English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 January 2021, 18:13   #41
Lemaru
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Berks, UK
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
The Pico doesn't have HDMI, but I suppose you meant to implement that using the I/O state machines then?
Well not me personally, as that's not my areas of expertise. But yeah, there's already people out there who are bitbanging hdmi.

Here someone has the Pi Pico outputting 1080p 60hz. Pretty impressive

https://youtu.be/mjFwR3feyV0
Lemaru is offline  
Old 22 January 2021, 23:59   #42
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemaru View Post
Well not me personally, as that's not my areas of expertise. But yeah, there's already people out there who are bitbanging hdmi.

Here someone has the Pi Pico outputting 1080p 60hz. Pretty impressive

[ Show youtube player ]
Yeah, that's pretty cool - and no, I didn't mean you personally implementing it
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 23 January 2021, 14:47   #43
lilwshu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilwshu View Post
My new monitor arrived today (Dell P1917S, 1280x1024) which supports 50hz, so I tried it on my V1 adapter in the A2000 and it looks SERIOUSLY GREAT. No detectable lag in SWOS so I will likely be very happy with it.

One issue I noticed however is that the top line of pixels is shifting rapidly left and right by about 1 pixel - has anyone else seen that?
The pixel shift issue also appeared on my A500 and was fixed by updating the software on the SD card (should have checked that earlier really).
lilwshu is offline  
Old 23 January 2021, 20:54   #44
mlenardon
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 1
Kipper if you are building any to sell let me know. Its nice to see you are local. I only know of a handful of Amiga guys here in TBAY. Most dropped off the face of the earth 25 years ago LOL. There are a few getting back into it again now which great.

Michael
mlenardon is offline  
Old 24 January 2021, 09:53   #45
seb132
French in Australia
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Age: 49
Posts: 390
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
It’s seems the ECS modes are working now for the A600 on the last revision...
seb132 is offline  
Old 24 January 2021, 13:56   #46
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,391
Has somebody already done an external version to connect to the RGB video connector, if that is at all possible?
solarmon is offline  
Old 24 January 2021, 14:53   #47
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
Has somebody already done an external version to connect to the RGB video connector, if that is at all possible?
No.. It snoops the digital video coming out of Denise - the RGB connector outputs analog video.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 24 January 2021, 15:56   #48
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
No.. It snoops the digital video coming out of Denise - the RGB connector outputs analog video.
There are some digital RGB signals on the RGB connector.

Could the Pi possibly have another firmware that could use these instead, maybe?
solarmon is offline  
Old 24 January 2021, 16:17   #49
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 4,003
Those digital pins are for connecting your Amiga to a digital PC screen, giving you at best EGA-style colours.
idrougge is offline  
Old 24 January 2021, 16:24   #50
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,391
Ah, OK. Thanks for the clarification. Not really suitable then!
solarmon is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 11:45   #51
RetroPanic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Glattfelden / Switzerland
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by seb132 View Post
@kippee2k what is a SMDa1k ?
Looks great, is it available to order somewhere? Also where i find to order the HDMI Adapter? Regards
RetroPanic is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 23:04   #52
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Acid- View Post
With different components is there any hope of an A1200 version being developed?
I had a look at the schematics, and it looks like it might be possible, but requires a jumper wire to composite sync (TTL) elsewhere in the Amiga, as it is not available on a Lisa pin (but is on Denise) and is used by this project.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 23:26   #53
jasonsbeer
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Iowa, USA
Posts: 60
Just thinking out loud...it should be possible to make this in a video card form factor for big box Amigas. A drop in solution like this would be intriguing.
jasonsbeer is offline  
Old 27 January 2021, 00:03   #54
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonsbeer View Post
Just thinking out loud...it should be possible to make this in a video card form factor for big box Amigas. A drop in solution like this would be intriguing.
That's an interesting idea - I think the same solution could work in all models. If not, maybe a jumper for the pixel clock might be needed to also support A4000.

Edit: The A4000 video slot is physically different to the OCS/ECS machines, unfortunately. Does anyone know if an old 12-bit color video slot card will work in an A4000 and just ignore the extra 18 pins in the extended slot?

Last edited by hooverphonique; 27 January 2021 at 12:31.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 27 January 2021, 01:33   #55
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,097
The Amiga video adapter now supports OSD via the bluepill on a Gotek. Here is a pic.





Here is the thread to read up on it

Many thanks to IanSB for his work in solving it

https://github.com/c0pperdragon/Amig...ideo/issues/26
kipper2k is offline  
Old 29 January 2021, 21:45   #56
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,097
I just got my boards i done up for the a600 hdmi,


Here we go.







Looks pretty decent, need a few more tests
kipper2k is offline  
Old 29 January 2021, 23:39   #57
seb132
French in Australia
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Age: 49
Posts: 390
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
Wow, so you need to remove Denise, solder your board on the A500, then re-solder Denise on your board??
seb132 is offline  
Old 30 January 2021, 00:13   #58
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by seb132 View Post
Wow, so you need to remove Denise, solder your board on the A500, then re-solder Denise on your board??
nope, not at all, there is a square hole in the board so it lays around the denise, and you just solder the pads on it to the legs of denise, it is pretty easy
kipper2k is offline  
Old 30 January 2021, 01:05   #59
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 340
Couldn't you just fit a PLCC socket over Denise to get access to the signals rather than soldering pads directly onto the chip?
wiz12 is offline  
Old 30 January 2021, 01:47   #60
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiz12 View Post
Couldn't you just fit a PLCC socket over Denise to get access to the signals rather than soldering pads directly onto the chip?

Good question, No, that is no good. If you do that you will be unable to use fastmem boards, accelerators and other things that sit on the CPU, this is a low profile design that will not interfere with those things
kipper2k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Digital Video AJCopland News 24 10 February 2021 20:28
Digital video out options for AA3000+? matt3k support.Hardware 2 17 December 2020 05:40
Vampire 500 v2+: Is all video HDMI yet? Starglider 2 support.Hardware 37 06 April 2018 15:25
Review of No-name S-Video/composite NTSC to HDMI@720p Video scaler unit aperez support.Hardware 6 03 January 2011 20:39
Digital signals on Amiga video connector whitebird support.Hardware 7 26 September 2010 16:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10647 seconds with 16 queries