English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 March 2010, 05:55   #61
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmos View Post
Oups... It's beta 5 for sure !
No the ID string says beta 3, but I found my code in your library now and will check it again.

Yes ok, the graphics.library contains indeed your version of ObtainBestPenA(). I didn't realize that it was patched over again by "ramlib" (I guess that's P96, in this case). After disabling this patch with Scout I could see your code in the functions disassembler listing.

So, just change the ID string and the revision number and we are all happy

Last edited by PeterK; 27 March 2010 at 06:30.
PeterK is offline  
Old 27 March 2010, 06:58   #62
mrodfr
Registered User
mrodfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 62-France
Age: 51
Posts: 413
Hello,

I haven't the graphics.library(OCS-ECS) actually (Please
someone post it to the zone - the no patched one) but is it usefull to think this OCS-ECS version is usefull to be used on an AGA machine or just wait for a real AGA version ????

On blizzkick, there are lots of modules (with ASM examples). For example the romfixes one patch some graphics problems.

Using Romfixes and this graphics.library together on blizzkick could give some problems ??? who will be the winner: romfixes or the graphics.library patched ???

This graphics library patched is planned for AGA machine ???


BTW, I think It's a verry good idea to put all improvements about graphics.library made by various programmers now on this original graphics.library ;-)
mrodfr is offline  
Old 27 March 2010, 07:25   #63
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
>just wait for a real AGA version ?

I checked again : Only R_GetColorMap is updated for AGA, but not 100% sure !

Please, someone who have the original source of this library : watch if another changes were made...


>On blizzkick, there are lots of modules (with ASM examples). For example the romfixes one patch some graphics problems

fix R_InitArea (Harry Sintonen) in the beta 3+


>This graphics library patched is planned for AGA machine ?

No. Only one graphics.library now : c'est déjà assez compliqué comme ça, mon cher mrodfr !
Cosmos is offline  
Old 27 March 2010, 07:32   #64
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,657
@mrodfr

Patches are supplied over here, so that you use your own roms. You can have your own, by getting an A500/A2000/A600/A3000 kickstart 3.1 rom image, or by buying Amiga Forever, or googling , but that last one would be ilegal. And then finally using romsplit to extract that graphics.library from that image

Romfixes shouldnt give you no problems if you are using this special library. Romfixes will try to find if it can apply one of its many patches, one by one, and if it cant, it will exit without trouble.

They are not competing. Romfixes is a general bugfix and optimization for nearly all kickstart modules. This library is an impressive bugfix, optimization and enhancement that applies to only one kickstart module (graphics.library).

And Cosmos should answer you the question of availability for AGA...

PS: Ups! Well, Cosmos posted it while I was writing

Last edited by gulliver; 27 March 2010 at 07:39.
gulliver is offline  
Old 27 March 2010, 07:33   #65
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 40
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrodfr View Post
but is it usefull to think this OCS-ECS version is usefull to be used on an AGA machine or just wait for a real AGA version ????
I think his point is that the AGA version was not very different from the ECS one from the beginning, so there is no need for seperate AGA/ECS versions, ONE VERSION TO FIND THEM, ONE VERSION TO RULE THEM ALL ! (and in the ROMness bind them)
coze is offline  
Old 27 March 2010, 07:33   #66
mrodfr
Registered User
mrodfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 62-France
Age: 51
Posts: 413
Hello,

OK. I'm just waiting for an AGA version (c'est sur que cela doit etre bougrement compliqué).

Thanks for your work, waiting impatiently for an AGA version.... (j'ai tout mon temps mais j'aime bien tester et voir les ameliorations ;-)


romfixes:

Just in case, because romfixes make more than 10 fixes and a few of them around graphics library. (It's not one blizzkick module for only one patch, as usually on blizzkick).


; romfixes patch for BlizKick ("patch" Module)
; ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
;
; This patch fixes some bugs in current rom versions (including V40!)
;
; - console.device window resize bug (ever wondered why KingCON shell
; having review buffer and menus enabled crashes on window resize?-)
; (idea from Thor's util/boot/ConsoleFix.lha)
; - increase ram disk stack size (idea from Thor's util/boot/PatchRAM.lha)
; - increase ramlib stack size from 2k to 8k
; - make ramlib msgport use sigbit SIGBREAKB_CTRL_E instead of SIGB_SINGLE
; (idea from Eddy Carroll's SnoopDos source code)
; - shell Resident command bug, see CyberGuard.notes / 1.11beta3
; - fix harmless "bug" from exec/Alert() -call. It does 'tst.l (IDNestCnt,a6)'
; when it should do 'tst.b (IDNestCnt,a6)'.
; - graphics/WriteChunkyPixels() bugfix, the function trashed a2/a6 with
; Akiko chip.
; - fix graphics/WritePixelArray8() and graphics/WritePixelLine8() source
; trashing bug.
; - fix exec/ReleaseSemaphore() problem with simultanous pending Procure()
; and ObtainSemaphore().
; - fix 68000/68010 utility/UMult64() swapped d0 and d1 result registers.
; (also fixes utility/SMult64())
; - fix A4000/A4000T IDE scsi.device initroutine peeking random memory.
; - fix graphics/InitArea() bug, AreaEllipse() crashed if buffer wasn't
; explicitly zeroed & maxvectors was limited to 8191.
;
; Written by Harry "Piru" Sintonen.
; This source code is Public Domain.
mrodfr is offline  
Old 27 March 2010, 07:49   #67
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
I think his point is that the AGA version was not very different from the ECS one from the beginning, so there is no need for seperate AGA/ECS versions, ONE VERSION TO FIND THEM, ONE VERSION TO RULE THEM ALL ! (and in the ROMness bind them)
Yes, I agree, it sounds reasonable, and easier to mantain.

