English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 July 2018, 16:01   #1
dschallock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Northern California
Posts: 73
A3000 garbled graphics

I am an A3000 that has a garbled gaphics issue. Its not all the time, but it always ends up happening after the computer has been on few mins.
Its usually the icons. Some old magic workbench icons (not pink because I don't have MWB installed) seem to be the first garbled.
frequently it is also like the backdrop of a program like imagefx or a whole screen sometimes.
Last year after doing some research I replaced all the GAL chips on the board. I Thought maybe that fixed my issue because before doing that it would also glitch up my deluxe galaga screen after a while and the GAL chips replacement seemed to fix this problem.
But now the icon and other screen issue seems to be growing in intensity.
Any ideas what I should look into to resolve it?
Thanks,
Dan
dschallock is offline  
Old 12 July 2018, 20:06   #2
dschallock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Northern California
Posts: 73
It is interesting to note. I uninstalled picasso96 and installed Cybergraphics4 and almost all the icon and wbpattern glitches went away. I am not sure what the reason is.
dschallock is offline  
Old 16 July 2018, 23:28   #3
dschallock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Northern California
Posts: 73
So... I have been using Cybergraphx 4 now for a week and have not had garbled graphics on either my rtg screens or my native screens... How is this possible?
dschallock is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 17:13   #4
dschallock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Northern California
Posts: 73
bump

Bump...

So I needed to go back to picasso96 because there were some programs that just weren't behaving as good with cybergraphx4 as they were with picasso96, but now that I am back to picasso96 my wagicwb icons get vertical banding like every 4th time I boot. Sometimes randomly the MagicWB pattern inside my windows will have little pink colored squares tiled across it but when that happens there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with the icons.
Could this be a some kind of picasso96 setting that is conflicting with the way magicwb draws its icons and patterns?
dschallock is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 17:39   #5
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,408
It does sound like some sort of P96 setting issue. Have you got any other patches running that affect imagery? FBlit for example?
Daedalus is online now  
Old 01 August 2018, 17:51   #6
dschallock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Northern California
Posts: 73
installed wb tweaks

So far all I have installed as far as workbench tweaks on this 3.1 install is:

MagicWB
Mui 3.8
magicmenu
toolsdaemon
toolmanager
newmode (although I'm not using it to promote WB obviously).
dschallock is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 18:25   #7
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,408
Hmmm, very strange... I suspect there's some sort of tooltype or env variable or something somewhere that needs adjusting, but I don't know what it might be. The P96 documentation might have a few you could try to see if it helps.
Daedalus is online now  
Old 01 August 2018, 20:09   #8
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,537
What version of P96? What card?
kolla is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 20:38   #9
dschallock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Northern California
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
What version of P96? What card?
I want to say picasso96 version 1.4 (maybe) I need to check the floppy disk.. its what came with the card.
RTG card is the picasso IV.

I found a download for picasso96 2.1e and I was ready to install it the other night but I chickened out when, before it started copying files, it said it detected I had a picasso II running in segmented mode. I was thinking... version 1.4 detected my picasso IV, if version 2.1 can't even see what card I am using maybe I should be careful this version.... so I chickened out and aborted the install.
dschallock is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 20:43   #10
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,537
There you go... that's more than likely your source for issues.

Why not just use Picasso96 2.0 from Aminet? 2.1 is like.. alpha-ware

http://aminet.net/package/driver/video/Picasso96
kolla is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 03:02   #11
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,350
I highly recommend you get latest version of Picasso96 and also get the new updated icon.library from Peter K on Aminet!
TjLaZer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garbled overscan screen Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 5 18 June 2013 16:22
A2320 Display Enhancer (and A3000) sharper graphics mod mark_k support.Hardware 1 21 February 2013 03:03
Garbled graphics on modern Amigas absence Coders. General 23 14 October 2009 13:34
WTB accelerator and graphics card for a3000 roguebeck MarketPlace 6 26 October 2007 21:07
Garbled Icon Behaviour MSC support.WinUAE 0 08 September 2004 22:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07632 seconds with 13 queries