English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinFellow

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 July 2009, 00:31   #1
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
WinFellow crashes on Windows 7 with high/overscan resolutions

Hi there,

any volunteers to retest?
Well I can utterly sense the remarks "What's the big idea? WinFellow on Win7?"; yet it's not about WinUAE bashing at all here (nor is it any silly "who's cooler" competition crap), but mere technical interest.

superturrican it was you who rekindled my interest on this because I weren't using WF for AGES.
Otherwise I would probably never have found out about the instability of WF on Win7...

To get the facts straight: I encountered a CRASH in 0.4.4 build 2 (latest).

I started off with a vanilla config folder.
Inserted Kickstart ROM, no other modifications except:

resolution 640x512
line mode: doubled

Everything works fine.

But once I try ANYTHING beyond that resolution, WinFellow will crash. (Even 640x576 will make it crash)

Can anybody of you guys reproduce this on his Win7 box?
This is really a very interesting issue. On Windows 2000 this worked fine even in 768x576.

Last edited by andreas; 25 July 2009 at 00:45.
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 July 2009, 00:35   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Sorry, but is there really a point on trying a program that wasn't updated for over two years on an OS that isn't even officially released yet?
TCD is offline  
Old 25 July 2009, 00:37   #3
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
I have not experienced this problem, I have not used winfellow in a long time and have just tried it with my Win 7 partition and it seemed ok with me

The system i am running it on uses an old Radeon 3870 GPU with Catalyst 9.6 drivers if that is any help? Also uses an Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 CPU. I have no problems with different resolutions and i also tested it with default Winfellow settings.

Maybe you should try changing your graphics drivers if any other versions are avialable for Win 7?

Edit: I also agree with CyberDruid
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 25 July 2009, 00:39   #4
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
I said it above: mere technical interest why it crashes on the new Windows.
(BTW this could also happen on Vista, which I don't have to hand, though)

Furthermore I'd appreciate it a lot if I'm not required to repeatedly explain myself henceforth, because I'd just like to know what might be causing this.

@PowerPie: come to think of it, yes it could *indeed* be a graphics driver issue.
Thanks for testing, by the way. So I should probably experiment a little with newer/older Detonator*) versions
(Nvidia FX5200 here; yeah still )

The fact that the non-overscan resolution works might mean that WF finds the default resolutions, but not the more "exotic" ones

*) aka ForceWare

Last edited by andreas; 25 July 2009 at 00:46.
andreas is offline  
Old 25 July 2009, 00:44   #5
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas View Post
I said it above: mere technical interest why it crashes on the new Windows.
(BTW this could also happen on Vista, which I don't have to hand, though)

Furthermore I'd appreciate it a lot if I'm not required to repeatedly explain myself henceforth, because I'd just like to know what might be causing this.

@PowerPie: come to think of it, yes it could *indeed* be a graphics driver issue.
Thanks for testing, by the way. So I should probably experiment a little with newer/older Detonator versions
(Nvidia FX5200 here; yeah still )
First of all i would check your graphics configs under Win 7 and adjust or change the drivers if necessary as it is a display related issue.
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 25 July 2009, 00:49   #6
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
"Check my graphics configs"? What do you mean by that exactly?
andreas is offline  
Old 25 July 2009, 00:59   #7
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas View Post
"Check my graphics configs"? What do you mean by that exactly?
Make sure your GPU has properly detected your display and all supported resolutions are availbale to windows, also check that all supported refresh rates are enabled and remove any resolutions and refresh modes that your display cannot handle - you can normally find this in your graphics driver panel.... this is just a suggestion and may not be the problem (are you getting a blank screen crash?) .

Edit: most GPU drivers will be quite buggy at the moment with Windows 7 and may work with some software and not others.
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 25 July 2009, 01:02   #8
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
@andre: is it asking/sending out a crash report for M$? if so all you can do now is wait a few months and they will fix it, i'm sure of that - they fixed my Space Hulk remake problems in Viśta after a few weeks
Shoonay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen resolutions dtr1001 support.FS-UAE 2 22 August 2013 01:36
Winfellow on Windows Vista rodi support.WinFellow 83 13 November 2011 21:12
can you load WHD zip images (windows) on winuae/winfellow carmel_andrews support.WinUAE 1 03 December 2008 12:18
help with Mechforce screen resolutions Unregistered support.WinFellow 5 10 June 2005 23:11
Workbench 3.0 monitor resolutions thinlega request.Apps 6 23 October 2004 13:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14326 seconds with 14 queries