English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 May 2019, 08:16   #1
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 61
Big grin A2000 KS1.3 6MB HD-Games/JST-Games

Hi there,

I have to admit that I am new to the Amiga. So I am not good at technical stuff yet. I do understand the basic features of the Machine and the basic commands of the OS. I would love to play some great Amiga-Games and watch some cool Demos/Intros/Slide-Shows and hear some good music on it.

Sometime ago I discovered that some Games back in the day had a HD-Installer and work from HD. Some cracking-groups also released standalone EXE-Files for some Games. I also bought WHD, but never used it on that machine (I also have an A2K with KS3.1), because it was KS2+. I never got into why I need KS 2+ in order to Reckick 1.3 to play the Games if I already have 1.3 in my machine. But that must be technical stuff I do not understand.

And then came JST in play. That's exactly what I wanted/needed.

The nostalgia-factor for me is all about using an amiga with KS 1.3.

So what is this thread about?

This thread should help me getting more games working from HD on my system. I have a compatibility matrix for JST in mind. I am testing right now, but I don't think I have done all to get the Games working.

Here is how I use my setup:
1. I am booting in Workbench 1.3.
2. Open a CLI and start NTP-Commander
3, Within NTP I create "start" files that contain: e.g.
"cd DH0:Games/Action/Xenon2"
"jst Xenon2.slave"
4. I do make "protect start +S"
5. Now I can start the Game within NTP by pressing Enter on the "start"-file.
6. The Quit-Function works flawless with this. (also changed to 68010 on that machine). I get back to NTP-Commander. Very handy!

If I do so, do I lose anything? I remember option in tooltype of *.info files. Are these options gone if I start via "start" batch-file?

I always thought using the latest JST Version is best, but using JST5 with PinballFantasies it does not start, using 14a it does start but freezes (Black screen) after choosing a table.

Doc

Code:
Here is my must-have hdd-working game-list:
A2000/6MB or A500/3MB (Backup-System)

1. Not working:
- Hybris (not starting)
- Apidya (quit to black screen)
- BodyBlows (not loading due to RAM issue)
- Pinball Fantasies (not loading due to RAM issue)
- PersionGulfInferno (slave not supported yet, but only tested with jst5)


2. Working / JST-Version
- Xenon2 (5)
- JimPower (5)
- IKplus (5)
- BodyblowsGalatic (5)
- PinballDreams1 (5)
- Speedball1 (5)
- Speedball2 (5)

Last edited by dr.zeissler; 06 May 2019 at 20:39.
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 04 May 2019, 10:11   #2
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 61
I will make a list what games are working. I do delete all in my opinion unnecessary files (mostly .info files) because I think they are not needed.

Any other people here that use JST on 1.3 setup?
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 04 May 2019, 11:46   #3
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 3,090
a lot of information is already here: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...03#post1318603

For whdload you have to rekick because whdload relies on OS 2.0 features.

JST was adapted to only require kickstart 1.3. Wasn't too difficult because it's not using any startup flash screens / requesters, only console. The rest is hardware-related not OS related.

JST was also adapted to run WHDLoad slave format, which gives access to a much better & wider selection of fixes (the JST native format is too clunky and not supported anymore)

What WHDload does very well and JST does not:

- MMU handling (not a problem for lowend machines)
- low memory / save to disk: works to an extend but with a lot of bugs & limitations. For instance, adventure games don't work too well with JST because of that despite of my efforts.

not rekicking allows to enjoy the full 6MB (else it wastes 512kb). JST is best used without LOWMEM/HDLOAD. Booting without startup ensures more memory available.

WHDLoad compatibility is very high on version 6.1 (not 5). Besides that, describe "doesn't work"
jotd is offline  
Old 05 May 2019, 20:07   #4
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 61
Thank you for creating and supporting JST. I am using JST 73868 bytes.

... see listing above

Last edited by dr.zeissler; 06 May 2019 at 20:37.
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 06 May 2019, 07:03   #5
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 61
Can you please provide the DL-Link for the latest version of JST. I am not sure if my version is up-to-date.
Thank you

EDIT:
Found it: http://jotd.pagesperso-orange.fr/amiga.html

Last edited by dr.zeissler; 06 May 2019 at 19:08.
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 06 May 2019, 20:27   #6
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 61
Here is my package of available JST versions I found.
I'll test the new versions 6.0/6.1 on my setup.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Bin.zip (362.4 KB, 19 views)
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 06 May 2019, 23:50   #7
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 61
OK JOTD, now I need your help.

How do I prevent the whdload.slaves searching for kickstart.rom on harddisk when I already have the suitable kickstart in Rom if I am using jst6x as you mentioned?

Do I have to edit the .slaves?

Thx
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 07 May 2019, 21:12   #8
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 3,090
ah you mean copy the kickstart from ROM to RAM to save HD loading time? Could be done. Never thought about that. Is that really worth it time-wise?

Note: it's not possible to use the original ROM in-place if that's you're thinking about as the ROM needs patching.
jotd is offline  
Old 07 May 2019, 22:03   #9
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 61
Hm, OK if I understand you correctly I should copy the correct ROM-File to the path where the slave searches for it. Which means rekicking 1.3 in RAM while patching but having 1.3 already in ROM. So additional 512KB were needed.

Now I understand how JST6x makes whd.slaves working. I formerly used v5 but I can'r find the old 1997/1999 HD-Slaves that will work with that. The newer ones produce lots of errors.

OK, I will look for my original CD for the ROM-Files. (I bought a Game-Collection which has the rights and the files).

Thx, I'll keep you up to date...

btw. requiring additional 512K does not really help for the games that have more than two disks...but we will see.
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 09 May 2019, 19:14   #10
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 61
It does work as you described. Do I only need the KS1.3 ROM,
or do I need additional files *.pat rom.key?
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 09 May 2019, 19:17   #11
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,308
Since it's similar to WHDLoad, besides the renamed ROMs you will also need the RTB files:

DamienD is offline  
Old 12 May 2019, 08:20   #12
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 61
JST61 seems to not like Flight-Sims. F16/F18 do produce gurus.
dr.zeissler is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JST hd games tomcat666 support.Games 6 20 July 2013 22:03
Trying to install JST games doesn't work Gaula92 support.Games 3 05 March 2013 01:41
Commodore Amiga WHDLoad JST Games May Update DeCreator Amiga scene 12 20 June 2004 00:38
Emule WHDload and JST Games DeCreator Amiga scene 7 03 January 2004 15:43
Where to find WHDload/JST games oldpx request.Old Rare Games 33 18 May 2002 19:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07686 seconds with 14 queries