English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 March 2013, 02:07   #1
videofx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 519
Drives not recognized in WinUae

I have 2 IDE hard drives. 1 has WB 3.9 on it and another that has Windows on it.

The WB 3.9 windows see it as a disk drive but doesnt show in WinUae and the Windows drive shows in Winuae but when I go to add it read/write is greyed and cant check it.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
videofx is offline  
Old 21 March 2013, 08:43   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,796
Run WinUAE as administrator.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 March 2013, 05:06   #3
videofx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 519
I did and no go
videofx is offline  
Old 22 March 2013, 08:16   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,796
I missed Windows drive part: WinUAE never allows PC partitioned drives in read-write mode (only exception is if they are all FAT partitions). You need to wipe it first.

EDIT: what are you trying to do? Partition the drive for Amiga use (need to wipe and repartition) or only accessing it under emulation? (Do not use add harddrive option!)

What "doesn't show in WinUAE" mean?

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 22 March 2013 at 08:57.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 March 2013, 15:25   #5
videofx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 519
Hi Toni,

What I am trying to do is take 2 IDE drives and using WinUAE install Classic workbench.

When I say it doesnt show in WinUAE what I mean is when you click the hard drive button the drive doesnt appear in the drop down list.

I have a screen shot attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uae.png
Views:	207
Size:	12.1 KB
ID:	34792  
videofx is offline  
Old 22 March 2013, 15:31   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,995
Check Windows disk management. If the HDDs do not appear there, then WinUAE has no chance.
thomas is offline  
Old 22 March 2013, 16:08   #7
videofx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 519
I did they show up in device manager under disk drives
videofx is offline  
Old 22 March 2013, 16:24   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,995
Check disk management, not device manager.

Edit: disk management is where you can create partitions or change drive letters.

Last edited by thomas; 23 March 2013 at 11:30.
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CF formatting and recognized under WinUAE D4Ni3L3 support.WinUAE 9 20 December 2012 16:19
Amiga Harddisk not recognized by WinUAE Walter Ralegh support.WinUAE 3 25 March 2007 13:36
AGA not recognized (apparently) in winuae 1.4.0 amiga support.WinUAE 3 11 March 2007 17:58
Can you have hard drives under wb1.3 in WinUAE? Bloodwych support.WinUAE 35 12 January 2005 16:47
winuae floppy drives skid New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 19 October 2004 17:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07212 seconds with 14 queries