English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 November 2007, 22:47   #1
hurtz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Marion, IA, USA
Posts: 25
P96 Screen and Sound Issues

I have these exact symptoms described in the FAQ section of WHDLoad's documentation:

Question: When run games they are running quicker than normal (Music sounds strange) and the bottom of the display is missing. I have tried both PAL & NTSC tooltypes but nothing helps. Answer: If you are using the Voodoo monitor driver, turn off the "FakeNativeModes" in the tooltypes of the monitor drive.
However setting FakeNativeModes to No does not resolve the problem for me.

My specs are:
A2000HD w/GVP 030/50, 16MB, 2MB Chip, Picasso II, P96, running ClassicWB ADV. 1GB hard drive.
hurtz is offline  
Old 06 November 2007, 23:34   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,867
AFAIK an A2000 can only be either NTSC or PAL, not both and no way to switch by software. So if you have a NTSC model and run a PAL game, it runs too fast (60 fps instead of 50) and the bottom is cut off (200 lines instead of 256).

The tooltypes probably only work on AGA machines (A1200 or A4000).
thomas is offline  
Old 06 November 2007, 23:52   #3
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
Any Amiga with an Enhanced Agnus can instantly switch from PAL to NTSC whenever it gets the urge.

All my A2000s and A500s can do it. How else would we Americans play all the thousands of PAL games in the Amigaverse? Easy we boot our Amigas into PAL.
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 06 November 2007, 23:57   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,867
In the A500 era most games were NTSC, even in Europe. In the real A500 era, A500s and A2000s didn't have ECS chips.
thomas is offline  
Old 07 November 2007, 00:13   #5
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 45
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
FakeNativeModes with mediator is really hacky feature
Chain is offline  
Old 07 November 2007, 22:36   #6
hurtz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Marion, IA, USA
Posts: 25
Ok, I figured it out. I set PAL in WHDLoad.prefs.

Is that recommended on a NTSC Amiga? I'm wondering if I'll run into a game that requires or acts screwy with that set globally.
hurtz is offline  
Old 09 November 2007, 17:55   #7
hurtz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Marion, IA, USA
Posts: 25
Everything I've tested works in this configuration, only problem is that the screen size is too small. The games don't fill the screen, theres lots of black space.

My A2000 has a 2320 connected to the Picasso II, then out to my NEC Multisync 3D.

Any ideas?
hurtz is offline  
Old 09 November 2007, 18:43   #8
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
Adjust your monitor using the little buttons and menus to stretch the screen to fill the glass.
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 09 November 2007, 19:51   #9
hurtz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Marion, IA, USA
Posts: 25
Right, thats the obvious solution. My concern was that since this is a NTSC Amiga and I'm forcing PAL in the WHDLoad.prefs and experiencing this if there was a software setting or driver that needed to be tweaked.
hurtz is offline  
Old 10 November 2007, 10:29   #10
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Yes, don't use fakenativemodes. And if you have a mediator set VoodooInt=No, because even if the current WHDLoad handles VoodooInt=Yes, i noticed after exiting a game via quitkey the mouse cursor did things on it's own. Open windows scrolling and WB icons activating itself (not launching though). After VoodooInt=No, no such things happened.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound issues? thermalthong support.Hardware 18 02 November 2012 19:14
Sound speed issues. Hemppo support.Other 2 28 March 2010 16:04
A1200 sound issues arnljot support.Hardware 5 06 February 2008 14:16
Even more sound timing issues... andreas support.WinUAE 11 30 November 2005 12:23
P96 Screen Grabber (Real Amiga) blackcornflake support.Apps 2 17 October 2002 16:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07439 seconds with 15 queries