English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinFellow

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 January 2002, 08:19   #1
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Exclamation *DOS* Fellow problems with my Athlon TB box

Hi.

Just to test a game similar to the one Galahad discovered as a dirty hack using hardwired JMPs, I fired up good ol' Fellow DOS 0.3.2a on my Win2k box, Athlon TB 1.333 GHz, because this emulator version has always been invaluable for games with " broken" code.
But what did I see?
SPEED FASTER THAN A ROCKET ...

I tried with every setting imaginable but absolutely neither any intro nor demo were playable. Everything ran as if you had switched to WARP mode in VICE [C64 emulator]...
I set sound to "Emulated, no sound output" because I cannot get sound yet with Win2k.
Seems I have to install another Windows (9x) to get a reasonably SLOW speed again...
BTW: Does DOS Fellow work on XP, actually?
andreas is offline  
Old 16 January 2002, 10:25   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 3,704
Is your Win2k on NTFS ??? Cause I noticed the same issue on Win NT4 and NTFS, so I guess it´s a filesystem thing ! My friend got Win 2k installed on Fat32 and Fellow (DOS) runs at normal Speed on a 1,7GHz. P4 !!
RetroMan is offline  
Old 16 January 2002, 12:04   #3
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 40
Posts: 2,929
I also recommand to everyone to jump back to FAT32 for speed performance. (if you did'nt use security folders or files > 2Go)
RCK is offline  
Old 16 January 2002, 12:51   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,916
Why not jump then back to win9x if performance is everything ?

Seriously, I like NTFS because it is journaled. No need for loooong chkdsk if system crashes because of too big overclocking attempts or something similar
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 January 2002, 19:53   #5
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Hooooo

@RetroMan:
Everything but NTFS.
C:\ is FAT (not FAT32 in order to access the C: partition using any boot disk if something screws up completely), the F: Disk (where my DOS Fellow resides) is FAT32.
No NTFS...but still lunatic speed.
andreas is offline  
Old 16 January 2002, 21:08   #6
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 3,704
Big grin HA !! I found a way around it !

Go here : http://www.hpaa.com/moslo/ and download the MOSLO util !! With that one you can clock down your system with software untill 4,77Mhz No joke ..... I just tested it on a Win2k computer and it works really well, you just need to find the optimal settings for your system to run fellow (DOS) smoothly
RetroMan is offline  
Old 17 January 2002, 00:28   #7
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,362
Yes that app has been around for a while, of course it was mainly used to get older MS-DOS apps to run on faster 386/486 boxes at the time these were written to run on an old XT box.

Also maybe somebody knows this for sure, but isn't this app basically a NO-OP type of program? One that adds a bunch of no-op's to delay the CPU cycles. Just wondering is all
jmmijo is offline  
Old 17 January 2002, 00:31   #8
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 3,704
I guess it´s working like that, mainly because only the game (or emu) itself is affected, if you switch to Win with Alt-Tab for example, it´s the normal CPU speed ....
RetroMan is offline  
Old 17 January 2002, 00:40   #9
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I tried Mo'slo before. It's mostly ok but sometimes it cannot keep the same speed and get too fast for a few moments.

This page has some similar programs:
http://www.geocities.com/kulhain/

I prefer turbo because it a windows application.
 
Old 17 January 2002, 12:04   #10
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 925
Re: *DOS* Fellow problems with my Athlon TB box

Quote:
Originally posted by andreas
I set sound to "Emulated, no sound output" because I cannot get sound yet with Win2k.
Seems I have to install another Windows (9x) to get a reasonably SLOW speed again...
I think "Emulated, no sound output" is the problem. If you use WinUAE and disable the sound emulation, it runs to fast, too.
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 17 January 2002, 13:46   #11
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Arrow

Not always.
"Disabled but emulated" and "Disabled" isn't the same thing (I hope).
andreas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DOS Fellow no sound ruffian support.WinFellow 6 09 November 2009 09:43
Mount an HDF in wb1.3 under Fellow (Dos/Win) superturrican2 support.WinFellow 10 30 September 2009 01:19
PC DOS Games box - for free! Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 19 31 August 2006 21:41
DOS Fellow? Action Replay Codes?? parabolee support.WinFellow 3 12 July 2005 23:21
For those of you that must run old MS-DOS games, DOS Box has been ported Pyromania Amiga scene 19 06 June 2003 11:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07170 seconds with 15 queries