English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 April 2008, 19:14   #61
Gavilan
Amiga user & abuser

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: BUENOS AIRES, ARGENTINA
Age: 42
Posts: 178
Send a message via ICQ to Gavilan Send a message via MSN to Gavilan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
I really like the simplicity of that one. :-)

Way to think outside the box on Elpiloto's part..

You don't even need to locate a DS0/1 switch, just twist wires 10-16 like on a PC floppy cable.. If you want to connect two drives to a big box Amiga, twist 4-6 as well.
On behalf of (surprise!) amazingly fast growing Amiga community from Argentina (more than 50 ACTIVE Amiga members right now), i can assure you guys that the hack made by my good friend elpiloto has been tested in at least 50 different floppy drives , all resulting in 100% compatible Amiga floppy drives.
We live in a part of the world where its very hard to find Amiga gear (read impossible), only solution being eBay.
Even tough, we are a bunch of truly Amiga fans, and we even have some very good skilled & talented people among us. (Not me!!!)
We have many other proyects/ideas/hacks. ATM we are thinking about a cheap scandoubler/flickerfixer solution.
Sometimes we lack info, sometimes we lack time, most of the times we lack money!!! But hey, thats the funniest part of the thing, isnt it?
If we can share/exchange info/knowledge/ideas, please dont hesitate and get in touch with me! Not all the guys speak english in Argentina, but i can be a bridge between you & our people here!


Cheers
Sebastian
Gavilan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 April 2008, 13:37   #62
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Regarding the Samsung drives Narmi uses, this eBay seller has them:
http://stores.ebay.com.au/PTMe-Clearance

They currently have 6 used ones for $2.99 each and 2 new ones for $6.99 each in stock.

Postage within Australia is $7 plus only $1 each per extra drive...so I bought 3 of them and got half off the postage cost

A good source for those that don't have a recycling centre nearby that lets you rummage

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 23 April 2008, 13:47   #63
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Oh, and here are some brand new Pansonic JU-257A606P drives:
http://www.techbuy.com.au/p/14629/FD...DD144Beige.asp

Enjoy

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 01 May 2008, 13:39   #64
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Yes, yes, yes...GO NARMI!!!!

My three Samsung drives arrived today & after 5 minutes of modding I now have three 100% perfectly compatible drives!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 14 August 2008, 17:09   #65
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 47
Posts: 824
Haven't been here for ages, but I found something out today which might be very interesting for many of you:

I once wrote a guide here how to modify a Chinon FZ-357 drive for Amiga use. Apart from setting the jumpers right, you also had to change a connection on some solder pad.

On the drive I had (Made in Malaysia) this was solder pad J2 which had to be closed on the drive's pcb.
But then people reported that the pcb was different on FZ-357 which were Made in Japan...

Yesterday a friend gave me a FZ-357 (Made in Japan) for repair/adapt for Amiga. Indeed, the pcb is different, and you cannot just close J2.
Now, on the FZ-357 Made in Japan you need to set different solder pads:

The connection on J20 has to be removed and the connection on J18 has to be closed. Just leave J2 as it is.
That's it

I hope this will help a lot of people who reported problems with their 'Made in Japan' Chinon FZ-357 drives.
Overdoc is offline  
Old 15 August 2008, 16:12   #66
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 791
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Will a JU-257A607P work?
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 29 September 2008, 07:29   #67
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Does anyone used an Epson SMD340 drive? It appears to be a HD Amiga floppy.

If not, I will transform it in my special way.
rkauer is offline  
Old 04 October 2008, 23:37   #68
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 47
Posts: 824
here is a pic:

http://www.pitsch.de/stuff/amiga/tepe/epsonsmd300.jpg
Overdoc is offline  
Old 05 October 2008, 03:43   #69
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Wow!

Thanks Overdoc!
rkauer is offline  
Old 07 October 2008, 00:53   #70
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
I've also found an ALPS DF354H127F in my stuff.

On this site (german), they said it can be converted OK for DD use.

But in this Czech Forum they comment the unit can be a real HD unit.

Can someone translate the Czech page/instructions, please? I'll love to have a proper HD floppy around.
rkauer is offline  
Old 21 October 2008, 19:37   #71
super64
 
Posts: n/a
Hello everyone.
I tried to change a floppy drive NEC FD1231H, following instructions from this site http://www.pitsch.de/stuff/amiga/floppy.htm#A4.
The problem is that it seems that I have a different version, because I can not find JA1 and JA2 contacts.
Can I solve this problem, by using the floppy cable hack which I have heard about ?
Where to find the instructions ?
The cable hack, work for all floppies and all programs/games ?
 
