English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 December 2011, 04:17   #1
Cooljerk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston, USA
Posts: 84
CD32 Analogic Floppy drive problems?

I picked up an analogic floppy drive a while back and I haven't been able to boot either games I've purchased for it. My CD32 itself works fine, booting CD32 games just fine. However, the two floppy disk games I own - Stardust (not super stardust) and Joe & Mac - won't let me play either.

Stardust will load the starwars style intro, but after that, the screen will go black and just hang there. The access light on the floppy drive turns off and it appears the unit is locked up until I hit reset.

With joe & mac, I can get a bit further. First it asks for the copy protection code, which I can enter. Then I get to the title screen, and I can access the options screen and make changes. However, the second I select "1-player game", the game loads like normal (with the same huge lines to indicate loading I see under WinUAE), and then black screen. Just when it seems like the game should start, I just get a black screen and it hangs.

Is this a problem because these are OCS/ECS games? Every review for the analogic floppy unit I've seen claims it's great for playing AGA games which weren't ported to the CD32 - so will it only run AGA games or something? Or is it a memory problem? The CD32 only has 2 mb of memory, and a chunk of that is taken up by the floppy drive unit itself.

I've got a few more games coming in the mail, one in particular is a big reason I picked up an amiga in the first place: Mr. Nutz. I'll be very bummed if I can't get the floppy to work with that game, even though it's available on the 350 game comp disk.

Anyone know what's up? Is my unit busted? Is there something I should try?
Cooljerk is offline  
Old 21 December 2011, 03:32   #2
Cooljerk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston, USA
Posts: 84
Some dude over on LemonAmiga gave me a tip which got Joe & Mac running. Booted up the CD32, disabled CDU Cache, and set the chipset to ECS, and the game runs like normal now!

Still can't get stardust to work, though. Any tips? Maybe it's just not compatible?
Cooljerk is offline  
Old 25 February 2012, 13:33   #3
nittamituaki
Cd32+Fdd User (CFU)

nittamituaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Japan
Posts: 131
...

Deleted.
If you're still interested in Analogic FDD system,
please visit my website.
I can update my website instead of these my posts at EAB.

Last edited by nittamituaki; 06 January 2018 at 08:29.
nittamituaki is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Analogic's CD32 disk drive expander unit mini review. Paul_s Hardware pics 100 27 August 2013 08:21
Analogic cd32 floppy nixxjsteve support.Hardware 12 25 February 2012 14:24
Analogic CD32 floppy drive questions twiggy support.Hardware 18 04 May 2010 02:43
CD32 Analogic Floppy Drive - Will it work w/SX32, small port on back? RGB_Gamer New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 05 March 2010 11:12
Amiga CD32 +Analogic's disk drive should it stay or should it go ? lolafg New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 10 December 2008 11:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06210 seconds with 13 queries