English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 July 2018, 21:17   #2321
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 222
Hmm, I sort of see. But in Sulaco say, there must be frames that render inside 1/50th of a second on a 750FX but take 2/50ths on a 7410. Which would show up as an average framerate improvement even if the program does wait for the vblank. Or am I missing something?
Wrangler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 July 2018, 21:23   #2322
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 660
It seems to be vsync. So the 7410 does it in 1/50th and the 750 in 1/100th but both wait for the vblank so both 50Hz/FPS. If it was 2/50th then it would show 25 fps.

Everything faster than 1/50th will result in 50 FPS. In other words the demos are capped at 50FPS.

At least that seems to me.
Hedeon is online now  
Old 21 July 2018, 04:09   #2323
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,256
Just a poll, who else has a PMC to PCI adapter, other than Hedeon, Wrangler and Trixster?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 21 July 2018, 23:58   #2324
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,101
Interesting that the Mac guys worked out how to software overclock their 750FX cpus

https://forums.anandtech.com/threads...ftware.818189/

https://arstechnica.com/civis/viewto...?f=19&t=526258
trixster is offline  
Old 22 July 2018, 01:01   #2325
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
Interesting that the Mac guys worked out how to software overclock their 750FX cpus

https://forums.anandtech.com/threads...ftware.818189/

https://arstechnica.com/civis/viewto...?f=19&t=526258

Very interesting, I don't see why we couldn't do this too, or do funny stuff like put it into low power mode when not needed.

Also 950MHz seems to work fine as well, overclocking via hardware not software.

If anyone knows a source for a 75MMx30MMx7.5MM heatsink, I'd like to know.
Or 65MMx30MMx7.5MM, something like that. Copper if possible. With fins that run on the narrow 30-35MM measurement.
Could be as high as 8MM maybe.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 22 July 2018 at 03:13.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 22 July 2018, 06:26   #2326
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 273
i already explained what you need to do
what you are asking for is custom
if you dont wanna spend a ton you must DIY
or find something close enough and mod it
many parts available today to make any kind of heatsink you want copper pipes etc etc you just need to bend/cut/solder yourself like people do with custom water stuff
or find a friend with cnc or local shop
a dremel can also help aid you in this as they can cut through copper/aluminum just will take a lot of discs and time

i say the easiest would be to find a close enough size full copper heatsink with many tall then blades then just use a dremel and cut it
down to shape and size fins too if they are to tall

Last edited by nexus; 22 July 2018 at 06:37.
nexus is offline  
Old 22 July 2018, 06:48   #2327
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 273
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/DIY-...e-1f3bd69adea8
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/53-2...ceBeautifyAB=0
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Fast...ceBeautifyAB=0
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/78mm...ceBeautifyAB=0

some on there but that above you could TIM epoxy onto a copper sheet
when you have fins sold like that they are easy to break off to length fyi

anyways i would use a cheap slim blower fan like those used in laptops inbetween the ramix and ppc with the intake towards the ramix fan hole with the blower blowing through those fins and out the slot in the ramix bracket
that way none of the heat from the ppc ever enters inside the case
also gives air a exit point in that clustered area so you dont have stale air

also they used to sell 5.25" drive bay fan controllers with temp sensors back in the day those might be useful to some to turn up fan speeds when temps go up etc
also some have CF/SD/USB sound etc etc integrated so you can route those to it
just make sure it has multiple temp probes

Last edited by nexus; 22 July 2018 at 08:02.
nexus is offline  
Old 22 July 2018, 12:45   #2328
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,101
Quake 3beta5 video with a Ragnarok

[ Show youtube player ]
trixster is offline  
Old 22 July 2018, 14:28   #2329
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 422
Quote:
Quake 3beta5 video with a Ragnarok
Cool to see that some gfx problems in earlier versions are fixed. And you go almost all the way with effects.

I gave two YT likes.

