English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 June 2013, 08:50   #1
bigbod
 
Posts: n/a
Amix on WinUAE: Access to USB?

Hi,

Sorry if this is not the right place to ask. I've installed and patched Amix under WinUAE 2.6.1 to Amix 2.1c.

I achieved this using ADF files and attached hard disks (SCSI5, SCSI6).

Now I want to transfer a few individual patch files to Amix. My host PC doesn't have a floppy drive, so what is the best way to do this?

I have the files on a 8 GB FAT32 formatted USB drive, but I don't know how to install/mount the USB drive so that I can read from it in Amix.

Is this possible?

Cheers
Rod
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 June 2013, 17:14   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,779
I don't think Amix supports FAT32. I guess easiest way is to use A2065 network emulation and transfer using ftp/wget or something similar.

(A2065 emulation adds slirp backend in next version which makes it less annoying to use)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 June 2013, 20:34   #3
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,612
You could create a tar archive of the files. Mount that as an HDF (emulated SCSI hard drive) in WinUAE, then use a command like tar -xf /dev/sd2 or if that doesn't work dd if=/dev/sd2 | tar -x

Or you could do the same but split the tar archive into 880KB pieces, mount each in turn as floppy disks in WinUAE then do dd if=/dev/fd0 of=output.bin for example. Then join the pieces together in Amix and unpack the archive.

[The device names I gave in the example commands are probably wrong for Amix; read the Amix manual to determine the correct ones. And I haven't actually tried that technique myself.]

If you can use Linux, I think that does support the filesystem which Amix uses. Using the appropriate commands you could/should be able to mount the Amix partition in your HDF directly (i.e. without WinUAE running), and copy files into it that way.
mark_k is offline  
Old 06 August 2013, 21:46   #4
Noth
Registered User
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 156
The correct paths are /dev/dsk/c2d0s0 instead of /dev/sdb (if it was sda2 it would be c1d0s2) and /dev/dsk/fd0 instead of /dev/fd0. The tar method works reasonably well... if s0 doesn't work, try s1, and use gtar instead of tar. Once you've got networking going (if DNS doesn't work you can still use wget or ftp to the IP address) just transfer with network tools, it's much easier that way!
Noth is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amix in WinUAE Toni Wilen support.Amix 286 15 March 2017 01:23
PC HDD access in WINUAE 2.6.1 JonB support.WinUAE 5 29 June 2013 14:14
Use WinUAE to access Amiga HDD DaveMB support.WinUAE 7 18 August 2011 05:14
cdrom access time winuae 2.3 ! turrican3 support.WinUAE 17 03 November 2010 19:47
Cannot access winuae website gstanford support.WinUAE 4 09 January 2008 16:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12490 seconds with 12 queries