English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 May 2009, 12:52   #81
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 296
Hi! Is it possible to use a modified PC floppy drive and use it in a external floppy drive case? I have a broken external drive, when I try to connect my modified Panasonic to the external drive case it doesn't work, the led is constantly lit. Will it work if I move the ds1/ds0 jumper back to ds1? Is there something else I'm missing? The modified drive work well as an internal drive.
MickGyver is online now  
Old 21 May 2009, 13:27   #82
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Hmm, I've got an external one that works great with a modified PC drive set to DS0...are you sure it's not something else inside the unit that is broken?

Maybe try the drive you took out of it & connect as internal as a test?

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 21 May 2009, 13:40   #83
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 296
I know the unit is otherwise working, the problem is with the mechanics of the drive itself, AND I also had this same problem when the external drive was working, I tried already then (for fun) to connect a modified panasonic but it did not work. Could it be that some external drive cases need the drive set to ds1 and some to ds0?
MickGyver is online now  
Old 21 May 2009, 13:44   #84
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Maybe, it would make sense that not all manufacturers would do it exactly the same way.

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 21 May 2009, 14:18   #85
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 296
Well this was just too stupid! The floppy connector on the original citizen drive was upside down compared to a "normal" drive, so I had to twist the cable upside down. Now the new drive works well with ds set to 0. Thanks Fingerlickin for you help!
MickGyver is online now  
Old 21 May 2009, 14:21   #86
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by witchmaster View Post
the led is constantly lit.
I should have twigged as soon as I read that...oops!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 21 May 2009, 17:33   #87
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
yep sure sign floppy lead is connected upside down the led is constantly lit
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 03 July 2009, 19:16   #88
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,568
Not modding a PC drive, but removed an A600 internal drive completely and looking for advice on how to patch it to get rid of the 4-second wait. (See separate thread here)
Photon is offline  
Old 25 July 2009, 19:43   #89
Get27
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
For those drives who doesn't have a disk change signal available, the most simple trick is JOIN the pin 30 with the 34!
Works like a charm with ANY floppy unit I tested so far.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
Oh, BTW: this is not my original idea/hack.
Thanks to Hernan (aka Elpiloto), from Argentina to this easy and reliable hack!

It's not working with more than 1 drive (because you shunt /RDY signal made by "normal amiga" drive).
It's dangerous for floppy chips life !

There's no way to have reliable drive without /ready signal without electronics modifications.
 
Old 21 January 2010, 09:34   #90
protek
Amiga hobbyist
protek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 213
I wonder, if this site would need some updating?
http://freewebs.com/computolio/amiga...atibility.html
protek is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 22:33   #91
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Get27 View Post
It's not working with more than 1 drive (because you shunt /RDY signal made by "normal amiga" drive).
It's dangerous for floppy chips life !

There's no way to have reliable drive without /ready signal without electronics modifications.
I made Ernan's hack about 3 years ago on 5 floppy units. They all still going stronger.
rkauer is offline  
Old 02 February 2010, 17:28   #92
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 42
Posts: 452
I´ve just modified two Panasonics and they work great, thank´s a lot.
I also modified a samsung floppy drive with the same result, the best thing about this drive is that i can still buy it from any local computer store
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 06 February 2010, 18:33   #93
xc8
no c= no fun
xc8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 233
Hi,

I am trying to modify a Panasonic JU-257A606P(F9536) , the board is different that the one of the 1st post. but as I see there are the RDY/DC pads and DS1 / DS0.

I wanted to use this as external (the old external kicked the bucket) so I left the DS switch (pad) as it was,

I removed the DC jumper on the PCB, and connected the DC with the pin 2 and
RDY with the pin 34 of the interface.

I still cannot use this drive, there is a DF1??? on the desktop so I suppose I need to modify something else too on the PCB, but I have no idea what....

As I see there is a MO/MS (motor on/off) PCB switch, as I see is off (MS)..
should I put this to MO ?

Regards

Chris
xc8 is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 18:08   #94
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 42
Posts: 452
Here´s a list of drives i´ve modified so far.

Samsung SFD-321B Rev T1; Rev T3 and Rev A
Alps Electric DF354H090F
Mitsumi Newtronics D359T6
NEC FD1231T
Sony MPF920 Z/131
Panasonic JU-257A606P

The Samsung drives are pretty easy to modify, the others aren´t hard but Alps Elctric and NEC need you to be very steady to solder them.

I´ll post some images soon for your info.

I tried to modify diferent drives just to see where i could go.
Bottom line, if you find the right place to modify in each PCB their all pretty much the same.

They are all as DF0
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 09 February 2010, 05:25   #95
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Where did you found DS0/DS1 on Mitsumi Newtronics D359T6? I'm searching for it.

Albeit it is a shame that a HD-ready floppy unit will go just 880kb.
rkauer is offline  
Old 09 February 2010, 23:08   #96
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
Albeit it is a shame that a HD-ready floppy unit will go just 880kb.
A HD-ready floppy? I suppose you made some confusion with HD-ready displays (LCD/Plasma)?
Supamax is offline  
Old 10 February 2010, 00:53   #97
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Same wording, different meanings. Not "High Definition", but High Density.
rkauer is offline  
Old 10 February 2010, 21:17   #98
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 41
Posts: 616
@xc8

To make a disk drive work as Df1-DF3 requires additional circuitry on the A500/A600/A1200. You need to latch the MTRx signal together with the SEL1/SEL2 or SEL3 signal.
All these signals are only available from the 23 way d-type connector.

Basically you use a 74LS74 d-type flip flop, connect MTRX to the Data input and the SEL1/SEL2 or SEL3 input to the Clock input. The Q output the becomes the MotorON signal for the FDD. From MotorOn and SEL you can then create the inverted Ready signal to send back to the Amiga.

The following diagram comes from the PCFloppy-2-Amiga archive from Aminet.



If you do not use this circuit, you will get the DF1:???? icon on the desktop as the drive is not being correctly selected.

Ian
Stedy is offline  
Old 10 February 2010, 21:29   #99
xc8
no c= no fun
xc8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 233
Thank you Ian,

I want to replace the drive of an external drive (from power computing)
There is already an IC inside (GAL16v8) with some components.
So I suppose these components have nothing to do with your diagram?

thanx

Chris
xc8 is offline  
Old 11 February 2010, 00:15   #100
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 41
Posts: 616
@xc8.

Undo the DS1/DS0 and DC/RDY changes you did earlier and plug the drive in unmodified. The 16V8 GAL and PCB most likely adapt the PC drive for the Amiga.

When my Amitek external drive broke many years back, I plugged in a new FDD with absolutely no modifications and it worked, because the GAL and PCB took care of the differences between PC and Amiga drives.

You will not need the circuit I showed earlier.

Ian
Stedy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 5.25-inch floppy disks and drives mips support.Hardware 24 03 May 2013 20:40
List of Amiga compatible PC floppy drives Olecranon support.Hardware 12 05 October 2011 17:38
Amiga floppy drives cinemawareman Amiga scene 5 17 March 2011 15:40
replacing amiga floppy drives with hard drives Gordon support.Hardware 2 06 March 2007 00:44
Copying Amiga disks using Floppy drives on a PC. hamster support.Hardware 20 24 June 2006 10:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09248 seconds with 14 queries