English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 February 2020, 21:28   #21
darkwave
Registered User
darkwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 154
Just joking about the speed, 68k has it's limits. My A600 is running on a Plipbox so I'm sure that's more of a bottleneck than anything else. I'll still look forward to turbocharged HTTPS on my 060 for 2.5.3 though!

As for the crash, it was indeed the screen size. My A600 was running at 640x256 so there wasn't enough vertical space. Setting the screen to interlaced lets me change the settings to remove the text from the buttons and claim back a few of those 256 vertical lines.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Futaura View Post
What do you mean by crash? It runs on the same process as IBrowse, so if IBrowse is still working, I guess you mean it has stopped updating and/or responding? How about pressing the Esc key with the settings window active - that should close it.
To clarify what happened; when selecting the menu option GUI -> Navigation Toolbar, the Settings Window disappears, leaving IBrowse working as normal. The Settings window can no longer be opened until restarting IBrowse, presumably because it will keep trying to open on the Navigation Toolbar option which it cannot display.
darkwave is offline  
Old 26 February 2020, 22:15   #22
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkwave View Post
The AmiSSL crash fix was enough to cement a purchase from me. I'll happily support active development of something that will let me browse the web with my 68k Amigas, no matter how slow the experience!

I do have a minor issue on my 030 A600 though. When trying to access GUI->Navigation Toolbar in Settings, the settings menu crashes. I cannot get it back until I restart IBrowse. IBrowse continues to function, just no more Settings menu. The problem doesn't happen on my 060 A1200. Both systems running OS 3.1.4.

Anyone else had this? And is there any other way to edit the settings? Are they editable in a file anywhere?
I have exactly the same problem on A1200/030. Tried both MUI 3.8 and 3.9, same problem.
duga is offline  
Old 26 February 2020, 22:27   #23
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futaura View Post
Wouldn't everything sell much more if it were half price?

See http://www.amiga-news.de/en/news/AN-...-00021-EN.html for my take on pricing. IBrowse 2.4 users can buy IBrowse 2.5 for as little as 16.99 USD. I'm more keen not to short-change existing IBrowse users, most of whom will have already paid more than 60 USD on it throughout IBrowse's lifetime.
I would've dropped the discount for 1.x owners (making them pay full price) and lowered the full price with €10. Nothing wrong with a discount for 2.x owners though.

Thanks for 2.5.2 that fixed SSL on my non FPU system!
duga is offline  
Old 27 February 2020, 08:39   #24
Storm
SYS64738

Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 46
Posts: 26
I am using 2.5.2 right now on my A4000 to view this thread. Very nice indeed. Even though I am already a registered Ibrowse user, I really wish you would halve the price so more people would get on board. In the end you'd actually make more money from this fine software, as more people would be interested in getting a registered copy.
Storm is offline  
Old 27 February 2020, 08:42   #25
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,185
Like me, I still think it's too expensive. Even when Netsurf is causing my heartaches like causing CF cards getting validation errors.
spudje is offline  
Old 29 February 2020, 18:39   #26
Futaura
Registered User

Futaura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkwave View Post
As for the crash, it was indeed the screen size. My A600 was running at 640x256 so there wasn't enough vertical space. Setting the screen to interlaced lets me change the settings to remove the text from the buttons and claim back a few of those 256 vertical lines.

To clarify what happened; when selecting the menu option GUI -> Navigation Toolbar, the Settings Window disappears, leaving IBrowse working as normal. The Settings window can no longer be opened until restarting IBrowse, presumably because it will keep trying to open on the Navigation Toolbar option which it cannot display.
Yes, I'm seeing the same here. I'm not sure browsing the web will be a pain free experience on 640x256 . I think MUI 3.x just gives up trying to open the window, as there is not enough space, even after switching to tiny fonts. It's not just that settings page that will pose problems - there are others which won't fit either and cause the same problem.

Back on my A1XE I ran IBrowse on a 640x256 screen size and with MUI 5.0, MUI rather helpfully sticks scrollbars on the IB settings window instead of giving up on opening it. Not sure if MUI 4.0 does the same too - certainly 3.9 does not.
Futaura is offline  
Old 01 March 2020, 13:01   #27
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futaura View Post
Yes, I'm seeing the same here. I'm not sure browsing the web will be a pain free experience on 640x256 . I think MUI 3.x just gives up trying to open the window, as there is not enough space, even after switching to tiny fonts. It's not just that settings page that will pose problems - there are others which won't fit either and cause the same problem.

Back on my A1XE I ran IBrowse on a 640x256 screen size and with MUI 5.0, MUI rather helpfully sticks scrollbars on the IB settings window instead of giving up on opening it. Not sure if MUI 4.0 does the same too - certainly 3.9 does not.
So the solution for the "disappearing MUI window" is to avoid MUI 3.x and use at least 4.0?
duga is offline  
Old 01 March 2020, 14:06   #28
Futaura
Registered User

Futaura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by duga View Post
So the solution for the "disappearing MUI window" is to avoid MUI 3.x and use at least 4.0?
Yes, or enlarge your screen size using the Overscan settings, for example, or just making it bigger (you'll be able to scroll around the visible portion). Or using a higher resolution screenmode, obviously.
Futaura is offline  
Old 01 March 2020, 15:06   #29
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futaura View Post
Yes, or enlarge your screen size using the Overscan settings, for example, or just making it bigger (you'll be able to scroll around the visible portion). Or using a higher resolution screenmode, obviously.
Even if it's possible (using Super HiRes etc.) it's not a especially good idea with AGA and a 1084S.

