English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 February 2008, 23:37   #1
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
WinUAE 1.5.0 beta series

Read the sticky above this one before replying as usual.

Note that some big changes will be implemented in future betas. I only released this before change log and number of bugs gets too big

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_1500b1.zip

Beta 1:

- MSVC 2008 compiled. Does not run on Windows 98/ME anymore.
- debugger sprite dump command added (sp <addr> [<addr2>] [<size])
- A3000 2.04 revision number fixed. It really is 37.175.
- DOS HD floppy image crash fixed
- PCMCIA SRAM card emulation. SCRAM "HD controller" in harddrive panel (other HD parameters are ignored) Hot-swapping supported. Note 1: Amiga PCMCIA slot supports max 4M of directly addressable RAM and you can't have more than 4M of (non-32bit) fast RAM at the same time. Note 2: real PCMCIA SRAM card in PCMCIA/CardBus slot is not supported yet. I need SRAM card to implement it (or good documentation)
- rom scanner odd/even split and byteswapped rom support. Does not include: AR2/3/1200 ROMs (no real rom dumps available), Arcadia ROMs (not worth the trouble) or "non-rom roms" like Cloanto ROMs.
- rom scanner data in registry changed, added human-readable names NOTE: You need to manually rescan roms if you need to use 1.4.6 or older WinUAE versions
- EXTB.L was 68000+ when it should have been 68020+ (bug since the beginning and more)
- Gayle interrupt handling rewritten to match preliminary datasheet. This solved remaining PCMCIA problems. This can also fix possible problems with IDE emulation with specific device driver versions
- uaenet.device NSCMD_DEVICEQUERY fixed (didn't work and/or corrupted memory) S2_ADDMULTICASTADDRESSES and S2_DELMULTICASTADDRESSES had wrong command number
- uaenet.device random deadlock fixed
- really ugly uaenet.device interrupt handler setup replaced with proper exec.library AddIntServer() call
- added NSCMD_DEVICEQUERY to uaeserial.device
- added some sanity checks to emulated devices' open function
- Quickstart boot disk check does not complain anymore if track zero has errors but sectors 0 and 1 are ok
- multithreaded avioutput (finally). Video/audio encoding now runs in separate thread, MUCH faster encoding on 2+ core CPUs. Note: null filter recommended (or any other 2d filter), non-filter mode requires reads from display RAM which is very slow
- GUI debugger improvements (Karsten Bock)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 11 July 2008 at 16:34.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 February 2008, 18:55   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_1500b2.zip

Beta 2:

- experimental Picasso96 speedup code. Default enabled, temporary option added to RAM-panel (stored to registry, not config file) May be slower on older PCs, I get up to 8x speedup in P96Speed benchmark (both desktop and laptop) Post your results here. Including PC specs, "old" and "new" P96Speed or other test results.
- harddrive detection now also includes more devices, even CDROMs.. (perhaps this allows PCMCIA SRAM direct access)
- Weird Dreams sound problem (hospital scene when game is starting)
- GUI debugger patch I forgot to merge

(Too quiet.. should I even bother with these anymore?)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 February 2008, 18:59   #3
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,224
Looks like you need another temp link for this beta.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 20 February 2008, 19:02   #4
sink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: france
Age: 47
Posts: 187
it's me or i can't download the 2 betas

and u course like usual , u rox toni toni
sink is offline  
Old 20 February 2008, 19:06   #5
thor
Registered User
thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Looks like you need another temp link for this beta.
Shouldn't take long according to this post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
(Too quiet.. should I even bother with these anymore?)
Most definitely. Sorry that I can't test anything besides GUI debugger currently, but thanks for merging and the betas
thor is offline  
Old 20 February 2008, 19:22   #6
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
(Too quiet.. should I even bother with these anymore?)
I tried to download it yesterday, and today....

Code:
Service Temporarily Unavailable

 The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to maintenance downtime or capacity problems. Please try again later.


No joy....
Ian is offline  
Old 20 February 2008, 19:55   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
Temporary attachment added to first post.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 February 2008, 21:54   #8
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 46
Posts: 2,442
Danke!
Anubis is offline  
Old 20 February 2008, 22:11   #9
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,334
i tested amikit with 1.5b2, it works very well.
Thank you toni great work
turrican3 is offline  
Old 20 February 2008, 22:23   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican3 View Post
i tested amikit with 1.5b2, it works very well.
Thank you toni great work
Can you post old and new mode p96speed (available in aminet) results?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 February 2008, 23:14   #11
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,224
My PC:

Windows XP/SP2
CPU: AMD Sempron 2800
Ram: 1GB DDR
Graphics adapter: GeForce 6600
Attached Files
File Type: txt P96Speed-old.txt (1.8 KB, 449 views)
File Type: txt P96Speed-new.txt (1.8 KB, 417 views)
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 20 February 2008, 23:40   #12
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,141
Don't know why mine says 7mhz, but f it.

