English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 April 2008, 01:05   #1
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 44
Posts: 263
Prometheus in A4000T

Anyone using a Prometheus in an A4000T?


I've just received one (thanks to Amije, A.org), and find that the bracket and pci boards physically conflict with the A4000T disk module.

I've got a potential solution, but that involves creating a pcb to "move" the zorro slot upwards and backwards within the case (45mm up, 50mm back).

Before I start, I'd be interested to know how others have got around this conflict.

Thanks



Rich
Boot_WB is offline  
Old 18 April 2008, 01:12   #2
Oli_HD
Collector

Oli_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: No longer active
Posts: 157
Sorry but my prometheus is still in its box after trying it out in my A4KT, it just doesnt go nice with the video module and disk module installed.
Your best bet is to get a right angled PCI adaptor with just how many slots you want, ideally cable mounted, to have the PCI cards facing the same way as the Prometheus. Expect to use a lot of cable ties though.
Oli_HD is offline  
Old 18 April 2008, 01:20   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@Boot WB

my friend, if you could take some pics i might be able to help.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 18 April 2008, 01:50   #4
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 44
Posts: 263
Zetro, I shall take some pics tomorrow night.

I think as a one-off I can make the PCB I have in mind just with an etching kit, but if there's any interest I might make a small run of them.
Do you have any recommendations for small scale PCB manufacture? IT would just be a simple 2-sided PCB etch - no through holes or vias required.

I've measured that the prometheus can be moved 45mm upwards and 50mm backwards whilst still closing the A4Kt. This will maximise clearance in front of the prommy for connecting cables (VGA, LAN, etc) and as a bonus the top PCI slot of the prommy should have enough clearance above the 5.25" bays for a longer pci card (eg Voodoo5) to be installed.

Regards



Rich
Boot_WB is offline  
Old 18 April 2008, 09:16   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@Boot_WB

http://www.futurlec.com/index.shtml

they have a PCB manufacturing service.

seems quite cheap too...
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 18 April 2008, 23:13   #6
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 44
Posts: 263
@Zetro
Good recommendation! That's the cheapest manufacture I've seen yet.

Just have to find an easy-to-use free pcb software now - any recommendations? It has to be able to produce gerber, .pcb or .brd file formats. I can handle Autocad, but can't get to grips with Microstation.
Boot_WB is offline  
Old 19 April 2008, 02:49   #7
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
You can use Eagle ?

its free (well the limited version) and Futurlec will take Eagle files directly

you are limmited on space however, you could use Pad 2 Pad, but theres a lot more messing around, and its component library is a little limited.

there was another one i was playing with over Christmas, i think it was called Wizard Pro, hmmm must have another look on the dev box later.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 April 2008, 03:25   #8
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 44
Posts: 263
I'm just trying out ExpressPCB - seems to be able to save in .pcb format, and now I've got to grips with it, seems comfortable for my simple project.

Thanks Zetro



Rich
Boot_WB is offline  
Old 26 April 2008, 13:36   #9
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 44
Posts: 263
Well, I've just ordered from futurlec.com - a whole £11.50 for my PCB to be made and shipped!

Good helpful sales team, although (perhaps due to the time difference) reples tend to take a whole day to arrive.

They take payment by paypal too, which is handy for international deals.

Anyway, should be with me in a couple of weeks.

Here's a pic of the pcb (created with ExpressPCB):
http://i28.tinypic.com/16a7887.png

and a close up of the thickened ground/power traces:
http://i29.tinypic.com/kapxkk.png

Obviously, a 100-pin edge connector will be soldered to the "top" to allow the prometheus to interface. The board was measured to rest against the full-length-zorro guide rails at the "front" of the tower to add mechanical stability.
Boot_WB is offline  
Old 26 April 2008, 14:29   #10
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@Boot_WB

please... please.... PLEASE!!!!

promise me you will add hardware pr0n when you get it, and fit the slot, and fit it in the chassis!!!!

looks fantastic by the way!


I have been toying with putting extra ISA ports to the ISA bus of my Micronic busboard (rev 686)

time.... money..... damn them to hell.... there like opposite polls of a magnet!! they never coincide!!!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 26 April 2008, 14:51   #11
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 44
Posts: 263
Quote:
please... please.... PLEASE!!!!

promise me you will add hardware pr0n when you get it, and fit the slot, and fit it in the chassis!!!!

