English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 October 2007, 18:59   #1
AmiNost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: paris france
Posts: 15
Unhappy Goldengate 486SLC and GVP 040 Combo problem

Hi all,

I've a problem for making A2000B works with a Goldengate 486SLC 16MB bridgeboard and an accelerator GVP 040 Combo 16MB.
All others hardwares like supraram2000 8MB, SCSI controller A2091, graphic card piccoloSD64 4MB are disconnected.

Each card works perfect separatly, note that 486SLC works fine with 1MB chip ram or with supraram configurated with less than 6MB otherwise Amiga hungs and freezes, so I guess it's a problem of ZorroII 8M's limitation?

Seems like that the card comes with extended memory as default setting? I can't find Expanded/Extended jumpers setting.
I would like to know how to configurate GVP 040 combo(filled with 4x4MB in burst mode) so that it won't share memory and used ZorroII's bus address?

486SLC runs properly with 040 if NoFastram is used, but my aim is to use a PC ISA network card combined with PiccoloSD64 & GVP 040 with all the memory available for connecting to internet and sharing network.

AmiNost is offline  
Old 10 October 2007, 19:07   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
sorry I can't really help with this, but my gg486slc was not happy either with my Cyberstorm MK2 060 on my A4000D... it just was not working OK... maybe there is some compatibillity problem with specific accelerators?
keropi is offline  
Old 10 October 2007, 20:01   #3
AmiNost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: paris france
Posts: 15
@keropy
thanks for reply, hope someone has better solution
AmiNost is offline  
Old 13 October 2007, 00:32   #4
AmiNost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: paris france
Posts: 15
Hi again!
After countless trials, I finally make them working together!!

The problem is due to the jumper J400? J900? (at the bottom of the jumper which dis/enable the real time clock) under the A2000B's PSU, the jumper was opened, I closed it then no any freeze!

I've also solder a PC coin batterty & 2X16 bit ISA slot in A2000B mainboard
Now the time is accurate, and adding 16 bits ISA PC cards aren't any more a nightmare
AmiNost is offline  
Old 13 October 2007, 02:22   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
please take pictures.... please please please please

for those of us addicted to hardware pr0n.....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 October 2007, 02:55   #6
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
ah, 4x16bit ISA slots... I had mr. Rubisch solder those 2 extensions on my rev6.2 mobo too
keropi is offline  
Old 13 October 2007, 18:26   #7
AmiNost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: paris france
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
please take pictures.... please please please please
for those of us addicted to hardware pr0n.....
No pb, some pictures taken:

Mainboard view


Jumper J900


PC battery & diode


16 bit ISA



486SLC boot


Running Soublaster Fmorgan


Running gg from shell Workbench


My personal steam turbine
AmiNost is offline  
Old 13 October 2007, 18:29   #8
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
truely......

truely.............

TRUELY......................


AWESOME!


Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 October 2007, 18:34   #9
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 42
Posts: 3,251
Holy moly, you've got more cards in there than a card shop!
Paul_s is offline  
Old 13 October 2007, 19:10   #10
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
you show-off!

here is my WIP A2000 , after an electrecity accident... the result was a dead scandoubler and some mobo fixing... all OK now, still waiting for a scandoubler , an apollo2030/50 accelerator (gonna sell the gvp030/40 16MB one), an A2000 HD floppy and the gg386+486slc2 for it...







keropi is offline  
Old 13 October 2007, 19:12   #11
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
also AmiNost , I see you use an 8bit SB2 sound card... trully the most compatible card I tested with gg , and I have tested about 20 different isa cards! I found that 16bit ones create some isa-overhead and they slowdown some times...
I now use the creative 1350B models (SB 2.01)
keropi is offline  
Old 20 October 2007, 14:12   #12
AmiNost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: paris france
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
also AmiNost , I see you use an 8bit SB2 sound card... trully the most compatible card I tested with gg , and I have tested about 20 different isa cards! I found that 16bit ones create some isa-overhead and they slowdown some times...
I now use the creative 1350B models (SB 2.01)
Amazing, you A2000 looks like new!
Did it cost you a lot for repair?
I have 16 bits card and haven't tested yet with GG, maybe someday, my priority now is setting up "emunet" (bridgeboard utility which let you use PC network card), but I have no clue...
what are baseaddr, boardaddr, emunetd.exe parameter, sana2 config file... I get mad.
I've installed Scout, saw emunet.device addr, GG card addr and so on, modified emunet.cfg file in env/sana2 folder, but still no luck
AmiNost is offline  
Old 20 October 2007, 15:14   #13
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
hm, I have no idea, I have an ariadne
also the repair costed nothing, I fixed it
keropi is offline  
Old 23 October 2007, 09:20   #14
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,785
Try running enforcer before you try to use the goldengate.
Jope is offline  
Old 23 October 2007, 10:10   #15
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
hm, I have no idea, I have an ariadne
also the repair costed nothing, I fixed it
Hey, are you JJB #3?
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 23 October 2007, 10:39   #16
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGAZ View Post
Hey, are you JJB #3?
perhaps....

keropi is offline  
Old 23 October 2007, 10:47   #17
Jakodemus
Registered User
Jakodemus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
A2000 HD floppy
Does this work with your GG as a 1,44mb drive?
Jakodemus is offline  
Old 23 October 2007, 12:06   #18
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakodemus View Post
Does this work with your GG as a 1,44mb drive?
on my A4000, the amiga HD floppy works like a normal PC-1.44MB floppy... but it is slower than a real one.
keropi is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: GVP G-force 040@40Mhz Combo psodas MarketPlace 5 24 September 2011 22:55
GVP 040 combo for A2000 johnroberts support.Hardware 10 26 September 2008 21:28
GoldenGate 486SLC and OS3.9 keropi support.Apps 17 10 October 2007 19:43
FS: GVP 040 Combo with 16 mb Ram coze MarketPlace 3 15 May 2007 02:06
GVP 040 Combo doesn't recognize SIMMs astuermer support.Hardware 9 28 May 2005 18:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08465 seconds with 13 queries