English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 November 2008, 11:28   #1
D4Ni3L3
Registered User

D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Age: 48
Posts: 316
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
AmiTCP 3.0b2 + D-Link PCMCIA Problems!

Hello Amigos,

I was trying to put on line my A1200 with OS3.9 and PCMCIA D-Linki DE-600+ .

And the seller of this card showed me this guide of AmiTCP 3.0b2
http://www.acc.umu.se/~patrikax/amig...miTCP_Install/
And of course I know that there are available newer version of the AmiTCP but I wanted a guide step by step like the one linked above.

So first of all I donwloaded

CardPatch.lha and
CardReset.lha from Aminet and depacked them in C: and added

C:CardPatch
C:CardReset

at the very few lines of the user-startup.

Then I downloaded the cnet drivers and prepared the DEVS:networks/cnet.device.

Then I installed AmiTCP 3.0b2 following the guide linked above.

All seems to be fine but having on the boot the writing that some files are not executable I go to tick "execute" by the icon information menu every file. Then it happens that if I reboot the Amiga I have:

ifconfig: ioctl (SIOCGIFFLAGS): no such interface
add host amiga.something.com: gateway localhost
add net default: gateway 192.168.1.1: Network is unreachable

Loging:
Password:

whathever I use as Login or Password do not let me enter. I used as name: amiga_user like in the guide but no way. So I paste here the content of the file: AmiTCP:db/passwd

root|*|0|0|The Judge|SYS:|shell
rcsid|*|-1|-1|$Id: passwd-example,v 1.5 1994/02/25 22:00:22 ppessi Exp $||
nobody|*|-2|-2|System User|sys:|cli
daemon|*|1|5||sys:|cli
bin|*|2|2||c:|cli
adm|*|4|4||usr:adm|cli
ppessi|*|15082|100|Pekka Pessi,,,(90) 464 919|userspessi|shell
too|*|16664|100|Tomi Ollila,,,563-5733|users:too|shell
puhuri|*|17681|100|Markus Peuhkuri,G218,4512462,4521992|usersuhuri|shell
jraja|*|17686|100|Jarno Tapio Rajahalme|users:jraja|shell
erkki|*|1024|100|Testi Erkki|users:erkki|shell
guest|*|1|99|Anonymous Guest|users:guest|cli
aminet|*|300|300|AmiNet FTP|pd:|cli

So please help me:

1) What are login and password?

2) And why my network is unreachable?

On the PC I have:
IP Address 192.168.1.61 Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0 Gateway 192.168.1.1

And for the Amiga I have chosen as IP 192.168.1.181

Many Thanks Guys!!!
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 07 November 2008, 19:37   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,008
To avoid the login prompt, just remove the login command from your startup script.

Your network is not reachable because the interface could not be configured for some reason.

If you are familiar with AmigaDOS scripts you can examine this one and adapt it to your needs: http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online...ad/makenetboot

It creates a bootable floppy disk with network software and mounts a network share so that you can access files on a PC. Of course you have to add cnet and PCMCIA stuff yourself, currently it's configured to use an x-surf.

The avantage of it is that it only creates those files which are really needed and only with minimal contents.
thomas is offline  
Old 07 November 2008, 19:49   #3
D4Ni3L3
Registered User

D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Age: 48
Posts: 316
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Dear Thomas it would be a bit difficult for me understand all this script.

I have read on other threads that you wrote a guide for let the Amiga surf the web or am I wrong?

Anyway what do you think could be the problem of my configuration since the network is unreachable?

Many Thanks
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 08 November 2008, 13:03   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,008
Quote:
I have read on other threads that you wrote a guide for let the Amiga surf the web or am I wrong?
I've read this, too, but I don't remember any such guide and there is no link. Perhaps it was another Thomas.

Quote:
Anyway what do you think could be the problem of my configuration since the network is unreachable?
I'm not sure what could be wrong, but I think we should check everything from the beginning.

First, edit s:user-startup, find the AmiTCP section and remove everything except

Code:
;BEGIN AmiTCP/IP
setenv HOSTNAME amiga
assign AmiTCP: Workb:AmiTCP
path AmiTCP:bin add
;END AmiTCP/IP
If you reboot you'll see that the annoying login prompt is gone.

Now open a Shell window, cd to amitcp:db and edit netdb. This the main configuration file. It does not need to be changed, but you'll have to read it. There are numerous lines beginning with WITH. These lines include other files which might need to be changed.

The first file is netdb-myhost. Load it into the text editor and examine it. The most important lines are

Code:
; This host
HOST 192.168.1.181 amiga
; Name servers
NAMESERVER 192.168.1.1
Everything else can be removed.

The second file which is included is hosts. You don't need to change it, but if you want to refer to your computers by names rather than by IP addresses it is useful to add these names here. For example:

Code:
192.168.1.1     router
192.168.1.61    pc
192.168.1.181   amiga
All other files included by WIDTH don't need changes.

The next important file to check is interfaces. Load it into the text editor and check that it contains a line reading

Code:
cnet dev=devs:networks/cnet.device
You can remove everything else if you like. This one line is the only one needed.

Now finally edit the startnet script in amitcp:bin. After editing all important parts it should look like this:

Code:
run >nil: AmiTCP:AmiTCP
WaitForPort AMITCP
; configure loop-back device
AmiTCP:bin/ifconfig lo0 localhost
; Configure devs:networks/cnet.device unit 0
AmiTCP:bin/ifconfig cnet0 192.168.1.181 netmask 255.255.255.0
; Add route to this host
AmiTCP:bin/route add amiga localhost
; Add route to the default gateway
AmiTCP:bin/route add default 192.168.1.1
Assign TCP: Exists > NIL:
IF Warn
  Mount TCP: from AmiTCP:devs/Inet-Mountlist
EndIf
; Start the internet `super server'
run >nil: AmiTCP:bin/inetd
As a test you should enter each command from the startnet file into the shell window one by one. You can use cut&paste from the editor into the shell window.

run >nil: amitcp:amitcp

should return immediately.

waitforport AMITCP

should return immediately.

ifconfig lo0 localhost

should return without messages.

ifconfig cnet0 192.168.1.181 netmask 255.255.255.0

should return without messages. This is the most important part. If an error occurs here, there is something wrong with cnet.device or the PCMCIA port/drivers/patches.

route add amiga localhost

should give a confirmation message.

route add default 192.168.1.1

should give a confirmation message.

Now your network is ready and you should be able to

ping pc

without errors. Next time you can just run amitcp:bin/startnet to start the network.
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCMCIA Networkcard problems TroelsDK support.Other 0 19 February 2013 23:36
PCMCIA ram card problems Nikolaj_sofus support.Hardware 5 20 January 2011 08:28
Release link problems haynor666 project.SPS (was CAPS) 23 16 June 2010 11:50
PCMCIA format problems SeeD32 support.Hardware 10 13 December 2009 12:13
PCMCIA network problems (again). Thorham support.Hardware 11 14 October 2009 12:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06317 seconds with 13 queries