English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 11 October 2008, 15:12   #1
ScoobyM

A1200 HD upgraded advice sought

Hi all,

I am new to EAB and have only recently become an Amiga owner. I always wanted one as a child but was unable to afford it and, by the time I'd finished my education and got a job, Commodore went out of business and the dream faded.
However I have now been fortunate enough to have been given an A1200 and my interest has been resurrected and the dream fulfilled.

As far as I can tell it is a standard A1200 with 2Mb RAM, a 42Mb HD and nothing in the trapdoor (...yet ). It came with the suite of Workbench 3.0 disks and from that I assume it is also on Kickstart 3.0...although, to be honest, I wouldn't know where to look to find out for sure.

Anyway, to get to the point of this thread...

I have bought an Hitachi 4.3Gb HD to replace the old and noisy 42Mb Connor one in there at the moment and have also bought the suite of Workbench 3.1 disks, mainly because I didn't have the 3.0 HD Install disk.

I've searched the forum for information on the A1200 and HD and understand there is a 4Gb limit and also that any individual partition must be less than 2Gb. I've also read about creating a boot partition but, to be honest, from there it all starts to go over my head a bit.

(Please correct me if any of my understanding up to this point in wrong)

It may be worth mentioning that I intend to get as much of the software that I have (...and will continue to accumulate ) onto the HD as I possibly can. This includes games (via WHDLoad I assume at this stage), productivity stuff (word processor, graphics, animation, etc.) and programming (Basic, AMOS, etc.) which I want to learn.

The questions I have are:

How many partitions should I create and how big should they be?
Should I create one partition for each area of interest, e.g. games, productivity, programming, etc.?