I'll upgrade from MUI 3.9 to 4.0 then.
duga is offline  
Old 01 March 2020, 15:50   #30
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 415
So:
4.0-2016R3: I cannot open the Settings at all.
5.0-2019R4: Problem seems to be solved.

I should mention that after installing and before testing 5.0 and changed to the default OS3 MUI settings. I didn't do that for 4.0.

So, the "IBrowse 2.5 will still work with MUI 3.8 (although, we recommend 3.9 as a minimum)" should probably be changed to "IBrowse 2.5 will still work with MUI 3.8 (although, we recommend 5.0 as a minimum)".
duga is offline  
Old 01 March 2020, 17:26   #31
SID-6581
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Oldenburg/Germany
Posts: 46
I really want to have IBrowse 2.5 but i cant afford it. 54,99 EUR are a slap in the face!
SID-6581 is offline  
Old 26 March 2020, 11:09   #32
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 118
Store is unavailable?
512k is offline  
Old 26 March 2020, 11:22   #33
Futaura
Registered User

Futaura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by 512k View Post
Store is unavailable?
See https://www.ibrowse-dev.net/news.php?id=1584982745 - Tsohost are to blame, displaying unbelievable incompetence and monumental trail of errors, when migrating my account internally to a new server . When I explain the faults in great technical detail, their "technical support" don't seem to grasp anything, so I'm having to to sort everything myself where possible. If it wasn't for the current health situation, I'd be moving to another provider.

I'm working on a solution for the store to get the backend system working again asap.
Futaura is offline  
Old 26 March 2020, 11:23   #34
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 118
Thanx for the info
512k is offline  
Old 29 March 2020, 23:47   #35
AMike
Registered User
AMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: near Vienna/Austria
Posts: 232
Today I installed the AmiSSL Update 4.5 and the speed has increased impressively in combination with 2.5.2 - I am completely thrilled. With this update IBrowse is very usable again - I am currently writing this post on a A1200 with V1200 - tests on the 060 systems will follow. Thanks for the great update!!!
AMike is offline  
Old 29 March 2020, 23:58   #36
Futaura
Registered User

Futaura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMike View Post
Today I installed the AmiSSL Update 4.5 and the speed has increased impressively in combination with 2.5.2 - I am completely thrilled. With this update IBrowse is very usable again - I am currently writing this post on a A1200 with V1200 - tests on the 060 systems will follow. Thanks for the great update!!!
More performance to come in IBrowse 2.5.3 which will avoid SSL handshaking bottlenecks by using SSL session caching and persistent connections.
Futaura is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 08:43   #37
AMike
Registered User
AMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: near Vienna/Austria
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futaura View Post
More performance to come in IBrowse 2.5.3 which will avoid SSL handshaking bottlenecks by using SSL session caching and persistent connections.
Great, looking forward to the next update. Thanks
AMike is offline  
Old 31 March 2020, 18:40   #38
Futaura
Registered User

Futaura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by 512k View Post
Store is unavailable?
Now back online.
Futaura is offline  
Old 03 April 2020, 09:33   #39
AMike
Registered User
AMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: near Vienna/Austria
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMike View Post
Today I installed the AmiSSL Update 4.5 and the speed has increased impressively in combination with 2.5.2 - I am completely thrilled. With this update IBrowse is very usable again - I am currently writing this post on a A1200 with V1200 - tests on the 060 systems will follow. Thanks for the great update!!!
I have now tested the update on my A1260/60Mhz. The speed advantage was noticeable, but not as enormous as with the V1200. I guess removing the FPU dependencies helped the Vampires a lot.
AMike is offline  
Old 03 April 2020, 09:53   #40
Futaura
Registered User

Futaura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMike View Post
I have now tested the update on my A1260/60Mhz. The speed advantage was noticeable, but not as enormous as with the V1200. I guess removing the FPU dependencies helped the Vampires a lot.
Which versions are you comparing? There will be no speed difference between 4.4 and 4.5 on a real 68k processor. On a 68060, 4.4/4.5 will be a whole lot faster than previous versions - the FPU was only really used by GCC as extra register storage, to avoid memory accesses, rather than any math operations.

I would assume the 68020-40 version will be fastest on Vampires, and probably any 68k emulation, due to it using the 64-bit multiplication/division instructions and faster assembler optimised big number routines. The 68060 version is really only useful for real 68060 processors as it avoids those instructions (that are software emulated on a 68060, as it doesn't have them, causing traps/exceptions which really slow things down) and instead has to use slower routines.

For example, "OpenSSL speed rsa" is not much faster on a 68060 than a 68040 due to the above.
Futaura is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ibrowse 2.5 Misclegend support.Apps 1 18 December 2019 20:19
IBrowse 2.5 fatbob_gb News 73 27 October 2019 18:28
IBrowse 2.4 fortytwo support.Apps 4 22 July 2007 15:41
IBrowse 2.4 - It's almost done! Paul News 12 23 December 2006 02:56
Ibrowse narud17 Amiga scene 4 04 December 2004 20:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09431 seconds with 14 queries