English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 March 2016, 15:01   #1
padremayi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
[SOLVED] Final Fight on AMIGA 500+ (500 Plus), not 500!

Hi everyone!

Recently I found my AMIGA 500+ in my car box.

I have a kickstart switcher for choosing 2.04 or 1.3 kickstart but I have a problem with Final Fight.

Is there a way to play this game on AMIGA 500+? I know that the problem is a bad programming of the game that crashes on 1MB Chip RAM machine.

Thanks to all

SOLVED

EDIT
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
...It seems after booting sf (Street Fighter) without Startup-Sequence you only have about half the chip...

...I just copied track 0 from sf (Street Fighter) to ff (Final Fight) disk 1 and it seemed to work...

...Street Fighter is shocking
I confirm, that method works on real AMIGA 500+ hardware with kickstart 2.04, NOT 1.3 using optional switcher BUT...

Copying track 0 from SF to FF floppy results in copy all sectors that are inside the track 0. Not all of these sectors are from bootblock, you risk to overwrite important data of Final Fight!!!

The correct way is to use BootBase in order to copy Street Fighter bootblock to Final Fight floppy (Final Fight fixed floppy is in the attachment)

END EDITING
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Attached Files
File Type: zip Final Fight Disk A (C)1991 - Fixed for A500Plus.zip (756.3 KB, 45 views)

Last edited by padremayi; 09 March 2016 at 15:27.
padremayi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 March 2016, 15:05   #2
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,863
I had a offical release that didnt boot on 500+ I use to hold down Crtl-D on another game or App Dpaint I think then swap disks and type Final.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 15:07   #3
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,790
So it's problem with startup-sequence or bootblock?
s2325 is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 15:08   #4
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,863
BootBlock - well just booting from a different disk made it work.iirc relokick didnt work.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 15:12   #5
padremayi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
I had a offical release that didnt boot on 500+ I use to hold down Crtl-D on another game or App Dpaint I think then swap disks and type Final.
So, do I have to load another software and then run Final Fight with Ctrl-D from it? What kickstart version? I have to switch on 1.3 with the switcher or boot from 2.04? Could you explain better this point? Many thanks
padremayi is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 15:14   #6
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,863
See if anyone else has any ideas? Seems strange it wont boot on Kickstart 1.3
Can you write adfs

I can upload a boot disk that should work.

ctrl-d just stops the boot process on something like Dpaint etc
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 15:24   #7
padremayi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
See if anyone else has any ideas? Seems strange it wont boot on Kickstart 1.3
Can you write adfs

I can upload a boot disk that should work.

ctrl-d just stops the boot process on something like Dpaint etc
With kickstart 1.3 the game won't boot. The same with kickstart 1.3 and TUDE or Degrader.

Could you explain the sequence step by step in order to play Final Fight on 500+?

Is it this?

1) Boot whatever software
2) Press Ctrl+D
3) Switch floppy
4) Type Final

Is it OK?
padremayi is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 15:25   #8
padremayi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Can you write adfs
Yes, I use Amiga Explorer and a serial cable
padremayi is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 15:26   #9
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,863
Yep disk must be Amiga Dos I think I used Dpaint or terrible Street Fighter 1 as boot disk
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 15:29   #10
padremayi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Yep disk must be Amiga Dos I think I used Dpaint or terrible Street Fighter 1 as boot disk
Is there a precise timing on when I should press Ctrl+D?
padremayi is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 15:38   #11
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,790
You may use DOS disks from multi disk games, just boot from second or third disk and insert Final Fight disk when you see cli, then type final.
s2325 is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 15:54   #12
padremayi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
You may use DOS disks from multi disk games, just boot from second or third disk and insert Final Fight disk when you see cli, then type final.
I created a bootable floppy with "install" command on Workbench.

When I insert this disk after 1 second I see CLI.
I type FFC! (is the executable crack file) and after the crack screen I see again the CLI, then type Final, the game load but after a while crashes.

Nothing changed between this method and TUDE or Degrader

Last edited by padremayi; 07 March 2016 at 16:02.
padremayi is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 16:00   #13
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,790
Try different cracking crew or don't run crack intro.
s2325 is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 16:00   #14
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,863
Is there not a known working crack?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 16:08   #15
padremayi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
It doesn't work.

Boo Boo what do you use, 1.3 or 2.04 kickstart?

When I switch the disk I have to write df0: before digit Final. Otherwise the system ask me the boot disk.

If I use Final without the executable crack the game won't load
padremayi is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 16:36   #16
padremayi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
Could you please do a try?

My Final Fight floppy boots normally, the problem isn't the boot but the bad programming of this game that apparently works only on 512KB (AMIGA 500) machine
padremayi is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 17:09   #17
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,863
I'll have a look later I still have the original that can be written with powercopy but I would think there is a working crack somewhere
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 19:27   #18
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,863
For me it always works when I boot from this adf?
Attached Files
File Type: zip sf.zip (452.7 KB, 39 views)
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 19:30   #19
padremayi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
For me it always works when I boot from this adf?
AMIGA 500+??? It is important the Plus.

Do you boot from 1.3 or 2.04?

When you press Ctrl+D? How about the floppy? Do you use an original version of Final Fight?
padremayi is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 19:32   #20
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,863
Under WinUae Quickstart A500+ Kick 2..

I just tested with a crack - hold on ill test some more cracks
These are the disk images I use

Last edited by Retro1234; 07 March 2016 at 19:45.
Retro1234 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 500 mod to Amiga 500+ kipper2k Hardware mods 29 17 April 2018 02:06
Easy amiga 500/500+ games MRTomppa Nostalgia & memories 9 01 December 2015 11:41
Amiga 500 and gvp 500 hd advise.. 0Danne0 support.Hardware 5 27 February 2014 12:15
Compatibility with Amiga 500 and 500+ games ErickDF Amiga scene 2 23 May 2008 20:16
WTB: Amiga 600, 500, 500 +, 1200 (NTSC) JeremyDay MarketPlace 2 30 November 2006 03:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24187 seconds with 13 queries