English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 October 2014, 14:17   #1
Liquidsnake
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Malmberget /Sweden
Posts: 29
Buddha Ide card Phoenix edition

Hi
I'm planning on using the Buddha card in my A3000D. Is it possible to boot from this if you have a cf-carf attached to it ? Or will the Amiga automatically boot from the scsi-drive ?

I really would like it to boot automatically but if you can choose it as a bootdrive in the early bootmenu that will due
Liquidsnake is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 14:49   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,999
The Buddha is bootable.

The partition with the highest boot priority will boot, no matter where the harddrive is connected to. You can change boot priorities in HDToolbox (or a similar program). If you set the priority of the Buddha HDD higher than the SCSI one, it will boot from the Buddha.

All boot partitions will be shown in the early startup menu, so you can choose there anyway.
thomas is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 16:42   #3
Liquidsnake
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Malmberget /Sweden
Posts: 29
Well, that sounds excellent !
One more thing: I assume all I have to do to make it appear in the early-startup is connect to the molex cable ?
If that's what it's called
Liquidsnake is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 19:12   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquidsnake View Post
Well, that sounds excellent !
One more thing: I assume all I have to do to make it appear in the early-startup is connect to the molex cable ?
No, that's not enough. Only partitions are shown in the early startup menu, not harddrives. Before you see something in early startup, you have to create one or more partitions. With HDToolbox (or a similar program) as you might have guessed.

Quote:
If that's what it's called
Molex is the power cable only. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Molex
You have to connect the data cable, too. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parallel_ATA
thomas is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 20:08   #5
Liquidsnake
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Malmberget /Sweden
Posts: 29
Well the card is plugged in and I connected a cf-adapter, but I can't get it up and running.

The controller card is in the zorro-port, and it has a connector that you have to use if you want to use harddrives with it, so I connected that, however I used the one that usually goes to the floppy since I didn't have anything else, could that be a problem ?
Cause I can't find the device, with the software that came with it, or idefix 97
Liquidsnake is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 23:12   #6
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,750
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquidsnake View Post
Well the card is plugged in and I connected a cf-adapter, but I can't get it up and running.

The controller card is in the zorro-port, and it has a connector that you have to use if you want to use harddrives with it, so I connected that, however I used the one that usually goes to the floppy since I didn't have anything else, could that be a problem ?
Cause I can't find the device, with the software that came with it, or idefix 97
Buddah device is there on boot, so if its not seeing drive, then theres a problem with drive.

What else do you have connected to buddha?
FOL is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 23:55   #7
watsonfmly
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 59
A floppy cable will not work.

A regular 3.5" hard drive takes a 40 pin cable (+ a power cable)
A 2.5" hard drive takes a 44 pin cable (that includes power - however if you use one of these you must run power to the buddha card)
watsonfmly is offline  
Old 09 October 2014, 02:30   #8
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,750
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by watsonfmly View Post
A floppy cable will not work.

A regular 3.5" hard drive takes a 40 pin cable (+ a power cable)
A 2.5" hard drive takes a 44 pin cable (that includes power - however if you use one of these you must run power to the buddha card)
Good spot, I thought he was talking about the Floppy molex connector.
Using a floppy ribbon cable, will bend a few pins on the header, so you will see its not right.
FOL is offline  
Old 10 October 2014, 23:59   #9
Liquidsnake
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Malmberget /Sweden
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Buddah device is there on boot, so if its not seeing drive, then theres a problem with drive.

What else do you have connected to buddha?
At the time I wrote that comment I had a cf-adapter plugged into the card. Nothing else
Liquidsnake is offline  
Old 11 October 2014, 00:00   #10
Liquidsnake
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Malmberget /Sweden
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by watsonfmly View Post
A floppy cable will not work.

A regular 3.5" hard drive takes a 40 pin cable (+ a power cable)
A 2.5" hard drive takes a 44 pin cable (that includes power - however if you use one of these you must run power to the buddha card)

I know about the 40 and 44 pin cables, but I was only using a cf-adapter, connected to the 40-pin on the buddha though.
Liquidsnake is offline  
Old 11 October 2014, 00:01   #11
Liquidsnake
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Malmberget /Sweden
Posts: 29
Could it be that my cf-card isn't compatible with buddha or should most of them work ?
Liquidsnake is offline  
Old 11 October 2014, 00:17   #12
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,999
There is a patch for the Buddha driver to work with CF cards: http://www.doobreynet.co.uk/amiga.html

The required eb_final archive is available there: http://wiki.icomp.de/wiki/File:Eb_final.lha
thomas is offline  
Old 11 October 2014, 05:48   #13
watsonfmly
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 59
Take a picture of how you have it hooked up. Your description is confusing to me. You said "so I connected that, however I used the one that usually goes to the floppy....", then you said you know about cables.

Please take pictures so that we may help you.
watsonfmly is offline  
Old 11 October 2014, 14:09   #14
Liquidsnake
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Malmberget /Sweden
Posts: 29
I'll get a picture fo you tonight
Liquidsnake is offline  
Old 11 October 2014, 22:42   #15
Liquidsnake
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Malmberget /Sweden
Posts: 29
Btw, I got the scsi drive connected to a scsi-controller card in my pc. So I won't be using the buddha it seems
Liquidsnake is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buddha Phoenix Flash Edition Problems Vicky support.Hardware 39 15 January 2016 04:50
FS : Buddha Flash Phoenix Edition o0Nosferatu0o MarketPlace 4 23 June 2013 14:51
Buddha Flash Phoenix Edition Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 8 13 June 2008 16:56
For Sale: Buddha Flash Gold Phoenix edition keropi MarketPlace 7 27 February 2007 17:06
Buddha Flash Phoenix Edition is an IDE controller for all Zorro based Amigas. CFOU! support.Hardware 15 22 June 2006 18:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11789 seconds with 13 queries