English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 February 2020, 17:35   #1
CubeTheory
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Liverpool/UK
Posts: 42
Possibly a Stupid external drive question.

Hi.

I've got a Roctec slim external drive, that I've replaced the belt on and cleaned, and is working fine I. got it off my Brother-In-Law, years ago.

I also have a bog standard external drive housing with a Gotek in.

the Roctec has a 3 position switch 0-I-II and the gotek housing just has an on-off switch. the Gotek is set as S0.

When I plug the roctec directly into the amiga, it works fine, reading and writing, however if I plug it into the gotek, it will only read.

I've played around with the switch, assuming I was DF1: and II was DF2: but im not sure. I don't have a box or manual anymore.

Does anyone know what the correct configuration would be to get these working together?

its going into a Rev 6a Amiga 500 with both 1.3 and 2.04

Thanks
CubeTheory is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 19:10   #2
matburton
Registered User

matburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by CubeTheory View Post
the Roctec has a 3 position switch 0-I-II
I would have expected position 0 to be the one to choose if it's controlling the SEL line to respond to.

The way the drive daisy chaining works is that each external drive normally shifts the select lines down by one for the next drive. So all external drives would use 'position 0'. Most external drives don't have such a selector switch for that reason AFAIK?
matburton is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 22:51   #3
CubeTheory
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Liverpool/UK
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by matburton View Post
I would have expected position 0 to be the one to choose if it's controlling the SEL line to respond to.
0 Disables the drive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by matburton View Post
The way the drive daisy chaining works is that each external drive normally shifts the select lines down by one for the next drive. So all external drives would use 'position 0'. Most external drives don't have such a selector switch for that reason AFAIK?
Just been playing around with the drive, and it turns out that switching it to 1 will work! it formatted the disk. I'm a bit confused because I thought I had tried this, obviously not.

Switching it to 2, I can copy files to the disk, but not format it.

No Idea of the purpose of the switch being on 2.

As I say, im sure i tried all this. the only thing that's changed is the A500 is running on my new PSU, not my old one.
CubeTheory is offline  
Old 12 February 2020, 06:34   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,772
Probably an anti virus switch in this case, forbids writes to track 0.
Jope is offline  
Old 12 February 2020, 10:01   #5
CubeTheory
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Liverpool/UK
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Probably an anti virus switch in this case, forbids writes to track 0.
Good shout! I never thought of that. Thanks
CubeTheory is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External floppy disk drive question Kenan support.Hardware 7 27 May 2013 20:22
External drive question Old Fool support.Hardware 6 22 November 2011 18:01
Dopus question (possibly stupid) rossb New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 12 April 2010 10:03
external floppy drive question now :( technium support.Hardware 2 02 September 2004 09:05
Very stupid question... dreamkatcha Amiga scene 46 08 May 2002 00:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10607 seconds with 15 queries