English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Maptapper

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 September 2017, 16:40   #1
Brick Nash
Registered User

Brick Nash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 192
Trying to rip Double Dragon backgrounds

Hi all,

I quite fancy having a go at doing a port of Double Dragon. Just as a hobby and to try and improve my coding skills. The original Amiga game was a bit of a disaster, but I always thought the backgrounds were ok so I would like to use them but I can't seem to make it work in Maptapper.

I found a few sprites but nothing which resembles backgrounds and I can't get the palette right no matter what. I followed the tutorial videos but it's not working.

This isn't a request for the BGs, I'll happily do all the work, but I need a guidance on how to use Maptapper effectively as I'm sure I'm doing something wrong.

I took a save state of when I was on the first level of the game and am using that but I'm not sure if that's correct.

Any help would be great. Thanks!
Brick Nash is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 September 2017, 17:54   #2
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 586
1 - Rip the tiles.
2 - Lasso a chunk of tiles for map search.
3 - Plug results into map ripper tab then adjust height and position.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard.png
Views:	85
Size:	187.4 KB
ID:	54650  
clenched is offline  
Old 18 September 2017, 18:53   #3
Brick Nash
Registered User

Brick Nash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 192
Thanks for the reply.

Ok I got the tiles and saved them but when I search the image I save it keeps saying:

"Unmatched tiles, cannot continue"

The image is at the right scale, so I must be doing something else wrong.
Brick Nash is offline  
Old 18 September 2017, 19:14   #4
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 586
It worked first time for me. Anyway if you can't coax it to work there are already maps on HOL. Divide the picture width and height by 16 to tell what goes in the map ripper tab. The next maps will likely stay near the current address.
clenched is offline  
Old 18 September 2017, 19:32   #5
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,091
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Boys, i have the tiles with the correct colors from the arcade machine.

I'm sure it will help, but just remind that the arcade machine display 256 colors for the background and 128 colors for the possible sprites on screen.

As soon as i get my PC again online (it anormaly heats up and shut down), i'll post here the arcade tiles
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 18 September 2017, 19:50   #6
Brick Nash
Registered User

Brick Nash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 192
Oh cool, I didn't realise someone had already ripped the maps.

Are there versions without the HOL watermark though? All the files in the download zip have them embedded.
Brick Nash is offline  
Old 18 September 2017, 21:45   #7
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,091
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brick Nash View Post
Oh cool, I didn't realise someone had already ripped the maps.

Are there versions without the HOL watermark though? All the files in the download zip have them embedded.
It's the coin-op graphics, so there is no reason for them to have the HOL watermarking.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 19 September 2017, 14:53   #8
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,569
Gibs was working on an amigs double dragon update. But nothing had surfaced.
[ Show youtube player ]
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 19 September 2017, 22:01   #9
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,091
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
My PC is up and running again

So here are the double dragon arcade tiles full colors !
Attached Files
File Type: 7z GFX1_CHR_8x8.7z (14.2 KB, 18 views)
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 19 September 2017, 22:05   #10
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,091
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
the tile backgrounds now
Attached Files
File Type: 7z Level1_tiles.7z (64.3 KB, 28 views)
File Type: 7z Level2_tiles.7z (45.5 KB, 16 views)
File Type: 7z Level3_tiles.7z (73.0 KB, 15 views)
File Type: 7z Level4_tiles.7z (78.1 KB, 17 views)
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 25 September 2017, 10:25   #11
Brick Nash
Registered User

Brick Nash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 192
dlfsilver - Got them now mate. Thanks for that!

Ransom1122 - Yeah I came across those videos a while ago before I even thought about doing this port. I'm not sure if his project is still gong or if it ran out of steam, but hey, two different ports of the same game is better than one shitty one.
Brick Nash is offline  
Old 25 September 2017, 11:31   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
Gibs was working on an amigs double dragon update. But nothing had surfaced.
He canceled it. Maybe better. The current rights holder still produces new games (last was Double Dragon IV).
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 25 September 2017, 12:40   #13
Brick Nash
Registered User

Brick Nash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
He canceled it. Maybe better. The current rights holder still produces new games (last was Double Dragon IV).
I'm just doing this as a fan project so I don't plan, nor did I ever plan on ever attempting to make money from it. I'm throwing some extra things into my conversion like a few new moves so it will certainly be a custom job and not quite a direct copy of the arcade game.

There's almost literally thousands of unofficial OpenBOR Double Dragon games out there so I don't think whoever holds the rights to it will bother about a homebrew port on a 30 year old machine.
Brick Nash is offline  
Old 25 September 2017, 17:45   #14
OmegaMax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Calgary,ALberta,Canada
Posts: 18
dlfrsilver,that's awesome thanks for that.
OmegaMax is offline  
Old 25 September 2017, 20:41   #15
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,091
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by OmegaMax View Post
dlfrsilver,that's awesome thanks for that.
hehehe lol Well it took me 6 hours to process them
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 26 September 2017, 21:40   #16
Brick Nash
Registered User

Brick Nash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
hehehe lol Well it took me 6 hours to process them
I really appreciate it.

Did you say you had the sprites too? I can't find any sprite sheets for any of the baddies anywhere so that so that would be great if you have them.

Ripping sprites from MAME isn't my forte at all. It took me two hours to get two frames from Double Dragon II yesterday haha.
Brick Nash is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 11:36   #17
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
the tile backgrounds now
Great work. Do you use Turaco? Or do you rip them manually? Turaco is hard because you have to manually do the palette.
redblade is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 11:38   #18
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,091
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblade View Post
Great work. Do you use Turaco? Or do you rip them manually? Turaco is hard because you have to manually do the palette.
nope i use a special mame version + tiled
dlfrsilver is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rodland + Double Dragon 3 together? MethodGit Amiga scene 3 23 March 2016 19:04
Double Dragon ReArmed Konrad Retrogaming General Discussion 2 14 January 2015 12:50
Double Dragon 2 The Master project.WHDLoad 2 04 June 2006 19:20
Double Dragon 2 HD-Install Konrad support.Games 3 08 October 2002 23:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22479 seconds with 15 queries