English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 August 2019, 00:12   #1
Spongehorn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 7
Very strange controller glitch

I have a Speedlink Competition Pro. Works great and fine.


Until I load FS-UAE. I load that up and I get the USB disconnect sound. Then under devices my lovely Speedlink Competition Pro is listed as "Game Controller for Android" and is unusable until I unplug and replug it in. Then it's listed under devices as the correct device. Then the second I try to map a button, the mapping fails and it goes back to being listed as Game Controller for Android".



Works without issue in WinUAE.


If anyone has any idea that'd be lovely as I love FS-UAE but this is very strange and renders it unusable.

Edit: MIGHT have solved it. Despite not being turned on Windows appears to be getting confused and thinking the Comp Pro is the Bluetooth controller I had configured (but not connected.) But again only when FS-UAE loads.

Second edit: Nope. Still doing it. Even with all the stuff removed from bluetooth.

Last edited by Spongehorn; 06 August 2019 at 00:00.
Spongehorn is offline  
Old 10 August 2019, 13:02   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,545
(TL;DR; It sounds like the joystick device is broken by design?)

I googled a bit around and found other users with the same problem (this time with Steam): https://steamcommunity.com/discussio...0549123317909/.

I'm not sure what happens. It sounds like (perhaps?) the firmware on the joystick tries to figure out "who" is trying to use it based on usage, and possibly reconfigures itself when it thinks an Android device is using it, for compatibility with Android? That's just a theory. If so, it could be a matter of "luck" whether an application's usage of the device triggers this (undocumented?) functionality in the device.

Anyway, I don't know if I can do anything about it. I'm simply using the SDL2 library to use joysticks, and apparently, this is not an FS-UAE-specific problem.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphical glitch SLC support.WinUAE 7 29 January 2018 23:55
glitch with interlace meynaf support.WinUAE 9 04 August 2017 12:01
Gfx glitch bodhi support.WinUAE 3 07 December 2012 17:47
Strange glitch on batman the movie(adf and whd) _ThEcRoW support.Games 2 07 September 2008 22:28
Unsual Case of Dr. Strange / Return of Doctor Strange killergorilla HOL contributions 1 12 July 2007 16:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05646 seconds with 15 queries