English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2015, 02:24   #1
Zippy Zapp
Registered User

Zippy Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CA/USA
Posts: 323
Lightbulb Amiga Video Cable for Sony PVM Monitor

Hi All,

I recently acquired a Sony PVM-14M4U with a nice picture. I am told and have found threads suggesting that this is a good monitor for Amiga and classic gaming systems like SNES and Genesis. The guy I got it from was one of the original designers of the Amiga 1000, so I trust he knew what he was talking about. (You never know who you are going to meet in Berkley!)

The monitor has RGB and external sync BNC connectors so I need to either purchase or make a cable to interface it with Amiga. I have a couple choices I suppose. The easy method would be to use my existing 1084-D1 monitor cable that has a DB9 and make a DB9 to BNC cable.

Ideally I would like to make or have a separate cable. If I understand this correctly the cable will be wired like so:

Pin 3 Analog Red and Pin 16 for Ground (Red) --->BNC Red
Pin 4 Analog Green and Pin 17 for Ground (Green) --->BNC Green
Pin 5 Analog Blue and Pin 18 for Ground (Blue) --->BNC Blue
Pin 10 Composite SYNC and Pin 19 for Ground (CHV) ---> BNC Ext Sync

Am I missing anything? Is there a BNC cable that anyone knows of already made?

Also besides eBay is there a decent source for DB23 connectors and hoods here in the USA?

Thoughts?

Thanks!
Zippy Zapp is offline  
Old 23 January 2015, 07:04   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,772
Thoughts, eh. I have some 20" BVMs at home. I use a silver adapter + a VGA -> 5bnc cable. Simple, easily available, didn't have to waste any time soldering it together.

Then I have a coax ethernet T connector where I connect both syncs on the ends and the T connector is screwed into the sync terminal at the monitor.

Please note: summing the syncs by just connecting them together is not a good idea, but the buffer chip in the silver adapter is what is taking the damage, so I decided to not care. Here's a circuit for generating a real CSYNC signal from HVSYNC http://www.epanorama.net/circuits/vga2rgbs.html.

Another option if you want something that is easily available, also this one uses the Amiga's own CSYNC signal, so you don't have to bite your nails regarding that:
http://www.retrogamingcables.co.uk/c...lead-cord.html
and
http://www.retrogamingcables.co.uk/s...erter-bnc.html

If you plan on getting more RGB scart cables for various home consoles, you might want to consider the sync cleaner version of the scart -> PVM cable.

You don't have to hook up the RCAs in either cable, just connect your amplifier / active speakers directly to the Amiga.

Oh yeah and a little taste of the image quality on a 20" BVM20F1E with the silver adapter + VGABNC cable:
http://jope.fi/bvm2.jpg

Absolutely no signal processing there between the Amiga and the BVM, just the silver sync buffer dongle for easy D23 -> HD15 conversion.
Jope is offline  
Old 23 January 2015, 07:28   #3
Zippy Zapp
Registered User

Zippy Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CA/USA
Posts: 323
That is an awesome picture, very clean.

I bought this cable, even though SCART is nonexistent in the USA.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Commodore-Am...-/250786119867
I bought it with the intention of using the SCART to HDMI converters. However those turned out to be not the best solution.

I have seen a female SCART to BNC, but they are out of stock right now.

I do have one of the C= silver VGA adapters, 390682-01. Hmm.

Thanks for the info, Jope, you are awesome!
Zippy Zapp is offline  
Old 23 January 2015, 09:21   #4
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,525
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I use the BNC-Scart cable as linked in Jope's thread, it works great for everything I tried so far, I play on mine my Sega Master System II which is RGB-Scart modded, my Amiga A600 and A500, these look amazing on the screen. I also hook up my Neo Geo MVS:

[ Show youtube player ]

These really are a fantastic display, I hope the cables come back into stock as they are very well made and will let you use all sorts of Scart based devices on your Sony PVM

They also work great for S-Video stuff like my 3DO and even AV(Composite) connection is very clear, I've hooked up my PC Engine CoreGrafX via Composite and it was near perfect image.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 23 January 2015, 13:24   #5
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,690
I will use VGA to BNC cable with replaced plug (HDB15 to DB23).
pandy71 is offline  
Old 23 January 2015, 16:15   #6
Zippy Zapp
Registered User

Zippy Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CA/USA
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
I use the BNC-Scart cable as linked in Jope's thread, it works great for everything I tried so far, I play on mine my Sega Master System II which is RGB-Scart modded, my Amiga A600 and A500, these look amazing on the screen. I also hook up my Neo Geo MVS:

[ Show youtube player ]

These really are a fantastic display, I hope the cables come back into stock as they are very well made and will let you use all sorts of Scart based devices on your Sony PVM

They also work great for S-Video stuff like my 3DO and even AV(Composite) connection is very clear, I've hooked up my PC Engine CoreGrafX via Composite and it was near perfect image.
Nice video. That is clean. Oh cool can't wait to get all this stuff hooked up. I need to get cables for Genesis and SNES too. Thanks for the info.
Also reminds me how much I miss my Turbo Duo and wish they weren't $600 on fleeceBay or else I would buy one. I have a 1702 for my C64 but maybe with a modded cable for S-Video this monitor would be clean for that too? Have you tried a C64?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy71 View Post
I will use VGA to BNC cable with replaced plug (HDB15 to DB23).
I need to find some DB23 connectors. I wish they still had them at local electronics. Does anyone know if they still manufacture these connectors?

