English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 July 2015, 19:03   #1
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 130
Kipper2K a604mb: How to keep in place.

Hey,

I was wondering if anyone has devised any creative way to hold the kipper2k a604mb board in place over the 68K?

http://kipper2k.com/a600fastmem.html

Mine frequently pops off.

Thanks
vext01 is offline  
Old 05 July 2015, 19:13   #2
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 521
Haven't had any problems with mine! Maybe a blob of hot glue on the outside of each corner?
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 05 July 2015, 20:20   #3
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 130
Right onto the CPU? Or you mean on the mainboard?

I guess that's an option.
vext01 is offline  
Old 06 July 2015, 01:47   #4
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 521
I was thinking of the main board that way you could have easy access to take it off. (outside edge)
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 06 July 2015, 11:31   #5
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,772
He made two small holes in the expansion which lines up with holes in the MB. You can solder wires between the MB and the expansion which will keep it securely in place.
demolition is offline  
Old 06 July 2015, 13:02   #6
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 46
Posts: 1,216
Same issue with my a508ide, it keeps coming loose on the socket causing the machine often not to start at all. Need to open it up and push the card, not ideal!
dirkies is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 15:57   #7
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 130
@demolition, are we talking about the holes marked "ack"? One bottom left of CPU, one upper right?

vext01 is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 16:04   #8
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,772
Here's a pic from Kipper2k's site showing how:


I'm not sure if it is ok to connect those vias to the ground plane or if they should be isolated. I guess maybe you could put some small cable ties around the wire instead of soldering it in so there's no connection.

Edit: As you can also see, the large hole lines up with the HDD cradle as well.
demolition is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 16:15   #9
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 130
Hrm, what page is that on, on his site? I can't seem to find it. Looks good, but as you say, I need to know if the cables need to be isolated.

I also found this (http://kipper2k.com/a600fastmem.html):


Sadly I don't have the mounts.
vext01 is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 16:16   #10
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 130
I guess as long as you connect ground plane to ground plane, you are all ok.
vext01 is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 16:17   #11
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by vext01 View Post
Hrm, what page is that on, on his site? I can't seem to find it. Looks good, but as you say, I need to know if the cables need to be isolated.
Have no idea which page it is shown on - Google found the picture for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vext01 View Post
I guess as long as you connect ground plane to ground plane, you are all ok.
I guess one could measure with a multimeter if those points are indeed ground or not but since it says 'ack' next to them, it would seem like they are not.
demolition is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 16:21   #12
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 130
I think what I will try (at some point) is using wires, one end insulated with a knot, the other end stripped and soldered. This means we don't make a connection, but can get enough tension in the wire.
vext01 is offline  
Old 23 July 2015, 17:41   #13
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,749
Hi,

The "Ack" hole (isolated line, not electrically connected to anything) is just a hole i strategically placed to try to feed a wire through to try to anchor the boards for those tough A600s. I did design a new anchoring system which appears to be working for those pop offs... it should work with both fastmem boards and current and future Vampire boards

http://kipper2k.com/a600fastmem.html

check out the mounts (bottom picture)

Last edited by kipper2k; 23 July 2015 at 17:47.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 28 July 2015, 23:20   #14
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 130
Thanks @kipper2k.

So it seems I should be able to solder cables from anywhere on the a600 main board to the ack holes without busting anything? If they are tight, it should anchor the board.

If you recommend against this, would you be willing to share your mount design, so that I could get some printed locally?
vext01 is offline  
Old 07 October 2015, 21:21   #15
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 130
Or does anyone else have a 3d printable design I could use?
vext01 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where is kipper2k? portarinos Amiga scene 15 30 June 2015 19:04
help for A600 4MB Kipper2k board emilen72 support.Hardware 2 10 February 2015 12:03
Kipper2k 8MB+IDE tested Photon Amiga scene 16 27 June 2014 12:21
Kipper2k 4MB memory expansion scarrabri support.Hardware 2 21 January 2013 00:41
Kipper2K HDMI Audio Output bbond007 support.Hardware 4 04 October 2012 01:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07960 seconds with 13 queries