a high -end nvidia 9800 card....but it's the best gfx card for the miggy
I don't consider a voodoo 3 better gfx card than the picasso 4
it lacks built-in scandoubler/flickerfixer.....it lacks overlay/PIP drivers
laser is offline  
Old 24 April 2008, 07:44   #15
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by laser View Post
I don't consider a voodoo 3 better gfx card than the picasso 4
it lacks built-in scandoubler/flickerfixer.....it lacks overlay/PIP drivers
I don't need to think that as I have them both installed
zipper is offline  
Old 24 April 2008, 13:25   #16
alphonsus
Registered User
alphonsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by laser View Post
you are right the picasso 4 is expensive ....it can reach the price of a high -end nvidia 9800 card....but it's the best gfx card for the miggy
I don't consider a voodoo 3 better gfx card than the picasso 4
it lacks built-in scandoubler/flickerfixer.....it lacks overlay/PIP drivers
Better than a blizzardvision?
alphonsus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zorro II busboard extender gulliver Hardware mods 6 02 March 2013 16:24
a1200 zorro busboard for a4000 zorro busboard OverDose Swapshop 0 11 August 2009 16:51
Onboard 1200 ex V2.0 Zorro busboard alphonsus MarketPlace 5 22 April 2008 07:49
Elbox Zorro 4 Busboard BinoX support.Hardware 19 11 August 2006 14:58
A1200 zorro busboard.... thinlega support.Hardware 5 05 November 2002 19:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18228 seconds with 11 queries