English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 May 2018, 15:37   #61
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
Even if the ICs start to fail I wouldn't see it beyond the community in the future to have a replace new part of FPGA replacement.
Wouldn't be surprised if it ends up being possible to just print new chips.
Thorham is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 May 2018, 17:20   #62
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 285
I have multiple models connected at any given time, they've been running stable for years while my PCs break down from time to time...

I'm not worried, I have enough Amiga HW spares to last my lifetime
I expect to get at least 30+ more years of enjoyment out of this gear!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
You are limited to using only that model, always spend money on maintenance and upgrading. With WinUAE you have all the AMiGA models with maximum expansion with just one click. To conclude the AMiGA Hardware very soon will extinguish with its users (now all old), WinUAE it will remain forever and will never die.
UberFreak is offline  
Old 21 May 2018, 17:29   #63
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,091
I have 1 A4000/060, 2 A1200/030, 2 A600/HD, 1 A500Plus, 2 A500, 2 CD32 of which one with expansion SX32 i have not used for more than 20 years. Imagine how much space I would need to keep them all turned on, apart from the fact that my wife would send me away from home in spite of being with me for 40 years.

With WinUAE I do not have these problems I have all the Amiga at the click of a button from OS 1.1 to OS 4.1, not to mention that I have an AMiGA system "AFA OS" that I could never have on a real Amiga.

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 21 May 2018, 19:33   #64
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
Sure they're mil spec, but still...
Maybe Doomy's mil-spec Amigas will be the only ones left running. Who'd have thought he'd have the last laugh?
rare_j is offline  
Old 21 May 2018, 19:36   #65
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 285
It might work for you, but I dont enjoy emulation, of any platform.
If I can't use the original hardware, I'd rather not do anything.

As for space, I currently have on a single desk (with a few shelves):
A500, A4000, Atari 1040STE, C=128D, C64, Atari 800XL and two CRT monitors.
It took some work to get everything setup nicely but it was worth the effort.

If there's a will, there's a way
UberFreak is offline  
Old 21 May 2018, 20:01   #66
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,097
For me, the entire point of Amiga (and other old systems) is using the original hardware. Getting the most (or more through expansion) of the hardware is what makes it fun. But I think emulation is great too, just not as good as the real thing. Maybe my opinion will change if stuff starts to fail and becomes too expensive to repair.
trixster is offline  
Old 22 May 2018, 12:57   #67
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 166
I can understand the argument for emulation when it comes to space. My solution to the thing was to build one of off the shelf wooden cabins in our back garden as my space and now that we are moving house one of my requirements was a replacement space. Its not ideal but I've got an outhouse thats about 5m long but only 1.6m wide so it'll be setup with console gaming at one end, computers at the other and maybe my decks in the middle.

I fully understand not everyone is lucky enough to have to space or funds to do such a thing. FYI we took an extension on our mortgage to build the original man shed which some may think is crazy but this is my hobby and I was happy to put the time and effort into such a project.

Emulation of course is quick, easy, cheap (if not free) and takes up no more space than a single PC or laptop or tablet but as I said before I struggle to enjoy the experience. It has its place for setting up hdds or for testing software etc but for me the enjoyment is in the hardware.

I suppose in some ways it comes does to are you a hardware collector or a software collector. That's a fairly broad sweeping statement but I think you get the gist of what I'm saying.
Glen M is offline  
Old 22 May 2018, 13:28   #68
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
But I think emulation is great too, just not as good as the real thing. .
Se si sa utilizzare l'emulatore รจ difficile trovare qualcosa che non funziona, indeed there are things that work better than the real Amiga, see Doom games, Quake, see 3D Graphics programs etc ..
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 22 May 2018, 13:33   #69
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
. My solution to the thing was to build one of off the shelf wooden cabins in our back garden as my space and now that we are moving house one of my requirements was a replacement space. g.
What difference there is tra use AmigaOS in a wooden cabins or in one Box PC-Windows? when i use Amiga, i look at the screen, i do not watch box containing it.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 22 May 2018, 14:05   #70
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
What difference there is tra use AmigaOS in a wooden cabins or in one Box PC-Windows? when i use Amiga, i look at the screen, i do not watch box containing it.
Each to their own.
Glen M is offline  
Old 22 May 2018, 19:21   #71
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
i do not watch box containing it.
I sort of gently stroke the cases. The solidity of yellowed bromiated plastic is something that can't be emulated.
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 22 May 2018, 19:23   #72
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
I sort of gently stroke the cases. The solidity of yellowed bromiated plastic is something that can't be emulated.
Plastic should not be emulated should be eliminated
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 22 May 2018, 20:27   #73
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 11,773
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberFreak View Post
It might work for you, but I dont enjoy emulation, of any platform.
If I can't use the original hardware, I'd rather not do anything.
...so I take it you don't play arcade classics then via MAME?

Must be an expensive hobby to buy all those jamma boards and a real hassle changing games
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 May 2018, 12:53   #74
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 166
I was thinking about this again this morning on the way to work and from the games point of view...

Maybe it all comes down to if you're a retro gamer or an old skool gamer.

Retro is something new dressed up to be something old.
Old is, well, just old.

Personally I'd fall into the old skool category and that why I enjoy the original hardware but don't reply enjoy the emulation.

As for arcade games the hardware is so expensive that emulation is really the only feasible option, not that Amiga hardware is cheap. Maybe if I didn't have my 1200 and cd32 from childhood still I would see it differently....

Just thinking out loud as always gents.
Glen M is offline  
Old 23 May 2018, 13:29   #75
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
...so I take it you don't play arcade classics then via MAME?

Must be an expensive hobby to buy all those jamma boards and a real hassle changing games
I'm not really into arcades, although I do want to own one or two original cabinets.
Maybe someday, when I have a bigger apartment.
UberFreak is offline  
Old 23 May 2018, 13:33   #76
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
As for arcade games the hardware is so expensive that emulation is really the only feasible option, not that Amiga hardware is cheap. Maybe if I didn't have my 1200 and cd32 from childhood still I would see it differently....
I started visiting flea-markets regularly during the 90's, when 70's/80's machines were plentiful and dirt cheap.
Also had been lucky to be given lots of stuff during the years, through people I met.
I would not pay today's crazy prices, which is why my collection hasn't grown in some years now.
UberFreak is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing amiga os 3.5/3.9 using winuae then moving cf to amiga 1200 alienkidmj12 support.Hardware 11 02 May 2014 08:30
WinUAE 2.3 and GB Amiga Boulder project.MAGE 9 06 November 2010 00:17
Winuae 1.3.2 vs Real Amiga Dillon Retrogaming General Discussion 9 12 September 2006 12:42
Amiga 2000 to WinUAE... [Mr_L] New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 06 June 2003 08:03
WinUAE Restarts Amiga Syn support.WinUAE 1 22 December 2002 05:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08515 seconds with 15 queries