Old 22 October 2008, 02:57   #72
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Yes, the cable hack works almost OK.

You still need to join ready with data signals. In the case of an unmodified drive, just join pin 2 with 30 and make the cable hack.

But I think it's better to modify the drive and keep the cable original (much nicer).
rkauer is offline  
Old 22 October 2008, 23:24   #73
@UAE
Registered User
@UAE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dubai UAE
Posts: 157
Send a message via ICQ to @UAE
yapeee ... I have new Sony amiga drive ....
@UAE is offline  
Old 24 February 2009, 06:03   #74
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,675
i found what looks to be new amiga compatible 3.5" floppy drives...

http://ncix.com/products/?sku=111110...acture=Mitsumi


Mitsumi D359M3D 3.5" Floppy

$7.70 Cdn... a great deal.!

i found the pic below that shows how to mod this drive to work in an Amiga... the text is in German...
Can anyone translate the text in the pic for me please...

This is what i can see in the picture (correct me if i am wrong..


http://www.pitsch.de/stuff/amiga/tep...umid359m3d.jpg

- cut the trace on pin 12
- cut the trace on pin 34
- rebuild the trace on pin 10. (It looks like you use the trace that pin 12 was using)
- jumper pin 2 to pin 34 (Board side, not connector side)
- jumper pin 34 (connector) to pin 17 of the IC chip

Does this look right, Am i missing anything..

Thanks.


According to the store stock checker they only have 21,000 left... better hurry
weird... weight shows as 10lbs... i think thats a little wrong


here are the drive specs...
http://www.mitsumi.co.jp/Catalog/pc/fdd/d359m3d_e.html

Last edited by kipper2k; 24 February 2009 at 06:35.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 05 April 2009, 21:42   #75
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
yay just converted 2 pc drives for the amiga

1 is a TEC FD-235HF and I don`t know what the other is yet seem to have lost itsh cover at the moment.

but a big thank you to rkauer for postin the 2 wire trick and cuttin trace 34

now whos a happy froggy

still got to do more testin but both drives boot wb and run a NDos disk, so its all better than no drive at all
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 06 April 2009, 05:22   #76
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer


Not my hack. "El Piloto's" one, great amigan!
rkauer is offline  
Old 18 April 2009, 23:54   #77
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratte View Post
Some guys on a1k did it.
http://www.a1k.org/forum/index.php?m...d=2&thread=572

I am one of the beta-testers and i made a testrun-movie.
http://www.a1k.org/download/area51/HDFloppyFix.mpg

Its a TEAC FD-235HF drive.
1760kb / 1440kb ofs/ffs/fat - read/write
880kb / 720 kb ofs/ffs/fat - read/write

First we had some problems with timings from the diskready-signal (hd-mode) in combination with an a1000.
... broken link .. here is the new one.
http://www.a1k.org/download/area51/OLD/HDFloppyFix.mpg

Working HD-FloppyFix .. read/write 1760/880kb with teac peecee-drive.
Ratte is offline  
Old 11 May 2009, 14:43   #78
AB Positive
kachou ON!
AB Positive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Hampshire, US
Posts: 192
Happy to report that the 'universal' mod works on a Sony floppy drive, I can put up pics later on if anyone's interested.

I find the hardest bit is finding a drive who's traces and pads aren't so fragile they don't just come up with the soldering iron. Still - works like a dream and using my null cable to make disks out of ADFs, thanks!
AB Positive is offline  
Old 11 May 2009, 14:52   #79
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 11 May 2009, 15:54   #80
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratte View Post
... broken link .. here is the new one.
http://www.a1k.org/download/area51/OLD/HDFloppyFix.mpg

Working HD-FloppyFix .. read/write 1760/880kb with teac peecee-drive.
I see a pcb with a SMD IC, etc.
Is it sold yet, or will it be in the future (at which price)?
Supamax is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 5.25-inch floppy disks and drives mips support.Hardware 24 03 May 2013 20:40
List of Amiga compatible PC floppy drives Olecranon support.Hardware 12 05 October 2011 17:38
Amiga floppy drives cinemawareman Amiga scene 5 17 March 2011 15:40
replacing amiga floppy drives with hard drives Gordon support.Hardware 2 06 March 2007 00:44
Copying Amiga disks using Floppy drives on a PC. hamster support.Hardware 20 24 June 2006 10:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09652 seconds with 14 queries