English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 February 2018, 00:50   #1
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,477
Setting up a GoldenGate 486SLC

Hi,

I'm trying to get my 486SLC up and running in my A3000. I've installed the board, a trident vga card and the monitor master and all works ok. With cpu nocache I can get the board to boot ok. But I'm now struggling to get ms-dos 6.22 going on the on-board floppy. I've copied the 6.22 boot disk to a 1.44mb floppy using a pc but the GG just states 'Not a system disk' or something similar when trying to access FD1. I'm not sure if the pc floppy is working correctly because pin 5 on the floppy controller is missing!

It'd be simpler getting a set of ms-dos and win3.11 720k disks so I could just use the 3000's internal floppy.... so does anyone have ms-dos 6.22 on floppy and wouldn't mind uploading them as img files to the zone!?
trixster is offline  
Old 01 February 2018, 01:03   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
MS-DOS 6.x is distributed on 1.44M disks too. You'll be better of using MS-DOS 5.0.
prowler is offline  
Old 01 February 2018, 04:48   #3
A4000Bear
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Taradale / Australia
Posts: 58
In order to make an MS-DOS floppy bootable, you need to copy some system files to it.
This is normally done during formatting by adding /S to your format command.

Format A: /S

Incidentally most A3000s have HD floppy drives, so 1.44 MB disks should be fine.
A4000Bear is offline  
Old 01 February 2018, 09:46   #4
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,477
You learn something new every day! I absolutely did not know that, thanks!

So my 3000 has a hd floppy. That makes things much easier. I've setup an msdos boot disk and all works great!

Last edited by trixster; 01 February 2018 at 10:41.
trixster is offline  
Old 01 February 2018, 18:25   #5
Magic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 274
You can also use the SYS command like SYS A: if you have already formatted the disk.
Magic is offline  
Old 01 February 2018, 22:00   #6
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,477
Just to tie up a loose end, even with pin 5 of the floppy drive connector missing the pc floppy drive still works ok now I've set it up correctly. I think pin 5 is just one of many GND lines, not a control line, so all seems ok
trixster is offline  
Old 02 February 2018, 01:25   #7
r.cade
Registered User
r.cade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 368
Send a message via AIM to r.cade Send a message via MSN to r.cade Send a message via Yahoo to r.cade
I don't know about that particular pin, but a lot of times they are missing on purpose, as a "key" for the cable to be aligned properly.
r.cade is offline  
Old 02 February 2018, 18:15   #8
BrooksterMax
Registered User
BrooksterMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norfolk UK
Age: 39
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by r.cade View Post
I don't know about that particular pin, but a lot of times they are missing on purpose, as a "key" for the cable to be aligned properly.

Yes I don’t know the Goldengate board (would love one!) but my A2088XT and A2286AT boards both have a pin missing for the floppy drive. Not near them at the moment so can’t confirm which pin.
BrooksterMax is offline  
Old 02 February 2018, 18:47   #9
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,477
DOS 6.22 successfully installed on a hardfile, just waiting for the 512mb DOM to arrive now!
trixster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GoldenGate 486slc krakonos support.Hardware 4 11 June 2018 11:37
Windows 95 and the GoldenGate 486SLC Tryphon support.Hardware 13 27 August 2012 16:46
Goldengate 486SLC and GVP 040 Combo problem AmiNost support.Hardware 17 23 October 2007 13:06
GoldenGate 486SLC and OS3.9 keropi support.Apps 17 10 October 2007 20:43
Just got a Vortex GoldenGate 486SLC, plan to play some DOS games... keropi Retrogaming General Discussion 16 06 December 2006 21:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06976 seconds with 13 queries