@Cosmos
Why dont you release this new graphics.library (the OCS- ECS version) and you add it the R_GetColorMap for AGA? So that we test it and tell you if it works okay, and then it will finish this non AGA issue. If some errors occur, it means that it was more than R_GetColorMap updated for AGA, if not, we already have a unified working graphics.library for all native chipsets. What do you think?
gulliver is offline  
Old 27 March 2010, 08:06   #68
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
Since the beta 3, the graphics.library 40.25 detect if AGA/CD32 is running : so R_GetColorMap_AGA is called !

If no AGA, it's R_GetColorMap_OCS !

Last edited by Cosmos; 27 March 2010 at 08:15.
Cosmos is offline  
Old 27 March 2010, 08:34   #69
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,657


Okay then i will stop using this Amiga 2000 and move testing with my beloved A1200!
Thanks for clarifying that for me!
gulliver is offline  
Old 27 March 2010, 10:49   #70
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 947
@cosmos:
then i ve got it wrong. i dont miss fblit, in fact never used it, i thought your lib doesnt work with aga @ all.
cannot test it yet myself.
wawa is offline  
Old 27 March 2010, 21:47   #71
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
first, very impressive project, Cosmos.
second: maybe i dont understand the rtg-feature, how its meant, but is it planed to have some kind of promoting feature for non rtg applications, while talking about cgx-support?
for example: there are some rtg patches for lightwave on aminet:
- http://aminet.net/package/gfx/3d/lightwave_rtg_patch
- http://aminet.net/search?query=LW4UP

is it possible to have such patches included - kind of generic redirect-to-rtg patch?
hit is offline  
Old 28 March 2010, 16:31   #72
dannyp1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 159
I was wondering why Cosmo was using gpatch rather than spatch? Spatch had become kind of universal for OS3.9 patches. Does gpatch have a gui like spatch does?
dannyp1 is offline  
Old 28 March 2010, 16:38   #73
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
How to make a patch with spatch ?
Cosmos is offline  
Old 28 March 2010, 18:50   #74
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,657
@Cosmos
You need to use scompare to generate a proper patchfile (.pch) to use with spatch.
You can get both programs, together with a simple MUI GUI to use them over here http://aminet.net/util/misc/patchgui.lha

Of course, if the GUI doesnt suit you, you can still use scompare and spatch from the CLI
gulliver is offline  
Old 31 March 2010, 04:57   #75
dannyp1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 159
I'm having trouble getting the gpatch to patch. I keep getting that there is an error with the graphics.lib_40.24(OCS-ECS). I got this file from my A3000 3.1 rom. Does that make a difference as the instructions call for a file from an A500 or A2000 rom? Help!!!
dannyp1 is offline  
Old 31 March 2010, 06:08   #76
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,657
Dan, it worked for me, I used the A500/2000 library though.

Check your email!
gulliver is offline  
Old 02 April 2010, 20:01   #77
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
How to detect if a BVision in connected to an Amiga 1200 ?

This gfx card have no Autoconfig ID !


Cosmos is offline  
Old 02 April 2010, 20:48   #78
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,657
@Cosmos

First detect what you can: a BVision requires a BlizzardPPC, so begin checking that there is actually that autoconfig ID. Then you should snoop into the video ram space of the Bvision, write a string somewhere in that video ram, and then read it back, and compare it with the original. If it is okay, then there is a Bvision.
This of course, depends on the allocation scheme that the BlizzardPPC uses to map the video memory of the BlizzardVision.

Anyway, better than guessing is to take a peek at the linux distribution that supports the Bvision, and see its sourcecode.

PS: By the way, have you taken a look to the NitrOS sourcecode? What do you think?
gulliver is offline  
Old 02 April 2010, 21:42   #79
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
>First detect what you can: a BVision requires a BlizzardPPC, so begin checking that there is actually that autoconfig ID. Then you should snoop
>into the video ram space of the Bvision, write a string somewhere in that video ram, and then read it back, and compare it with the original. If it is okay, then there is a Bvision

I need to know if connected before CyberGraphX loaded...


>have you taken a look to the NitrOS sourcecode? What do you think?

Your assembled sources will works only if you put correct the jmp table !
(jmptable dc.w $ffff/dc.w R_Functions_1-jmptable/dc.w R_Functions_2-jmptable...)
Cosmos is offline  
Old 02 April 2010, 22:19   #80
dannyp1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 159
Why is time being spent on CGX when AmigaOS 4.0 uses P96 I believe? Isn't this just dividing the community and making your wonderful Library so that many people won't want it?
dannyp1 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PUAE 2.5.1 beta series GnoStiC support.OtherUAE 3 07 February 2016 20:09
WinUAE 2.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 21 19 June 2013 11:54
PUAE 2.3.3 beta series GnoStiC support.OtherUAE 95 05 January 2012 19:18
dos.library v40.4 beta series Cosmos Coders. General 85 19 July 2011 01:49
WinUAE 2.3.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 90 23 February 2011 21:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09296 seconds with 14 queries