English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 May 2016, 19:35   #781
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
Jungle Strike was published by UK company Ocean Software, which licensed a load of EA games EA Hockey, Skitchin, Mutant League Hockey etc, I doubt the game ever made it stateside in 1994.
That is true AmigaJay, however it would be nice to play it in NTSC mode if it is glitch free
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 23 May 2016, 19:38   #782
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,094
The Desert Strike ISO should be remade using CD32Load v0.27 and FILECACHE/PRELOAD option if possible.

FILECACHE: cache entire disk image to RAM: less CD I/O errors
CD32load v0.27: introduces a read delay that has been proven successful against I/O errors & so-called "grinding" noise.
jotd is offline  
Old 23 May 2016, 20:15   #783
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitesnake View Post
That is true AmigaJay, however it would be nice to play it in NTSC mode if it is glitch free
I doubt any NTSC code is in the actual game which is why it forces PAL.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
The Desert Strike ISO should be remade using CD32Load v0.27 and FILECACHE/PRELOAD option if possible.

FILECACHE: cache entire disk image to RAM: less CD I/O errors
CD32load v0.27: introduces a read delay that has been proven successful against I/O errors & so-called "grinding" noise.
Do you recommend using FILECACHE as much as possible when using 0.27? Seems logical to put as many games into ram if they can fit.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 23 May 2016, 20:18   #784
Retro1234
Banned

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,643
Does CD32LOAD have the NTSC parameter like WHDload/JST etc I havent tried yet, It would be cool if the CD32 compilations had a option to play in NTSC as alot of games play better imo.

Last edited by Retro1234; 23 May 2016 at 20:28.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 23 May 2016, 20:42   #785
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,094
Filecache will work for most games, even 1mb with std 901120 bytes diskfiles.
If used with bigger diskfiles you will get a buffer overlap fatal red screen ex mk2, stardust, other 12-sectored diskfiles.
It is ok if game only needs 512k.
With file based games (means the biggest file doesnt exceed 400k), it also works very well, even with kickemu games which need $140000 bytes.
Total game+diskfile mem cannot exceed $1e0000 bytes or there is no more room for cd buffer.
Well, I think I can attempt something too in that case...
jotd is offline  
Old 24 May 2016, 00:29   #786
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,322
@Retro1234 From my limited testing CD32Load's NTSC parameter works flawlessly, even when booted in PAL mode (WHDLoad usually gives me an error when I attempt the same).

@jotd Desert Strike it seems to work fine (limited testing, not on real console yet) with CD32load 27 and filecache. Thanks for that

Whitesnake is there any chance I can call in a favour and get you to redo that test with the below download?

https://mega.nz/#!pEBUBBBR!La-YwwWlr...l1nX8tEAzYDZig
earok is offline  
Old 24 May 2016, 09:08   #787
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,322
@jotd this may be a dumb question but I thought I should see if you had any ideas.

Games like Final Odyssey, The Strangers etc have no slaves because there's no problem with HDD access, but they still really need a keyboard to be played.

Do you think it might be possible for them to run via a "generic" slave since they're DOS games, or do they really need specific slaves?

(I might be tempted to see if I can disassemble them and hack in rough CD32 pad support into the executable..)
earok is offline  
Old 24 May 2016, 17:10   #788
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,094
There's a generic slave somewhere. The problem is the memory settings, and do they need kick3.1 if so we're stuck.
You could also create a program which hacks VBL to send key events like CD32load does. I think Akira is working on something like that.
jotd is offline  
Old 24 May 2016, 21:01   #789
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
@Retro1234 From my limited testing CD32Load's NTSC parameter works flawlessly, even when booted in PAL mode (WHDLoad usually gives me an error when I attempt the same).

@jotd Desert Strike it seems to work fine (limited testing, not on real console yet) with CD32load 27 and filecache. Thanks for that

Whitesnake is there any chance I can call in a favour and get you to redo that test with the below download?

https://mega.nz/#!pEBUBBBR!La-YwwWlr...l1nX8tEAzYDZig
I still get the red screen when picking up the guy from on level 1 mission 4
command centers.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 25 May 2016, 01:37   #790
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,322
ouch are there any messages on the screen or does it just go red? If there are messages can you recall what it said, or have any screenshots?

There's an option to disable "in game movie sequences", does it work with that turned off? (Hope that's not too much to ask, I know it takes a bit of time to get to that part of the game).

I'll do my own testing when I have time.
earok is offline  
Old 25 May 2016, 07:02   #791
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,094
The abaddon slave is beta. Maybe it's the slave itself that has a problem.
But knowning the error message would be a good idea.
jotd is offline  
Old 25 May 2016, 19:12   #792
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 400
When you pick up the Command Center Officer you first get this.



After that screen disappears you get this.



No error message or code, it just stays on the red screen.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 25 May 2016, 20:38   #793
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,094
v0.28 (to be released):

- improved "red screen of death" display for AGA games (sometimes it just remained black on error). Thanks Galahad & Toni for that ones

I'll try with v0.28
jotd is offline  
Old 25 May 2016, 21:02   #794
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
v0.28 (to be released):

- improved "red screen of death" display for AGA games (sometimes it just remained black on error). Thanks Galahad & Toni for that ones

I'll try with v0.28


Youre doing great work
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 25 May 2016, 23:47   #795
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 50
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitesnake View Post
When you pick up the Command Center Officer you first get this.



After that screen disappears you get this.



No error message or code, it just stays on the red screen.
Damn...I guess I will be forced to play this again to test the slave. I will test with the common images first as I developed it using images that are a bit different than the SPS version.
Abaddon is offline  
Old 26 May 2016, 01:23   #796
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,322
@Abaddon it may not be an issue with the slave, from what JOTD said it appears it might be an issue with CD32Load.
earok is offline  
Old 26 May 2016, 15:27   #797
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 400
I just tested Jungle Strike CD32 WHDLoad version in 60hz NTSC mode and it runs nice and smooth So it is probably worth investigating a way to patch the Jungle Strike CD32 executable to run in 60hz mode or give the option.

One thing I did notice about the WHDLoad version of Jungle Strike CD32 was that it disables the CD32 control? can anyone confirm this?

Last edited by Whitesnake; 26 May 2016 at 15:40.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 26 May 2016, 22:56   #798
Phantasm
Not a Rebel anymore
Phantasm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Age: 47
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Well, I'm the one who adapted the game from floppy to CD officially
That's very interesting how did that come about? I am the one who did the original floppy mastering and load routines. I would love to hear the story behind the original CD release. PM me if you dont want to post the details here :-)
Phantasm is offline  
Old 26 May 2016, 23:28   #799
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,094
Hey, sorry to have ruined your protection It's a small world. I'll PM you unless other people want to hear about the story, in which case I'll open a separate thread.
jotd is offline  
Old 27 May 2016, 00:28   #800
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
CD32Load

Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Hey, sorry to have ruined your protection It's a small world. I'll PM you unless other people want to hear about the story, in which case I'll open a separate thread.


Love to hear it and lol
Vot is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11368 seconds with 13 queries