English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 December 2019, 18:18   #3521
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,093
Ramlib errors are mostly due to stack issues. Stack stack does not fix the ramlib stack. There are ramlib patches available.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 07 December 2019, 20:37   #3522
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 31
Posts: 1,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
Ramlib errors are mostly due to stack issues. Stack stack does not fix the ramlib stack. There are ramlib patches available.
I've installed RAMLibPatch, now I do get, depending on the slot:
1) total freezing of the system
2) it keeps giving me the #80000004 error
3) the usual crash during PPC setup

Ouch
jbenam is offline  
Old 07 December 2019, 20:48   #3523
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgc210 View Post
When it starts to load. The green LED (CPU) flicks on and off.
The orange one (BDFL) stays on.
When it goes to the loading of the Graphics / InitPPC the green LED comes back on solid, orange stays on. Monitor turns on, but I only have a black screen coming out of the VooDoo.

When I get time I will change my screen prefs to use the Amiga Graphics to see if it actually gets into WorkBench. I will also try connecting up to the debug port on J1 when I get time. I'm busy building a 3D printer at the min.
I removed my Apocalypse and changed the screen mode to an Amiga one, put Apocalypse back in and still get a black screen.

I plugged my USB FT232RL in but I didn't get anything from the debug port. I have ordered a new FT232RL as I can't remember if I killed it or not on another project?
kgc210 is offline  
Old Yesterday, 01:29   #3524
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by k0x View Post
grelbfarlk -> what Fan do you use?
Evercool EC4007, a friend suggested these to me as they are very short and are 12V but not very loud.


Something else we have been doing with the Apocalypse is using electrical tape between the Ramix and the Apoc, so the only air that is sucked into the fan is from the back of the case over the heatsink.



Regarding the ramlib crashes, aside from actual ramlib or stack issues that sounds like general Mediator instability like CMSJ was having. In my experience this can be caused by the following:
  • Power issues
  • Running out of PCI space, make sure Winsize is set for 512MB
  • Swap jumper configuration
  • Poor connection between the Mediator bridge to the slots, or the busboard to the motherboard.
  • Electrically noisy 5V fans, a couple people have seen this including me
  • Poor seating of a PCI card, you run PCIINFO and see a card with corrupt entries or multiple corrupt entries like invalid PCI Vendor/Device information
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old Yesterday, 03:41   #3525
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgc210 View Post
I removed my Apocalypse and changed the screen mode to an Amiga one, put Apocalypse back in and still get a black screen.

I plugged my USB FT232RL in but I didn't get anything from the debug port. I have ordered a new FT232RL as I can't remember if I killed it or not on another project?
PPCBug will not boot if jumpers 11-12 are connected. If that jumper is off and you have a serial cable working it should boot at power on. I use it connected to the Amiga serial port and just run Term.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old Yesterday, 12:37   #3526
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 31
Posts: 1,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
  • Power issues
  • Running out of PCI space, make sure Winsize is set for 512MB
  • Swap jumper configuration
  • Poor connection between the Mediator bridge to the slots, or the busboard to the motherboard.
  • Electrically noisy 5V fans, a couple people have seen this including me
  • Poor seating of a PCI card, you run PCIINFO and see a card with corrupt entries or multiple corrupt entries like invalid PCI Vendor/Device information
Thank you very much for your reply.

While I do not have an oscilloscope, I do believe that having replaced every capacitor in sight, my power supply is clean enough.
Anyways, just to rule out any kinds of power issues, I have an ATX power supply slamming 3.3V directly in the M1. No changes.

The Sonnet Library alerts you if the WinSize jumper is open and it won't start, accordingly.

Same issues with Swap open or closed, sadly.

I've tested the M1 in every kind of combination possible, and I do get the same results almost every time. The Voodoo works fine in the same slots.

Removed the 5V fan I had, nothing changed.

PCIInfo reports everything correctly.

Anyways, on the suggestion of user JOE, I've contacted Elbox to check if my Mediator needs any Mach chips to be upgraded.

Last edited by jbenam; Yesterday at 12:45.
jbenam is offline  
Old Yesterday, 13:14   #3527
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 94
I would focus on the Mediator.

Few years ago Jack-3D was setting up Sonnetized 4000D's for us.

We had 3 identical machines with Sonnet 7200 and black Mediators. On one machine the Sonnet was failing. After several days of troubleshooting when we used identical sw installation and swapped all components like psu, mb, cpu card, Voodoos - simply everything, we found the brand new Mediator bushboard was the the cause of problem.

After furter investigation we found that 3 or 4 solder joints ware missing on the bushboard. When the bushboard was swapped with other one the machine started to work as expected.

Based on communication with Elbox the bushboard was returned to them for repair. After several weeks it arrived and machine works like a charme.
k0x is offline  
Old Yesterday, 19:05   #3528
ottifant011
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Herpf / Germany
Posts: 2
Hi,

I have a question about the Ragnarok card "PRPMC8150-1371" must there be something jumpered?
ottifant011 is offline  
Old Yesterday, 19:11   #3529
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,474
Not on Ragnarok
trixster is offline  
Old Yesterday, 19:11   #3530
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by ottifant011 View Post
Hi,

I have a question about the Ragnarok card "PRPMC8150-1371" must there be something jumpered?
No, there is no need for jumpers on this card.
k0x is offline  
Old Yesterday, 19:40   #3531
ottifant011
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Herpf / Germany
Posts: 2
Thank you for the fast answer .

is there hope that the original USB Spider card works?
if this card is inserted the system is unstable
ottifant011 is offline  
Old Yesterday, 21:31   #3532
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by ottifant011 View Post
Thank you for the fast answer .

is there hope that the original USB Spider card works?
if this card is inserted the system is unstable
I've only been able to make the Spider work if it's in the first, or lowest PCI slot, next to the bridge. With the Ragnarok/Voodoo it worked mostly ok. Though you might not want to load psdstackloader during boot.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old Yesterday, 22:04   #3533
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,474
I’m in agreement with grelbfarlk that the order of PCI cards is crucial for Apocalypse. Sonnet, K1, Ragnarok (and even Rapture) are never problematic for me regardless of positioning, but Apocalypse will only work in this order:

Top of machine (4000D with 4000Di)
4) Soundblaster
3) Graphics card
2) Apocalypse
1) NIC
0) Mediator logic board

This is with latest powerpc.library #431, latest pci.library and mmulibs for 060

Each individual machine may require its own specific order so mine might not work for someone else.
trixster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 03:48
Wanted:Sonnet Technologies QuadDoubler 50 (Doubler 4000) kronuz MarketPlace 0 16 June 2013 01:29
eBay : Sonnet Quaddoubler alexh MarketPlace 3 07 May 2013 01:50
Overlay problem on GeForce 7200 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 10 August 2010 16:50
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 11:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.25227 seconds with 15 queries