English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 21 April 2009, 05:24   #1
MikeA

Running Games / Demos With No File Extension

Hi all, I am very new to all this stuff. Having said that, I'm having a bit of trouble here I have managed to install WinUAE and Workbench 3.1. Prior to installing Workbench, I have been using the floppy disk images (*.DMS, *.ADF) to view demos and games, and all is well there, but here is my new problem. I have downloaded a demo called Luminagia from Loonies, but I cannot for the life of me get it to work, there is no file extension, the file is just called Luminagia. If I load it in the flopppy drive all I get this error:

runme.exe: not enough memory available
runme.exe: failed returncode 10
1>

I have tried all of the available models in WinUAE as well as the configurations below, but none of them seemed to help. I also tried adjusting the memory manually and maxing the systems out, but still no go. I get a similar error if I double click on the file within Workbench as well. Is it possible to get this demo to work? Is it not compatible with Workbench 3.1 perhaps? I am completely stumped here. If anyone knows how to get this to work, I would greatly appreciate the help, thank you!

Mike.

Edit: I have been able to get this to work. It will work when inserted in to the virtual floppy disk drive, but after reading a post that has nothing to do with getting anything to work, it mentioned Z3 Fast, which I didn't recall changing, so I went back, selected the A4000 and maxed the Z3 Fast RAM and it worked, I almost fell out of my chair lol. It seems I need to select a minimum of 16MB Z3 Fast RAM, otherwise I get a memory error. I do notice now though that the sound is very crackly / staticy, I'm still trying to figure that out, but if anyone knows how to fix that, that would be great!

Mike.

Last edited by MikeA; 21 April 2009 at 06:11. Reason: Not finished!

Old 21 April 2009, 07:26   #2
TCD