Now try SmokinGuns (but go down a lot with effects or you could not play at all).
Cowcat is offline  
Old 22 July 2018, 15:53   #2330
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,101
I use GL_LINEAR and keep the music on. I turn brasstime down, remove the gun, turn off gibs (but leave blood on), keep lightmaps and dynamic lights on. The big difference between Ragnarok and sonnet is you can keep plenty of bots on as the cpu has more capacity to handle the AI etc.
trixster is offline  
Old 23 July 2018, 20:05   #2331
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
Quake 3beta5 video with a Ragnarok

[ Show youtube player ]



Nice VIDEO
BULI is offline  
Old 23 July 2018, 20:07   #2332
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Cool to see that some gfx problems in earlier versions are fixed. And you go almost all the way with effects.

I gave two YT likes.

Now try SmokinGuns (but go down a lot with effects or you could not play at all).



About Smokinguns- Excellent message
BULI is offline  
Old 23 July 2018, 21:46   #2333
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 660
Added 7450 series support.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	7441.png
Views:	66
Size:	649.9 KB
ID:	58981  
Hedeon is online now  
Old 23 July 2018, 22:37   #2334
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
Added 7450 series support.
Anyone know where we can get some pmppc 7448 cards??
Wrangler is offline  
Old 23 July 2018, 23:43   #2335
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrangler View Post
Anyone know where we can get some pmppc 7448 cards??

You have PM.


Smokin guns all I turned off was Lightmap, everything else including that is my Q3 settings.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 00:25   #2336
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 222
Out of interest, has anyone tried an AHA-2940UW (or similar) card with the Sonnet/Rapture/etc card?

This SCSI card runs relatively slowly on 68k applications due to transferring data from the PCI gfx card space across the PCI/Zorro bridge to the 68k mem. But is the same true if the data stays on the PCI side? The transfer would still seem to be hard disk -> gfx card (via dma) -> PPC mem (via processor?) but would the performance be faster than a Zorro-side disk? Or is it worse than that and the transaction would be: disk -> gfx card -> 68k mem -> PPC mem, which would be very sloooow.

And I suppose a patch of the driver to dma straight to the PPC mem is out of the question?

Last edited by Wrangler; 27 July 2018 at 00:32.
Wrangler is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 00:38   #2337
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,256
@Wrangler,
I wondered the same thing and meant to test it, for loading really big applications it could help if it worked out like that.

Unfortunately I think the 68k libraries get in the way of this. HDD Mask settings will always buffer to highest priority FastRAM which will be 68k side. Probably some other hoops to jump through too. I guess I could test this simply with my USB card and Dosbox.

Of course simplest fix is to boot OS4, which probably will never happen.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 01:15   #2338
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Of course simplest fix is to boot OS4, which probably will never happen.
Maybe AROS PPC? ^^ And has anyone tried the Sonnet/Rapture with WarpOS on AROS 68k? Just curious.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 01:41   #2339
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlon_ View Post
Maybe AROS PPC? ^^ And has anyone tried the Sonnet/Rapture with WarpOS on AROS 68k? Just curious.

Yes I did. The pci.library "doesn't work"™ in that it doesn't present the GFX window that the library uses. Mediator in general doesn't work on AROS last I checked. However vintage powerpc.library on CSPPC does seem to work to an extent. There was a thread where I sobbed profusely about this fact but I was unable to warm the cold hearts of the AROS contributors that were listening.

It seems like it may be possible to bootstrap the thing and it would take over the PCI bus but I doubt anything has a specific set of modified drivers to make it work. Maybe Linux? Who knows, not me.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 27 July 2018, 01:43   #2340
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 453
If someone actually was bothered to do it, it would probably be possible to support both PPC and 68k in one install of AROS, since it's open source and all. Way too much work however. But getting to use both cpu's at system level would be cool.
Marlon_ is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (2 members and 3 guests)
starship, Hedeon
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 02:48
Wanted:Sonnet Technologies QuadDoubler 50 (Doubler 4000) kronuz MarketPlace 0 16 June 2013 00:29
eBay : Sonnet Quaddoubler alexh MarketPlace 3 07 May 2013 00:50
Overlay problem on GeForce 7200 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 10 August 2010 15:50
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 10:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.16429 seconds with 16 queries