English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 November 2012, 14:55   #1
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,629
WinUAE for Windows RT...?

Would it be possible to compile WinUAE for Windows RT - eg the Surface? I realise the optimisation for the JIT engine will not work for the ARM chip, however could something be achieved here?
chiark is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 November 2012, 08:29   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,167
No, I am not interested even trying.

It would practically become a new port with very different internals and GUI and everything (RT != Win32). And it is closed system, no thanks.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 November 2012, 11:43   #3
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,629
Ah, I thought there might be just about enough of the API to make it work, but thinking on how much WinUAE gets into the system then that makes sense. Damn.
chiark is offline  
Old 28 November 2012, 19:15   #4
quarkx
Our prices are Insane!
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 465
Just remember RT is the "New" name for Windows CE
quarkx is offline  
Old 28 November 2012, 19:16   #5
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,629
Well, no, it isn't.
I could elaborate, but that's already been done to death on the net
chiark is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 09:43   #6
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
Frode was also asked about a Windows RT build of FS-UAE. The problem with that direction is that the Windows RT SDK does not support either OpenGL or SDL (it requires Direct3D11), so again it would require pretty much a whole different fork.

The same issues would be presented if using PUAE as a base. It would need a whole new GUI, graphical frontend using Direct3D11 (and fullscreen only) and other platform-specific internals.

The same WinRT SDK is used on x86, x64 and ARM, so it should be possible for a "RT-UAE" build to enable JIT for x86 (32-bit).

It is a closed system too, although I look forward to news on jailbreaking Windows RT devices, as it might help with emulators on this otherwise walled garden.

I can see why Toni wishes to avoid the closed WinRT platform and stick with Win32... however all of the possible bases for a modern port of UAE to WinRT owe a lot to Toni's work on the UAE emulation core, so such an emulator is likely to ultimately be a fork from WinUAE's core (like FS-UAE or PUAE).
Mequa is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE and Windows dll... Gilloo support.WinUAE 1 19 June 2012 16:46
WinUAE for Windows 8 ARM? Mequa request.UAE Wishlist 6 27 October 2011 19:40
WinUAE on Windows 7 via VMPlayer alanwall support.WinUAE 3 05 July 2009 01:45
Winuae and Windows Vista BigB support.WinUAE 26 20 December 2008 22:27
WinUAE on Windows 2000 el_clubber support.WinUAE 2 21 June 2002 08:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05998 seconds with 13 queries