English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 August 2018, 22:12   #1
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 460
The ReAmiga 1200 Rev 1.0

IT IS TIME!
The ReAmiga 1200 Rev 1.0


http://wordpress.hertell.nu/?p=587


Help with componentlocation: http://www.hertell.nu/locator/locator.php?project=r1200
Chucky is offline  
Old 18 August 2018, 22:23   #2
ross
Omnia fert aetas

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 1,156
Great!
:
ross is offline  
Old 18 August 2018, 23:50   #3
Mr.Flibble
Registered User

Mr.Flibble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 434
Mr.Flibble is offline  
Old 19 August 2018, 00:10   #4
fluffkitten
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Nottingham/UK
Posts: 43
That is awesome.
fluffkitten is offline  
Old 19 August 2018, 05:22   #5
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 34
Posts: 1,179
Congratulations Chucky. Amazing work again.
redblade is offline  
Old 19 August 2018, 09:38   #6
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 609
Wow! Impressive! Would be like a dream come thrue to have a new a1200 mb.
1time is offline  
Old 19 August 2018, 10:50   #7
modrobert
old bearded fool

modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 51
Posts: 488
Impressive, and thanks for sharing.

A couple of questions:

1) What thickness is the board/PCB?

2) How did you figure out how to draw the inner layers (assuming it's a four layer board)?
modrobert is offline  
Old 19 August 2018, 11:45   #8
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 460
1. 1.6mm
2. it is mostly ground.. and. schematics. AND some cheat. amigapcb.com
Chucky is offline  
Old 19 August 2018, 12:02   #9
modrobert
old bearded fool

modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 51
Posts: 488
OK, thanks. Found amigapcb.org, assuming that's the one you meant.

BTW: I spread your blog post link on a few places.
modrobert is offline  
Old 19 August 2018, 12:23   #10
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 460
org..

yeah
Chucky is offline  
Old 19 August 2018, 20:40   #11
jediknight
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: bolton
Posts: 125
awesome now you need to make some apollo 060,s to go with that sweet.
jediknight is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 00:39   #12
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 34
Posts: 1,179
Has the FPU been fixed on this so if you install a FPU it doesn't disable the accelerator?
redblade is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 01:24   #13
ExtremeWays
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Brisbane / Australia
Posts: 7
Thumbs up

Nice work Chucky. This level of reverse engineering is spectacular to watch.

Thanks for keeping your work open. I can't wait to see what people do with the source.
ExtremeWays is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 07:21   #14
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 827
Fantastic work mate beyond awesome
supaduper is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 10:02   #15
tom256
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 128
Looks amazing!!
tom256 is offline  
Old 27 August 2018, 15:21   #16
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 460
IMPORTANT UPDATE!

I just found 2 issues. one "more big" and one less big.

first the BIG one! as I added a possability of having 2 +5V lines via the DIN connector.. I have noticved that when putting in an A500 PSU you will have a short to ground.. as my lab-PSU does not (apparently) have the sheild connection connected.. I never notived this. but with a proper built adapter or a real psu.. it is connecte. and. yes I am stupid. connected that pin to the din connector..

so using a square connector. cut on the top side of the board as pictured.





2nd thing. I moved C409 after doiung my R1200 prototype sown so you could use the TH 4.3MHz oscillator.. this made that the videopart will not have +5V, so you need a jumperwire from PLUS from that cap to the plus of C54 and that will work.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	R1200fix.JPG
Views:	89
Size:	44.7 KB
ID:	59555  
Chucky is offline  
Old 27 August 2018, 18:06   #17
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 124
Will you be releasing a Revision 2 board with these issues fixed?
wiz12 is offline  
Old 27 August 2018, 18:30   #18
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 460
Rev 1.1

Will do it tonight.
Chucky is offline  
Old 27 August 2018, 22:28   #19
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 460
haven't done the update today. I want to test some more stuff first..
and tomorrow loooong day at work. so update in 2 days..
Chucky is offline  
Old 28 August 2018, 08:45   #20
sean_skroht
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 122
My goodness, this is exceptional work!!
How does one go about ordering one of these? Would love to get a Rev 1.1 when they are eventually available.

EDIT: OK I just found out that they are being sold on Amibay. Cool! Quite happy to wait for a Rev 1.1.

Last edited by sean_skroht; 28 August 2018 at 08:51.
sean_skroht is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1200 REV does it matter XsamX1987 support.Hardware 9 17 February 2017 07:10
Amiga 1200 PAL Motherboard rev 1D.4 amigo-mexicano MarketPlace 1 30 March 2014 23:27
Amiga 1200 Rev 1D.1 RGB problem arttu80 support.Hardware 9 17 February 2013 16:12
AMIGA 1200 rev. 1B upgrading wallmaker84 Hardware mods 23 30 April 2011 09:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08409 seconds with 14 queries