English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 June 2019, 16:48   #1
Amigos
Registered User

Amigos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: N/A
Posts: 4
Hooooo Lotus Trilogy CD32 (Lotus 1 flickering graphics issue after the first race)

Hello!

I'm experiencing a strange issue in Lotus 1 of Lotus Trilogy CD32 compilation. After the first race (during the others) some graphics start to flicker. Here is a GIF:



Any ideas how to fix this? Thank you in advance!

FS-UAE 2.8.3 @ Windows 7 x86-32 bit.
Amigos is offline  
Old 26 June 2019, 16:53   #2
Amigos
Registered User

Amigos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: N/A
Posts: 4
Also, I'm not the only one with such an issue. Here is a message from OpenRetro Game Database website:



But in my case changing the accuracy level did nothing.
Amigos is offline  
Old 26 June 2019, 16:59   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,894
Not that this is the solution... but as you have a Windows computer, have you tried in WinUAE to see if it also happens there?

Just select a CD32 Quickstart.
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 June 2019, 17:16   #4
Amigos
Registered User

Amigos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: N/A
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Not that this is the solution... but as you have a Windows computer, have you tried in WinUAE to see if it also happens there?

Just select a CD32 Quickstart.

Yep, the same issue


So, the problem is hidden deeper. I hope Frode is able to fix this, but sadly since FS-UAE 3.0.0 there will probably be only x86-64 bit versions, not for my old Windows...
Amigos is offline  
Old 26 June 2019, 19:26   #5
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,894
Ok, home now and have tested... I see what you mean by flickering

...but I've found a solution in WinUAE
  • Set a "Quickstart CD32".
  • Under "Chipset", untick any "Cycle-exact" options.
  • Under "CPU and FPU", untick "More compatible".
With WinUAE, in the configuration file, these are the lines that you would change to achieve the above:
  • cpu_compatible=true --> cpu_compatible=false
  • cpu_memory_cycle_exact=true --> cpu_memory_cycle_exact=false
  • blitter_cycle_exact=true --> blitter_cycle_exact=false
  • cycle_exact=memory --> cycle_exact=false
Now onto FS-UAE... to be honest I've never used it before.

I would hope there are similar options in the GUI that you can set / unset.

Also, I've never seen an FS-UAE configuration file. Maybe the lines are similar to the above so you can adjust accordingly.
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 June 2019, 22:31   #6
Amigos
Registered User

Amigos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: N/A
Posts: 4
DamienD, wow, you are great! Game works as it should in WinUAE! Thank you so much for this and for your time!

But, damn, I'm kinda stupid. I've tried to change the accuracy level in FS-UAE and load saved state with the game. I didn't know, that saving the state also saves some settings. I switched the accuracy level to low and started the game from the beginning, and you know what? Problem solved!

Sorry for this silly topic, I had a working solution and wasn't smart enough to try it correctly, ha-ha

Hope this topic will be helpful to someone else.
Amigos is offline  
Old 26 June 2019, 22:49   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,894
No problem; glad that you now have a solution in both emulators
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any working version of Lotus Trilogy on a real CD32? Lion support.Games 26 12 November 2018 16:16
lotus trilogy question for the coders turrican3 support.Games 13 13 June 2014 03:43
lotus trilogy cd32 turrican3 Games images which need to be WHDified 0 13 December 2013 23:58
Lotus Trilogy moffball71 support.Games 27 07 December 2013 05:17
WHDinstalling Lotus trilogy versions fisken uno support.Games 0 02 July 2003 00:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06606 seconds with 15 queries