English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 June 2018, 14:09   #21
crabfists
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: warrington UK
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluffkitten View Post
I've a 2B that doesn't like mouse adapters, think it just depends on the individual motherboard no matter what the revision.

Do you mean your motherboard doesn’t like any USB mouse adaptors? Or just the TOM ones?
crabfists is offline  
Old 13 June 2018, 14:23   #22
fluffkitten
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Nottingham/UK
Posts: 44
All of them I've tried so far including the TOM2, no right mouse button. No hassle with a standard mouse though.
fluffkitten is offline  
Old 13 June 2018, 17:09   #23
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 598
Have you tried updating the firmware on the TOM2?
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 13 June 2018, 18:53   #24
fluffkitten
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Nottingham/UK
Posts: 44
I have. Think I need to get the mobo checked over or get another one.
fluffkitten is offline  
Old 13 June 2018, 19:13   #25
DanyPPC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 129
I have a Rys mk2, i don't know in what differs from tom adapter, but i tested it on all my A1200 motherboards (1A, 1D1, 1D.4 C= and AT, 2B) and it works very well in CD32 pad emulation and mouse mode.

It's the only one that works on A1200 2B in CD32 pad mode tested under lowlevel.library.
I used only a simple snes USB stile gamepad.
DanyPPC is offline  
Old 13 June 2018, 20:03   #26
crabfists
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: warrington UK
Posts: 100
Quote:
Think I need to get the mobo checked over or get another one
I find it hard to believe that our motherboards are at fault. Mine has recently been recapped and I have had no other issues with it. But my logic might be flawed.

I will order a Rys MkII and report back.
crabfists is offline  
Old 13 June 2018, 20:25   #27
fluffkitten
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Nottingham/UK
Posts: 44
There is the chance a previous owner has been hot plugging mice, seem to recall that can damage one of the chips and cause issue. Frustrating as it is I'm using this as a reason to mess around with my A1200.

Have just ordered on of the Mk IV with right button "fix" adapters from ebay to see if I get the same symptoms my other three give me.
fluffkitten is offline  
Old 13 June 2018, 20:43   #28
crabfists
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: warrington UK
Posts: 100
That MkIV only works with PS/2 USB mice though. Makes the choice of mice quite limited.

Saying that, please report back if it works for you. PS/2 mouse is better than nothing.
crabfists is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 14:39   #29
fluffkitten
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Nottingham/UK
Posts: 44
Definitely have a motherboard problem. The new adapter still has no right button in workbench like the others. It is not a TOM2 issue, it'll pickup both HID and PS2 mice so someone without a dodgy motherboard will be able to use basically any mouse they want.

Booting out of the early boot screen gives me the classic 8000 0008 followed by a couple of recoverable errors (0100 003).

Time to learn to solder.
fluffkitten is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 14:50   #30
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluffkitten View Post
Definitely have a motherboard problem. The new adapter still has no right button in workbench like the others. It is not a TOM2 issue, it'll pickup both HID and PS2 mice so someone without a dodgy motherboard will be able to use basically any mouse they want.

Booting out of the early boot screen gives me the classic 8000 0008 followed by a couple of recoverable errors (0100 003).

Time to learn to solder.
It's not a motherboard problem as such, it's just an incompatibility between microcontrollers used in mouse adapters and the Amiga's right mouse button line. That pin on the Amiga's gameport does triple duty for mouse button sensing, digital I/O and analogue input, so it's not a standard TTL input like the left mouse button pin. It works fine for standard short-to-ground buttons like those on a real mouse, but on some machines - usually A1200s but it can affect A600s too - a microcontroller's digital output doesn't pull the pin quite low enough for the Amiga to register a click. This has been known for well over 20 years - and some mouse adapters back in the day were patched with an external transistor to aid in pulling down the relevant pin.

So your motherboard's not "faulty" as such - you just have an unlucky combination of adapter and motherboard.
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 15:12   #31
fluffkitten
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Nottingham/UK
Posts: 44
Ta, makes sense.
fluffkitten is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 15:43   #32
crabfists
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: warrington UK
Posts: 100
@robinsonb5 Thanks for the explanation. Good to know the reason for the problem.

@fluffkitten Which new adaptor didn't work for you? Kevin Mount's MKIV right mouse button fix adaptor?

This one?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MKIV-Amig...X/121715285463

I have become slightly obsessed with getting this working.
crabfists is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 16:12   #33
fluffkitten
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Nottingham/UK
Posts: 44
That is the one. I've also got the standard MkIV, a TOM2 and the one sold by "retrobargains" on ebay.
fluffkitten is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 16:28   #34
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 598
@fluffkitten Have you tried an original Amiga mouse?
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 14 June 2018, 16:32   #35
fluffkitten
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Nottingham/UK
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by th4t1guy View Post
@fluffkitten Have you tried an original Amiga mouse?
Yep, and it works fine.

I'd love to get the adapters working because I've gotten curious but I do have my standard mouse I can use - and when my Rapid Road turns up I can plug the usb mice into that.
fluffkitten is offline  
Old 15 June 2018, 19:34   #36
fluffkitten
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Nottingham/UK
Posts: 44
Still no TOM2 on my Commodore 2B but it does work fine on a friend's A1200 (revision unknown since he won't let my take the case and shielding off) with both PS2 and HID mice. It is a nice little adapter.

The MkIV RBFix semi works, the right button is intermittent. Progress.
fluffkitten is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 23:22   #37
crabfists
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: warrington UK
Posts: 100
I also ordered a Mk IV right mouse button fix and the right mouse button works great on my 1D4 motherboard but not on my 1B motherboard.
crabfists is offline  
Old 19 June 2018, 09:35   #38
DanyPPC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 129
I think an adapter must be compatible with all motherboard revisions. Its logic must adapt and support every amiga.
DanyPPC is offline  
Old 20 June 2018, 15:16   #39
crabfists
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: warrington UK
Posts: 100
Has anybody else made contact with electronica4u about the issue?
I have tried making contact with them/him to report the issue and to find out if they are working on a fix but I didn't get a definitive answer.

Pawel said
Quote:
Would be great if you could find the revision board. Sometimes ago we fixed such problem and all adapters are tested before shipment...
I replied but he didn't get back to me. I find their customer service next to non-existent. I have asked other questions which also got ignored. Maybe I am just annoying?

I am curious what A1200 board(s) they are testing them on...

Oh, and the email on their website doesn't work: electronica4u@test.com.pl

The only reply I got was from their ebay seller account electronika4you-uk
crabfists is offline  
Old 20 June 2018, 17:23   #40
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by crabfists View Post
Has anybody else made contact with electronica4u about the issue?

Oh, and the email on their website doesn't work: electronica4u@test.com.pl

The only reply I got was from their ebay seller account electronika4you-uk
I've only had contact over replacing a defective adapter. Communication was not the best, and I had to send followup responses several times, but he eventually came through.
I only sent messages through ebay.
th4t1guy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tom Adapter Wireless Controller scu98rkr support.Hardware 0 05 July 2016 09:40
Tom Kirks PS2 Amiga/Atari adapter kipper2k Hardware mods 38 27 July 2012 18:37
Tom Servo Charlie Nostalgia & memories 5 12 January 2008 19:14
Tom & Jerry 2 turtle request.Old Rare Games 5 21 July 2002 04:02
Tom Tom's Amiga HD spiele cant download AEV Amiga scene 2 25 April 2002 03:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08984 seconds with 13 queries