English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 August 2005, 14:12   #1
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 238
How do you remove A1200 FDD?

I've tried unplugging the floppy drive on my amiga, but, it takes longer to boot to the Workbench screen without it and the pointer is a permanent "busy" symbol. How is this resolved please?
Shrub is offline  
Old 27 August 2005, 17:20   #2
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
How come you removed it in the first place?
Its a wonder your A1200 even boots without it.
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 27 August 2005, 20:07   #3
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 238
I don't need it, I have everything booting from IDE. It must be possible to remove the drive - I've seen people put zip drives in the space they take up
Shrub is offline  
Old 28 August 2005, 00:08   #4
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,064
Maybe something is trying to access the floppy. Move things like PC0: from DevsOSDrivers over to StorageOSDrivers. You might also check your WBStartup folder to see if there are any programs there trying to access it (ie. CrossDOS).
adolescent is offline  
Old 28 August 2005, 02:23   #5
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 238
ah, it could be pc0, cheers.
Shrub is offline  
Old 28 August 2005, 05:20   #6
kuesco
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Argentina
Posts: 15
The safe way to remove the floppy disk is putting a wire betwen pins 2 and 5 of the floppy port in the motherboard of the amiga, this way the system stops waiting for a reply from the drive. Without this wire the amiga displays a DF0? icon just because they believe the drive or disk has gone faulty (and of course the amiga tries to access the disk from time to time slowing down all the system).
kuesco is offline  
Old 29 August 2005, 20:05   #7
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 238
Thanks. The pins are numbered in the sense that odd numbered pins are at the back panel side of the amiga and even more to the front?
Shrub is offline  
Old 29 August 2005, 20:48   #8
kuesco
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Argentina
Posts: 15
Well, first of all i apologise because i maked a mistake.
The pins you need to connect are 2 and 10. (NOT 2 and 5)

They correspond to signals:

pin 2 - Diskchange
pin 10 - Select drive 0

done this, the amiga thinks there is an empty DF0: drive and don´t display any wrong icon.

The connector is 34 pins in the up right area of the 1200 motherboard and if you look closelly, you see its numbered and marked as "floppy port".

The pin 1 is marked with a small white triangle.
I don´t remember if the odd pins are in wich row but if you find the triangle, the rest is easy.
kuesco is offline  
Old 30 August 2005, 01:53   #9
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 238
Thanks. I've done it, I vaguely remember that pin 3 was supposed to be missing so it was easy to see from that.
Shrub is offline  
Old 30 August 2005, 04:07   #10
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
So will this prevent the delay during boot as well?
 
Old 30 August 2005, 12:10   #11
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 238
I haven't checked the boot speed. My PSX monitor's had come loose so I was focusing mostly on that. Workbench itself seemed fine though.
Shrub is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
remove spacebar? hardwir3d support.Hardware 5 14 March 2013 18:03
Apple external FDD on an Amiga A1200? Aus1200 support.Hardware 3 04 February 2009 00:26
1.76mb A4000 FDD -> A1200 Heavyweight7t6 support.Hardware 14 06 September 2006 14:53
A1200 FDD problem Eny- support.Hardware 4 16 June 2004 13:53
Installing an external FDD internally to an A1200 manicx support.Hardware 6 22 January 2004 18:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07441 seconds with 15 queries