English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 November 2016, 10:38   #101
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 1,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
I dont know if CDTV could of handled it? would of made a lot of difference these games in the catalogue.

Ive not had a chance to try these can the screen be dragged or Amiga Key and M key? just curious - serial port redirected to a text file or something.

Still think these games are possible like I say CDXL Screen overlayed with Another screen at the bottom with the score etc. Cough any ideas cough earok.....
Of course, both the CDTV and CD32 could have handled it, after all the arcade machine was an A500 with a laserdisc player, just replace the video source and its still the same, heck even the Mega-CD got lots of ports with the same 150k/sec drive as the CDTV, cinepac vs cdxl.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 10:40   #102
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
I do have the DVD player version of Mad Dog McCree if that's of any help.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 11:01   #103
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
Also there was an old old Sega Arcade machine game like this might have been VHS I mean really old anyone can remember the name????
Sorry it was nintendo check it out Wild Gunman 1974
[ Show youtube player ]
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 11:04   #104
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
Of course, both the CDTV and CD32 could have handled it, after all the arcade machine was an A500 with a laserdisc player, just replace the video source and its still the same, heck even the Mega-CD got lots of ports with the same 150k/sec drive as the CDTV, cinepac vs cdxl.
There is no way CDTV could do it. At least without postage stamp size video window.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
Wont load for me, the extended rom, you say use the 256k one, but in the zip file in the zone the biggest one is 128k?
ROMs must be ROM scanner detected and appear in drop down. They won't work directly.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 November 2016, 11:37   #105
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 1,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
There is no way CDTV could do it. At least without postage stamp size video window.
I didn't say the video size would be big! technically it could do it.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 11:46   #106
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath View Post
I do have the DVD player version of Mad Dog McCree if that's of any help.
is there a way to just play the "raw video", so you may capture it somehow or record it with a smartphone?
somehow they did so with the Gallagher's Gallery video:
[ Show youtube player ]

@earok: i changed a bit the guide (extract alg.zip - ROM scan) just update the first postting
emufan is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 12:43   #107
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.7z (unsupported as usual!) now detects all ALG roms and also includes very basic LD player simulation.

- ROM selection is under extended ROMs.
- Some games will sort of start now.
- Game's configuration menu can be entered with right mouse button
- I didn't bother with trying to understand how light gun is connected or how trigger works.
- Most (all?) games have very long boot delay. (10s+)
- If game reboots soon after init messages: most likely reason is unsupported LD command. (I only tested few randomly chosen games)

(LD command set from: http://www.dragons-lair-project.com/...ommand_ldp.asp. MAME source was useless.)
Wow, I have to check
My old request: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=74870

Maybe better to move the thread to "support.WinUAE" forum?
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 12:52   #108
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
I didn't say the video size would be big! technically it could do it.
"Technically" every device with some kind of CPU and video output and CD interface can do it
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 November 2016, 12:59   #109
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 1,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
"Technically" every device with some kind of CPU and video output and CD interface can do it
Well exactly.... and as nice as this is working on winuae, i would like to see it running on real Amiga hardware, is this possible what with the extended roms being used, can they be patched in software?
Amigajay is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 13:21   #110
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
Didnt the Insight discs have some ok video clips and worked on CDTV.

The closest we got to Mad Dog was Town With No Name

but id be intrested to see what the CDTV could do.

How many fps was Mad Dog on Mega CD?

O and there was Sherlock Holmes - Consulting Detective on the CDTV

Last edited by Retro1234; 27 November 2016 at 13:29.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 13:50   #111
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
*impossible* *serious?* *not interesting enough*
and now 2 yrs later it's done

#1) for instruction follow my little guide.

Last edited by emufan; 27 November 2016 at 14:29.
emufan is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 14:03   #112
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
Yes thanks to Toni again
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 14:18   #113
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
#3) how do they do the timing? are there some hidden frames or is it the filelength?
i thought we could just use any video file, but this does not work, why not?
you have to convert the video file to ntsc, you can do so with ffmpeg:
23.976fps:
ffmpeg -i video-pal.mp4 -r ntsc-film video-ntsc.avi
ffmpeg -i video-pal.mp4 -filter:a "atempo=0.959040959040959" -r ntsc-film video-ntsc.avi
29.97fps:
ffmpeg -i video-pal.mp4 -r ntsc video-ntsc.avi
ffmpeg -i video-pal.mp4 -filter:a "atempo=0.959040959040959" -r ntsc video-ntsc.avi
--> not sure about the audio filter option (lists many errors), but the result you can now use with any ALG game

#2) if you get the blue screen (aka problem with videofile) with a valid video file, just try to switch the genlock mode
to "Video file" and then back to "American Laser Games" - i think there is some instability.

Last edited by emufan; 27 November 2016 at 16:28.
emufan is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 16:51   #114
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 560
Thanks for the great help, emufan.
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 17:13   #115
waldiamiga
morphos.pl

waldiamiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kraków, Poland
Posts: 51
Thanks emufan for help and hint.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	alg2.jpg
Views:	889
Size:	107.0 KB
ID:	51055  
waldiamiga is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 17:25   #116
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
Thanks for the great help, emufan.
Quote:
Originally Posted by waldiamiga View Post
thanks emufan for help and hint.
np, good it is working for u too
emufan is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 19:34   #117
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquawkBox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Do you (or other contributors to this thread) know how the disc's video (or complete) content may be dumped?
You may use Isobuster or maybe UltraISO to dump the game, or at least extract the files to your HD (both are shareware).
Thanks for your suggestions. Both appear to be compatible with CDi media. I downloaded trial versions of both last night with the intention of trying to dump the disc today, but events seem to have overtaken me in the meantime:

Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
Ripped the CD-I footage of Mad Dog McCree, it looks like a no-go. Order appears to be wrong so it's unplayable. If anyone wants the footage anyway I can upload to Mega.

Edit: It also seems to have CD-I specific credits in the video, suggesting that they've at least inserted footage.. and FFMPEG threw all sorts of errors converting it, but also in VLC it seems to be very unstable near the end of the video. I'm getting the feeling trying to rip from home conversions will be a waste of time.
prowler is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 23:04   #118
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 45
Posts: 40
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
Anyway, you couldn't have done it by simply using the trial version,
if such was your idea. A CD ripping tool is probably featured for free on ubuntu platforms and similar, but all we have amongst Windows users for that purpose is crippled "demo" software.
SquawkBox is offline  
Old 27 November 2016, 23:23   #119
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,841
If anyone else wanted to try CD-I, there's a file with the extension "RTF" in the CD-I version (not rich text format..!) which contains graphics and video, at least some of which can be converted with FFMPEG. Use ISOBuster to get the file from the CD-I disc image, even the trial version works.

Regarding 3DO, files can be ripped from the image using the "4DO" emulator, but there's so many of them it would be a painful process stitching them all together.
earok is offline  
Old 28 November 2016, 02:51   #120
Tomislav
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Zagreb / Croatia
Posts: 142
If your mouse don't work in "Input" configuration select your mouse and check "Device Enable" (upper right check box). That worked for me.
Tomislav is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Laser Squad" games thread (eg. "Evil" ) nittamituaki support.Games 18 18 May 2018 20:38
Lamborghini American Challenge from Titus dlfrsilver request.Old Rare Games 18 17 June 2015 12:45
Question from a dumb American. illy5603 support.Hardware 43 19 September 2009 01:27
Lamboghini American Challenge Marlon Amiga scene 5 21 January 2004 17:07
American versions Peanutuk Nostalgia & memories 8 23 October 2001 20:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12953 seconds with 16 queries