English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 February 2010, 20:38   #1
Paul_s
Stuck in 1985

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 36
Posts: 2,902
Big grin One reason why I love the A1000 + clean up thread inside

Because the RAM expansions are massive! Check this out...

Escort 2 chassis... http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/escort2



Ooooh, what's this?



But, where's the RAM board I here you cry?

http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/escortram



This is fully loaded with 2MB - 64 x 256k

Now, I need to clean her up
Paul_s is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 04 February 2010, 22:10   #2
squidbass
Registered User
squidbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southport The Last Resort
Posts: 158
That really is a thing of sheer beauty!
squidbass is offline  
Old 04 February 2010, 22:20   #3
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
  • optional ST506 controller card - Escort 2HD
  • the 5.25" hard disk is mounted in an external case of the same size as the Escort 2 chassis


That would make a massive expansion!

So and the second slot is for what, another 2mb Escort RAM expansion, totaling 4MB?
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 04 February 2010, 22:43   #4
Paul_s
Stuck in 1985

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 36
Posts: 2,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by xpect View Post


That would make a massive expansion!

So and the second slot is for what, another 2mb Escort RAM expansion, totaling 4MB?
Yeah, you can have another one of the boards inside for 4MB! I very much doubt I'll find another though The 2HD is probably even more scarce

In 1987 this thing cost $lots with one card - not sure if that's fully populated or not

When attached to my 1000 it towers over it... like two stacked on top of one another! It's crazy

I had to beg an eBay US seller to let me have this as he wouldn't ship to Europe originally.... I fell in love soon as I saw it. The board is made like a tank!

Last edited by Paul_s; 07 October 2010 at 23:40.
Paul_s is offline  
Old 04 February 2010, 23:47   #5
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
When attached to my 1000 it towers over it... like two stacked on top of one another! It's crazy
When you have time to take a picture of it assembled would be nice, it is really an impressive expansion because of it's size!
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 00:46   #6
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 48
Posts: 3,478
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
I think with this beast hooked the A1000 will become tower: it will turn on the right side due the weight of that beastie.

Last edited by rkauer; 05 February 2010 at 00:58.
rkauer is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 01:35   #7
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 3,552
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
looks great paul, cant wait for more pics of your A1000
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 08:14   #8
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 33
Posts: 4,331
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Ah, the good old Zorro I form factor, that didn't really see much success. ;-)

Anyone hazard a guess why the Braunschweig guys changed the form factor when they designed Zorro II?

Last edited by Jope; 05 February 2010 at 08:19.
Jope is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 09:36   #9
Paul_s
Stuck in 1985

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 36
Posts: 2,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Ah, the good old Zorro I form factor, that didn't really see much success. ;-)

Anyone hazard a guess why the Braunschweig guys changed the form factor when they designed Zorro II?
Zorro I is the bestest
Paul_s is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 15:37   #10
chiark
Needs a life
chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,569
That, my son, is a thing of great wonder and beauty! Lovely :love:
chiark is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 20:46   #11
Paul_s
Stuck in 1985

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 36
Posts: 2,902
OK, first job of the evening was to remove the broken guide rail and old glue...

Removed the broken rail then soaked the glue pad in Autoglym Intensive tar remover and came off pretty easily after that

Washed the Zorro slot PCB which is now drying (I'm leaving the ram board alone as it is not dirty!)





Now to tackle the rust!
Paul_s is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 21:51   #12
Paul_s
Stuck in 1985

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 36
Posts: 2,902
Happy

Old guide hot glued in place along with LED.

Also put another support ont he opposite end






HOW REDICULOUS?!

Paul_s is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 21:56   #13
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
HOW REDICULOUS?!
Honestly, it looks like a binder.

So, not too much embarrassing i think.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 21:58   #14
Paul_s
Stuck in 1985

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 36
Posts: 2,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by xpect View Post
Honestly, it looks like a binder.

So, not too much embarrassing i think.
It's like one of the Western Digital My Books!
Paul_s is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 23:12   #15
8bitbubsy
ProTracker Nerd

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Age: 24
Posts: 1,141
Send a message via MSN to 8bitbubsy
You're the cleaning master!
Do you clean Amigas for some bucks?
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 23:38   #16
bigfoot catnap
a1200 68030 3.9 amysys
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ellesmere port/uk
Posts: 33
aha i get it ! is it the same size as an a4 paper flie storage box?

as in file storage electiclaly in memory an a4 format u know so
the older office staff can understand what it does in them days
people only seen computers in sci fi horror films

is it a4 then ?
bigfoot catnap is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 23:42   #17
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478


I can't believe...that huge expansion for 2mb only ???
this is the biggest scam related to computers' hardware
Fabie is offline  
Old 06 February 2010, 00:12   #18
Paul_s
Stuck in 1985

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 36
Posts: 2,902
you can put another identical card in for 4MB, still too big!
Paul_s is offline  
Old 06 February 2010, 04:24   #19
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
64 chips in total...only 32kb per chip..
Fabie is offline  
Old 06 February 2010, 16:38   #20
Paul_s
Stuck in 1985

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 36
Posts: 2,902
Sysinfo v3.24 has my 1000 down as fast as a B2000 now faster than a stock A600 anyway... true fastRAM rocks

Weird thing is Sysinfo says the board is Zorro II!

It's nice how my 1000 still works - it's in the 24th year now!
Paul_s is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voltage drop down, what could be the reason? Sim085 support.Hardware 7 03 August 2013 23:38
Any reason why this wont work with my Deneb? RMK support.Hardware 4 20 October 2011 23:28
No Love Greater than the Love of Moto Zetr0 Hardware pics 15 05 October 2007 18:42
Frederic's Emulator inside and Emulator thread Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 22 09 March 2006 07:31
The reason why gaming is in the mess its in :( Dastardly Retrogaming General Discussion 41 02 July 2003 12:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37911 seconds with 12 queries