English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 June 2007, 22:59   #1
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
System is not validated! FFS (and I dont mean fast file system!)

I was happily unarchiving lots of WHDs and noticed I had tried to unarchive the massive thing that is the CD32 version of beneath a steel sky.

Cancelled this and the system reset. The system then reloaded absolutely fine so I thought I would try and delete it unfortunately I get the system is not validated error.

It's now taking up 99% of my hard drive for some reason.

Anyone have any idea how to fix it - I'm using a proper amiga running ClassicWB Full - ideally like to fix it without downloading everything as I have to take the amiga apart then (no network yet or CF reader).



M.

Edit. Its running Workbench 3.1 I have a OS 3.9 CD here which may have tools on?
Macca is offline  
Old 09 June 2007, 23:03   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,826
Well.. What filesystem, how big is the partition, does it cross the 4GB boundary?
Jope is offline  
Old 09 June 2007, 23:44   #3
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,270
There's an option in DiskSalv to validate a volume.

I would also suggest to anyone using FFS to add TurboVal http://aminet.net/package/disk/cache/TurboVal to their startup to speed up validating

You should also try http://aminet.net/disk/salv/DiskSafe.readme to prevent reset by error
Frog is offline  
Old 10 June 2007, 00:23   #4
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 38
Posts: 657
When this happeeened on my real amiga i would just wait for the hd light to go out (it lasted ages and ages) and then the drive would be validated again.
TikTok is offline  
Old 10 June 2007, 01:08   #5
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 1,591
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
in the case of turboval, it should be noted that the os35/39 setpatch also pauses the startup if their is a validation error to allow it to complete quickly. if you have to setup again, FFS setup the os35/39 way is also very fast and stable. Latest ffs, 80 buffers minimum at a 1024 blocksize.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 10 June 2007, 01:53   #6
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,270
Thanks for the info Mad-Matt, didn't know that OS3.5+ setpatch include the same system as TurboVal.
Frog is offline  
Old 11 June 2007, 11:46   #7
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Use SFS and all this validation malarkey dissappears....
killergorilla is offline  
Old 11 June 2007, 12:29   #8
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,525
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
as KG said, or use PFS .)
Chain is offline  
Old 11 June 2007, 12:47   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,826
One vote to PFS3 here. :-)

It even supports +4GB drives without scsi.device patches.. ;-)
Jope is offline  
Old 11 June 2007, 12:51   #10
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 1,591
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
yes the validations problems dissapear with pfs/sfs, but so does everything else
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 11 June 2007, 12:52   #11
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Well you can back it all up first
killergorilla is offline  
Old 11 June 2007, 13:04   #12
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,826
No data lost since 1998 when I discovered PFS3. Don't screw up. :-D
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Professional File System 3 Hewitson request.Apps 16 09 June 2015 21:05
How to tell what file system I'm using? RMK support.Hardware 5 05 July 2011 19:55
Is WHDLoad even worth it on a system with No Fast Ram? Claw22000 project.ClassicWB 8 05 April 2011 13:31
smart file system wilch support.WinUAE 5 07 March 2011 09:55
How do I know what File System my HD has? Akira support.Apps 9 17 February 2009 08:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08466 seconds with 13 queries