English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 20 July 2009, 04:14   #1
Baiame

Exile ECS in WinUAE- saving?

Hate to clog these forums with my invalidity, but I can't figure this out at all, and I've scoured the Internet. This is my first attempt at playing an Amiga game. And I really want it to succeed, cause it looks like one of the best games out there.

So I fiddled with the configuration enough to make Exile work in WinUAE 1.6, and it seems stable. But the I can't get the "Disk Save" option in Exile's save menu to do anything. Every guide I've consulted (none made for Exile in particular of course) indicates that you just need to get WinUAE to make an .adf then insert it. Easy enough, but no matter what Exile always says "YOU CAN NOT SAVE ONTO THE GAME DISK". What do I have to do? Thanks.

Old 20 July 2009, 04:40   #2
lilalurl
Global Moderator

Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Are you sure you correctly inserted the disk into DF0:?

I just tested this once I trigger the save dialog:, pressed F12, floppy drives section, created a standard disk, inserted it into DF0:, pressed OK to return to the game and I then get a "want to make this an exile disk (y/n)?" message.

It then takes a while to format it(check the floppy activity indicator) and a bit later I get the save slots screen.

Not sure if that is the case, but, if you still can't get it to work, you could give a try to the whdload version, in case it has a save to hard disk feature.
Old 20 July 2009, 08:22   #3
pmc
gone

@ Baiame - Persevere with Exile cos it's superb - one of the best Amiga games I ever played (and completed... )

Regarding saving - don't forget you could also use WinUAE savestates (under the miscellaneous tab on the left of the WinUAE properties page) to save your progress if you're having problems with using disk saving from within Exile itself.
Old 20 July 2009, 08:24   #4
TCD
HOL/FTP busy bee