I thought that was in the T&Cs of the site -
Quote:
1) Anyone posting HAS to add hardware pron for Zetro when creating new hardware.
Boot_WB is offline  
Old 26 April 2008, 15:08   #12
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
Ahhhh bless the RCK for putting that in the sites T&C



LOL
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 06 May 2008, 22:42   #13
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 44
Posts: 263
Quick update - DON'T use Express PCB for anything, the .pcb format seems to be proprietary, not the standard .pcb format.

Had to re-model the whole thing in FreePCB (which is a sweet program, and no board size restrictions unlike the "free" version of Eagle).

Have re-produced the whole thing, and exported gerber files for their CAM.

Should be hearing back from them soon...

In the meantime, here is my current setup (just got the A4000T working after receiving some active terminators for the CSPPC scsi :-D ).

CSPPC (233/060@60) which has serial number 008!
Picasso IV (1024x768 in 24-bit)

1 x 18GB UW hard drive,
1 x 16x DVD RW (via an ACARD AEC-7722 SCSI-IDE bridge)
1 x 4GB UW hard drive (nothing on this at the mo')

All connected to the CS scsi bus (40MB/s!!)

Best of all, I plugged in my UW hard drive, and (after a bit of fiddling) it booted straight into my old workbench config from my old A4000D setup from before I sold off my previous CSPPC (200/060@50).

Now, all I need is my Video Toaster CD to arrive (kindly supplied fre of charge by Newtek) and I can get the VT/Flyer combo up and running *Drool*



Boot_WB is offline  
Old 06 May 2008, 22:56   #14
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@Boot_WB

you have my envy!

awesome bit of kit !!!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 May 2008, 21:52   #15
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 44
Posts: 263
Minor update: Have today received an e-mail from Futurlec, prototype PCB now manufactured, and on the way. Should be here in around 1 week.
Boot_WB is offline  
Old 13 May 2008, 22:08   #16
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
i am not sure whom is more excited..... me or you!!!!?!?!?!??!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 24 May 2008, 01:11   #17
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 44
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
i am not sure whom is more excited..... me or you!!!!?!?!?!??!
PCBs have arrived today! I ordered one, they made and delivered three - how's that for service?!



First order of business is to trim them down with the Dremel to make them fit into a zorro slot.
Second step is to line up the zorro slot onto the top, with the Prometheus in place to get it all spaced properly.
Third step is to solder the zorro slot in place.
Fourth step is to test.
Fifth step is to trim off excess bits of the PCB
Final step is to mask off the fingers at the bottom, and coat the rest in PCB lacquer (clear unfortunately, Maplins don't sell the nice green stuff).

Don't worry Zetro - there'll be pictures every step of the way!


PS - Deneb picked up from the post office today too! If only I had a decent camera, I'd take some good close-ups for you. As it stands, some blurry images will have to suffice. (To follow when I get some time this weekend)

Regards



Rich

Last edited by Boot_WB; 24 May 2008 at 01:28.
Boot_WB is offline  
Old 24 May 2008, 02:55   #18
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
!!!AWESOME!!!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 24 May 2008, 13:00   #19
Oli_HD
Collector

Oli_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: No longer active
Posts: 157
Ooo interesting.
If this works I may whip my Prom out and try the same.
This Cybervision is a bit old now so a nice Voodoo would rock.
And yes, lots of pics when its done please
Oli_HD is offline  
Old 24 May 2008, 13:12   #20
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 44
Posts: 263
@OliHD

You're welcome to one of my spare PCBs if it works, although I don't have a spare zorro slot to solder on top of it (I only have the one, courtesy of YaQube - thanks matey :-D).

I'll let you know when I get the time to try it out - hopefully this weekend!

Last edited by Boot_WB; 24 May 2008 at 17:12.
Boot_WB is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for prometheus.library v3.0 jarob request.Apps 0 19 January 2012 10:31
Prometheus vs Mediator? wXR Hardware mods 3 26 December 2010 20:33
Prometheus or Mediator? ancalimon support.Hardware 5 10 December 2009 10:39
New Prometheus+networkcard+Voodoo4 32 Mb Effy MarketPlace 13 24 July 2005 16:41
Anyone have a Prometheus PCI board? th4t1guy Amiga scene 8 05 March 2004 16:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08852 seconds with 13 queries