I found some BNC cables for a honeywell security system for like $3 that should fit the bill. Could cut the cable in half and make two cables.

Thanks!
Zippy Zapp is offline  
Old 23 January 2015, 16:33   #7
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zippy Zapp View Post
I need to find some DB23 connectors. I wish they still had them at local electronics. Does anyone know if they still manufacture these connectors?

I found some BNC cables for a honeywell security system for like $3 that should fit the bill. Could cut the cable in half and make two cables.

Thanks!
Accordingly to market practice* you should modify DB25 plug


*Please Note: due to the lack of supply of 23-pin connectors, we are now forced to supply trimmed 25-way modified connectors which have been cut down to 23-way (2x holes removed). These modified connectors will fit the Amiga's video port without any problems. We have now reduced the price of this adapter.

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=183
pandy71 is offline  
Old 23 January 2015, 16:37   #8
Zippy Zapp
Registered User

Zippy Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CA/USA
Posts: 323
@pandy71
Yeah I do remember seeing that on Amigakit. But then I see places like retrogaming and retro cable companies that do not use cut down and wonder where they are getting their supply. Perhaps they bought a truckload of them way back when...
Zippy Zapp is offline  
Old 23 January 2015, 16:59   #9
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zippy Zapp View Post
@pandy71
Yeah I do remember seeing that on Amigakit. But then I see places like retrogaming and retro cable companies that do not use cut down and wonder where they are getting their supply. Perhaps they bought a truckload of them way back when...
http://sourcing.alibaba.com/selloffe.../50045852.html

free sample?
pandy71 is offline  
Old 23 January 2015, 17:02   #10
Zippy Zapp
Registered User

Zippy Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CA/USA
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy71 View Post


Free Sample. I love free samples. Especially when it is electronics or food.
Zippy Zapp is offline  
Old 25 January 2015, 11:00   #11
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 679
My thoughts are don’t go telling everyone!
Unless you’re a purist and have to have a CBM, these are superior monitors.
They recently cleared some B&W units out when our broadcast station did an upgrade,
but I don’t see too many colour units close enough for me to pick up.
xArtx is offline  
Old 25 January 2015, 11:02   #12
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 679
Jope, doesn’t every Amiga at least have a monochrome output available?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Please note: summing the syncs by just connecting them together is not a good idea, but the buffer chip in the silver adapter is what is taking the damage, so I decided to not care.
xArtx is offline  
Old 25 January 2015, 11:08   #13
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by xArtx View Post
Jope, doesn’t every Amiga at least have a monochrome output available?
No.

Luma only = A500/B2000, composite = A1000, A600, A1200, CDTV, CD32.

A2000/A3000/A4000 only have RGB, however some A2000s were shipped with a composite board in the video slot (A2031/A2032).
Jope is offline  
Old 25 January 2015, 11:13   #14
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 679
I presume the stock output on the A500 would contain composite sync since it can still drive a mono display?
I don’t know all the ins & outs of the signal, but presume the image information on a line
would have a lower range so as not to reach digital (TTL) level so as not to confuse display hardware.

edit.. so I presume I can take that for the RGB monitor sync for A500.
xArtx is offline  
Old 25 January 2015, 11:23   #15
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,772
Yeah, the luma connector has sync included.
Jope is offline  
Old 25 January 2015, 11:29   #16
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 679
Ok, that’s one less thing to worry about.

Looking at the circuit I wonder why it can’t be done with one single OR gate
so long as H and V sync were both free of any image data.

WTF? This all comes down to the OR gate in the middle.

xArtx is offline  
Old 25 January 2015, 12:11   #17
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
A2000/A3000/A4000 only have RGB, however some A2000s were shipped with a composite board in the video slot (A2031/A2032).
Actually the A2000 does have a monochrome output.

Hewitson is offline  
Old 25 January 2015, 12:25   #18
bdb
Registered User
bdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Yes, monochrome
bdb is offline  
Old 25 January 2015, 13:49   #19
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 679
Then I’d be surprised if Csync wasn’t available on the D connector as well for that model,
but if it isn’t, that’s one straight RCA to BNC lead, and three more to worry about for the D connector.

I wish this thread would go away for a couple of months
Hewitson, one closed on eBay Aus today (Central NSW). Trinitron colour PVM.
and it didn’t even make the $10. It was just a bit far for me to drive.

You might want to try not let that happen in your state

xArtx is offline  
Old 25 January 2015, 15:33   #20
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by xArtx View Post
Hewitson, one closed on eBay Aus today (Central NSW). Trinitron colour PVM.
and it didn’t even make the $10. It was just a bit far for me to drive.

You might want to try not let that happen in your state
I've got no interest in one. I have a 51cm Flatron and a 68cm Trinitron already, both are flat screen and equipped with RGB SCART.
Hewitson is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modification of floppy cable for sony drive _ThEcRoW support.Hardware 20 17 November 2013 12:20
GREAT Sony Monitor tesla support.Hardware 7 15 June 2013 23:01
Sony monitor, PVM 1342Q and my Amiga tesla support.Hardware 0 17 March 2013 15:12
What kind of Video Cable does this monitor requier? c0dehunter support.Hardware 3 07 May 2011 06:17
Wanted: Amiga Monitor Cable Macca MarketPlace 2 03 May 2008 16:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09411 seconds with 13 queries