Athlon x64 3500+
2 gb DDR
Windows Vista Ultimate x64
ATI x1950 xt

Considerable gains. Only tested with a standard Amigasys install/config.

Erm, whoops.

Tested in the new version and didn't notice the option for old, the new one is using the P96-OLD setting, odd that it is far faster across the board though, any chance you have linked the new setting to the old option?

Old = Last offical release
New = Beta 2 old setting
Proper-new = Beta 2 new setting

Proper-new and old roughly even, new far better.
Attached Files
File Type: txt old-P96Speed.txt (1.8 KB, 339 views)
File Type: txt new-P96Speed.txt (1.8 KB, 327 views)
File Type: txt proper-new-P96Speed.txt (1.8 KB, 338 views)

Last edited by Ian; 21 February 2008 at 00:09.
Ian is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 00:01   #13
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,334
xp sp2
amd athlon 64 3800 +
geforce 7800 gs 256 mb agp
Attached Files
File Type: txt P96Speedwinuae1.4.6.txt (1.8 KB, 318 views)
File Type: txt P96Speedwinuae1.5b2.txt (1.8 KB, 313 views)
File Type: txt P96Speedwinuae1.5b2newp96.txt (1.8 KB, 315 views)

Last edited by turrican3; 21 February 2008 at 00:11.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 11:15   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
Anyone with dual core? (amd or intel). These don't really match my results. I get huge increases (except in few tests)

Not that dual core shouldn't have any effect but perhaps GetWriteWatch() win32-function works faster with dual cores..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 13:11   #15
BenniP
?

BenniP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnenden / Germany
Age: 33
Posts: 91
AMD 64 4000+
2GB DDR
Radeon X1600 512MB
XP SP2

No real difference between my results. (As far as I see )
Attached Files
File Type: txt P96Speed_alt.txt (1.8 KB, 311 views)
File Type: txt P96Speed_neu.txt (1.8 KB, 328 views)
BenniP is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 17:10   #16
_Steve_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Anyone with dual core? (amd or intel). These don't really match my results. I get huge increases (except in few tests)

Not that dual core shouldn't have any effect but perhaps GetWriteWatch() win32-function works faster with dual cores..

I am attaching my results, that do show approximately a 7 times increase in some operations:

Intel E6700
NVidia 8800GTX (forceware 158.22 - downgraded after 16x.xx gave me issues)
Windows XP (32Bit) SP2
2GB DDR2 (PC-6400)
Attached Files
File Type: txt P96Speed-1460.txt (1.8 KB, 322 views)
File Type: txt P96Speed-1500b2.txt (1.8 KB, 334 views)
_Steve_ is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 18:36   #17
Ed Cruse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Cruces, USA
Age: 65
Posts: 351
I tried B2 and I'm getting some pretty strange things happening with the P96-New on.

The first picture in the attachment shows how things come up initially. A full normal looking WB screen comes up first, then within maybe half a second a half width WB screen opens on the full WB screen with funny colors. The mouse stays inside the half width WB screen.

If I do F12 and hit OK or Cancel the WB screen looks normal again. The second pictures shows what happens as I move the mouse up and down. If I move the mouse all the way up and down it rebuilds the half width WB screen. I only moved the mouse up and down a little bit to make it easier to see the difference.

I never got past this part to check the speed.

I have a new computer, 2Ghz, AMD Athlon 64X2 dual core, XP SP2
Attached Files
File Type: zip P96.zip (13.2 KB, 335 views)
Ed Cruse is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 19:14   #18
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,334
I did the test once again and this time the new p96 leads.
What change ? i overclocked my gfx board, i disabled some windows services and this time no other applications was launched before the test.
I don't know if it will help, perhaps more you have free power more the results are good.
I don't know ?
Attached Files
File Type: txt P96Speedwinuae1.4.6b.txt (1.8 KB, 306 views)
File Type: txt P96Speedwinuae1.5b2oldp96b.txt (1.8 KB, 284 views)
File Type: txt P96Speedwinuae1.5b2newp96b.txt (1.8 KB, 284 views)
turrican3 is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 22:41   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Cruse View Post
I tried B2 and I'm getting some pretty strange things happening with the P96-New on.

The first picture in the attachment shows how things come up initially. A full normal looking WB screen comes up first, then within maybe half a second a half width WB screen opens on the full WB screen with funny colors. The mouse stays inside the half width WB screen.
Must be some utility/application/patch that does this.. Can't really help without more information. (I have tested with my own basic OS installation and AmiKit and both work fine)

Do you have 32-bit display? (16-bit may not work correctly yet) Does same happen if you switch resolution?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 22:52   #20
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 46
Posts: 2,442
turrican3,

what did you set your CPU Emulation Speed? (how did you get 28MHz and other times only 7MHz)

I don't have AmiKit, so no test.
Anubis is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 69 22 December 2012 11:22
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 16:48
WinUAE 2.3.2 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 79 31 May 2011 20:39
WinUAE 2.3.0 beta series (was 2.2.1) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 229 22 September 2010 20:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12141 seconds with 14 queries