English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 December 2012, 17:34   #21
hot trout
Webmaster
hot trout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 26
I found the boards on ebay from china for delivery in 6 days. Would that help? Also one of the guys on here had some 23pin connectors that he might sell. I dont mind waiting a while, will be too busy over xmas anyway.
hot trout is offline  
Old 18 December 2012, 17:35   #22
Johan1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by hot trout View Post
I found the boards on ebay from china for delivery in 6 days. Would that help? Also one of the guys on here had some 23pin connectors that he might sell. I dont mind waiting a while, will be too busy over xmas anyway.
Can you send me a PM with a link for the boards from china?
Johan1973 is offline  
Old 18 December 2012, 21:45   #23
hot trout
Webmaster
hot trout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 26
They are in my post at the top of this thread.
hot trout is offline  
Old 18 December 2012, 23:19   #24
Johan1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 125
I can not find the link you are referring to. I am looking around, and will try to set up a supply of boxes, gbs 8220s etc. So will take a while to pull things together. Will put message here on forum when I have some ready to sell.
Johan1973 is offline  
Old 18 December 2012, 23:23   #25
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
The link is here.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1809119379...84.m1423.l2649
prowler is offline  
Old 18 December 2012, 23:39   #26
Johan1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 125
Thanks. I guess I am going blind...
Johan1973 is offline  
Old 19 December 2012, 16:09   #27
Johan1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 125
BGS 8220's ordered; Sellers estimate; 40 to 50 days delivery time.
Johan1973 is offline  
Old 19 December 2012, 17:53   #28
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
if anyone is interested in the rgb port connectors, this guy has 39 left with hoods.


http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...pin+connectors
roy bates is offline  
Old 19 December 2012, 22:28   #29
Johan1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 125
I have been using 25 pins cut down to 23 pins. I get those for €1 each or so. Easy to do.
Will be using standard EGA 9pin dsub as input on the boxes.
Johan1973 is offline  
Old 04 January 2013, 22:44   #30
hot trout
Webmaster
hot trout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 26
Any update on this?
hot trout is offline  
Old 04 January 2013, 22:57   #31
Johan1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 125
I have received the boards. And am using them now.
They are ok for amiga. They have scandoubler/flicker fixer. However you get some artifacts with the flickerfixer. Yet that is far better than the interlace flicker.
Due to how the boards are built, it is a bit tricky to box them. So I am looking at that now, how to solve it.
Johan1973 is offline  
Old 05 January 2013, 18:58   #32
hot trout
Webmaster
hot trout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 26
Great news, looking forward to this.
hot trout is offline  
Old 06 January 2013, 03:19   #33
Johan1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 125
Unfortunately I have to respond with some bad news. I have spent the last two days testing these boards, with Amiga, ZX spectrum +2, Xbox 1, etc. And the result is not that great.

While they are ok for the amiga. They have some serious issues. Especially when dealing with interlacing. And then also issues when you connect it to computers that does not use interlace. There needs to be more revisions or a better design for better picture quality and less quirks. Since they are cheap, they are an ok alternative to use for amiga until you have something better. Right now I can not find any rgb to vga converters that are better, but new models are on the way. I will not make any boxed versions of these cards and offer them. It simply is not worth the hassle. To much work vs the gain. I will however offer assistance in helping people wiring these up to use for amiga.

On the 23 pin video connector, connect Red to pin 3, Green to pin 4, Blue to pin 5; Black (ground) to pin 20, Grey and Yellow (sync) to Pin 10 (composite sync). The board will just not work with separate horizontal and vertical sync.

List of issues;
1. Interlace flicker fixer artefacts
2. Random white dots in image on black background
3. Just simply to slow and unable to handle computers that use non-standard timings, but ok for amiga.
4. Output quality of the image is a little below the built in scandoubler in the Amiga 3000, though it is superior in that it actually have a flicker fixer that removes the flicker.

And the good;
1. You get image on your VGA monitor. It works with LCDs, though CRTs are perhaps better.
2. Output quality is not worse than an old CRT tv fed with RGB.
3. Easy to wire up despite total lack of instructions.
4. Are able to handle 15Khz and 24Khz input signal.
Johan1973 is offline  
Old 15 January 2013, 20:37   #34
Johan1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 125
An update

These boards are twitchy when it comes to input voltage. It has to be silly stable and clean. I have added an induction coil and caps to filter the voltage, and that seems to clean up the random white dot issue quite a bit.
Johan1973 is offline  
Old 15 January 2013, 20:40   #35
Johan1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 125
Hot Trout: If you want, I can wire one up for you. But you need to send it to me with connector so I can solder it. And you will have to get power supply and case yourself. There are some arcade stores online that sells plastic cases for these, its two pieces of plastic with stands.

http://www.arcadeforge.de/index.php?...ejg8l42f7eiee5
Johan1973 is offline  
Old 15 January 2013, 22:48   #36
Johan1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 125
If you have the random white dot problem, this is how I solved it;

+ from power supply |- Inductor -| + to GBS 8220
Electrolyte 1000uF = = Electrolyte 1000 uF
- from power supply |- Inductor-| - go GBS 8220

The inductor is just a transformer from a power supply that is hooked up so that you run + in parallel with - through the two coils, and as such the induction reduce noise. The caps adds stability and acts as filters.

You connect caps in parallel on the input and output side of the induction coil.
Johan1973 is offline  
Old 02 February 2013, 23:16   #37
MacDknife
 
Posts: n/a
Irritating white spots

Hi Johan!
I'm new to this retro computer scene (even if I am almost 60), as I am helping my son, who has decided to start collecting retro consoles. Imagine if I had seen this forum before I bought the GBS-8220. Still I got it up and running and got a great picture except for those spots. The higher the resolution, the worse they are.

This is apparently something you have solve by applying a "filter" to the power supply. I bought a cheap adapter at ELFA that gave the 5V/2A I required. Could I apply the same solution to my board with this adapter?

I am afraid I don't really understand your schematics above, but as I understand it, all I have to do is solder the capacitors and inductor (where do I get that? What value?) parallell to each other, on to the power connector (5V + GND) on the GBS-8220 board. I would appreciate it if I could get a photo, to confirm this.

Thanks a lot in advance!

/MacDknife
 
Old 03 February 2013, 05:02   #38
SS454
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: up north
Posts: 70
Just grab a second hand HD sky box. Plug the Amiga in through scart, plug the vga monitor in to an adapter for the HDMI socket. Done.
SS454 is offline  
Old 03 February 2013, 10:41   #39
MacDknife
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the suggestion SS454! Solved that TV problem a while back though. The thing is that my son specificly wants to be able to use an old extra monitor he has. Unfortunately they don't come with HDMI. All suggestions are welcome though. Many of us (myself included) go for the more conventional approach and sometimes forget to try something different...
: P
/MacDknife
 
Old 03 February 2013, 17:52   #40
SS454
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: up north
Posts: 70
HDMI carries VGA. Get a lead with a HDMI connector on one end, and a VGA connector on the other. I even said so
SS454 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone know what these leads are for? trydowave support.Hardware 7 19 February 2013 14:23
Amiga 1200 running on GBS 8200 VGA Converter spanner support.Hardware 14 07 July 2012 22:01
FS: Sega Megadrive II with all leads/controllers + games Smiley MarketPlace 3 05 July 2011 00:54
Amiga Scart leads Mike UK New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 31 January 2007 14:35
joystick / mouse leads stuntpup support.Hardware 4 25 December 2002 13:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09552 seconds with 14 queries